Switch Theme:

Deathguard summoned daemons and Legion Trait  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in ca
Been Around the Block




My google fu and reading of the FAQs seems to be failing me.

I know if you summon daemons you get to keep your legion trait, but do the daemon summoned gain inexorable advance?

It seems vague to me since it specifies all infantry and Hellbrutes in a deathguard detachment? I think the summoned daemons come into the detachment so they should get it? but on the flip side they do not have the Deathguard keyword so you could argue they did not.

Has this been FAQ'd somewhere that I am missing? or at least what the general consensus is?
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






Flamephoenix182 wrote:
My google fu and reading of the FAQs seems to be failing me.

I know if you summon daemons you get to keep your legion trait, but do the daemon summoned gain inexorable advance?

It seems vague to me since it specifies all infantry and Hellbrutes in a deathguard detachment? I think the summoned daemons come into the detachment so they should get it? but on the flip side they do not have the Deathguard keyword so you could argue they did not.

Has this been FAQ'd somewhere that I am missing? or at least what the general consensus is?
They do not. Summoned units are not part of any detachment.
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





What BCB said. They were not part of the detachment when the army list is made, and there is no rule stating that they become part of the detachment (which you would need).

That means they don't get to take advantage of special rules granted the detachment. Of course, that also means that when summoning you are not subject to the limits on number or units in the detachment - even if you have all the slots in a battlefield role filled, you can summon daemons that have that battlefield role.
   
Made in ca
Been Around the Block




Thanks for the replies everyone. I had just assumed that they join the detachment of the model summoning them...
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





Understanding that helps illuminate their answer to a quesstion in the Codex: Chaos Space Marines FAQ:

Q: If I take a unit of Daemons in a Chaos Space Marines
Detachment, do I lose my Legion Trait?
A: Yes. However, if you summon a unit of Daemons and
add them to your army, doing so does not affect your
Legion Trait.

Note that they say add the summoned unit of Daemons to your army, not to your detachment. Since they're not part of the detachment, they don't affect the Legion Trait the way you do if you have a unit of Daemons in the detachment itself when you make your army list.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2018/08/03 21:52:59


 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: