Switch Theme:

Hive Tyrant with lashwhip and bonesword  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Been Around the Block




Apologies if this has been asked before.

Putting together my HT (it having sat the box for some years) and decided to go for the iconic lash whip and bone sword (since it only came with one bone sword). On reading through the rules LW/BS gives the added bonus ability of Death Throws....which a HT already has. Am I missing something obvious or is it a pointless/expensive weapon combo for the HT.

Thanks for any response.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2018/07/24 06:27:20


 
   
Made in nz
Scarred Ultramarine Tyrannic War Veteran




Ankh Morpork

Where are you reading that?

I can't see in the codex that the ability for lash whip and monstrous bonesword gives the Death Throes ability.
   
Made in nz
Regular Dakkanaut




both the Lash whip/Bonesword and death throes work together.

If the hive tyrant is killed in CC, if he hasn't attacked yet, he can use his Lash whip/Bonesword. After he uses that he then rolls for his death throes, and activates that if he rolls a 6.

Both rules work on the same unit. If you add in the stratagem as well, a hive tyrant if they died in CC can do 3 potential (2 guaranteed) separate attacks to the target.

The very interesting RAW thing however, is the fact that if said tyrant had his guard there with a lash whip/Bonesword, and the model died in CC through either it's shieldwall ability or in normal CC, the tyrant guard model can take an infinite amount of wounds for the tyrant if you decided to leave the hive guard last in the fighting.

The question i have to ask is that can you paroxysm one of ur own units to capitalise on the "infinite wound sponge" of a tyrant guard
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






FistOFun wrote:
Apologies if this has been asked before.

Putting together my HT (it having sat the box for some years) and decided to go for the iconic lash whip and bone sword (since it only came with one bone sword). On reading through the rules LW/BS gives the added bonus ability of Death Throws....which a HT already has. Am I missing something obvious or is it a pointless/expensive weapon combo for the HT.

Thanks for any response.
You're either reading the wrong rules or have misread them.

The rules for Lash whip and monstrous bonesword can be found on page 111 of the Tyranid Codex.
   
Made in gb
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain





Cardiff

You don’t get Death Throes, that’s a unit ability the HT already has.

LW/BS allows you to still get to fight in the Fight Phase even if they’re killed by enemy close combat attacks before being selected to fight. It’s useful at times but not a super competitive choice.

 Stormonu wrote:
For me, the joy is in putting some good-looking models on the board and playing out a fantasy battle - not arguing over the poorly-made rules of some 3rd party who neither has any power over my play nor will be visiting me (and my opponent) to ensure we are "playing by the rules"
 
   
Made in gb
Been Around the Block




Thank you all.

Looking into it I misread it. Basically the two abilities appeared similar and I ended up confusing the two. Thankfully I don't play strict WYSIWYG, but glad that has been cleared up.

Have a great day.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2018/07/26 06:27:14


 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: