Switch Theme:

Cunning of the wolf stratagem  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Adolescent Youth with Potential




Can I use this stratagem more than once? I've watched a few batreps where they have used it twice. I thought that you could only use a stratagem once a phase. Please help to clarify. Thanks
   
Made in us
Lieutenant General





Florence, KY

Vaer Greyloc wrote:
Can I use this stratagem more than once? I've watched a few batreps where they have used it twice. I thought that you could only use a stratagem once a phase. Please help to clarify. Thanks

Note when the stratagem is played, then check out the 'Strategic Discipline' rule on page 215 of the main rulebook:

The same Stratagem cannot be used by the same player more than once during any single phase. This does not affect Stratagems that are not used during a phase, such as those used ‘before the battle begins’ or ‘at the end of a battle round’.

'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents
cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable
defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'

- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty
Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim
 
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






It's the exact same as the Raven Guard stratagem. It's not used in a phase, so it can be used any number of times, even in Matched Play.
   
Made in gb
Adolescent Youth with Potential




I thought I could use it more than once, but a friend of my said that stratagems that are used in deployment were faq to be used only once because of the alpha legion stratagem forward operative. But I can not find this faq anywhere.
   
Made in it
Perfect Shot Dark Angels Predator Pilot





Sesto San Giovanni, Italy

Because the "Faq" say exactly the opposite: you can use multiple time the Raven Guard stratagem.

I think that was in one of the design commentary, however.

I can't condone a place where abusers and abused are threated the same: it's destined to doom, so there is no reason to participate in it. 
   
Made in de
Nihilistic Necron Lord






Germany

Any stratragem that is not used during a phase (see battle primer pg.2 what the phases are) can be used as many times as you wish, until you have no CP left, of course. Its still unclear if at the beginning (or start), or at the end of any phase it considered to be during a phase. HIWPI, if the name of a phase is not listed on the stratagem its not limited to the one time use matched play rule.
   
Made in us
Confessor Of Sins





Tacoma, WA, USA

I wouldn't go that far. Command Re-Roll doesn't mention a phase, but we all know you can't use it more than once a Phase.

The question is "are you using this Stratagem during a Phase?" If no, you can use the Stratagem as many times as you want (or allowed if the Stratagem say otherwise).

For the record, deployment is not a phase.
   
Made in gb
Ancient Space Wolves Venerable Dreadnought





Vaer Greyloc wrote:
I thought I could use it more than once, but a friend of my said that stratagems that are used in deployment were faq to be used only once because of the alpha legion stratagem forward operative. But I can not find this faq anywhere.

Your friend may have been confused by certain stratagems (typically ones which allow ‘deep strike’ type effects) which were errata’d to include the phrase “you may only use those once per battle” or similar. They do not represent a general prohibition, just that some effects were deemed too good to be used many times.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2018/08/26 15:04:23


"Three months? I'm going to go crazy …and I'm taking you with me!"
— Vala Mal Doran
 
   
Made in gb
Adolescent Youth with Potential




Cheers for clearing that up for me.
   
Made in gb
Fresh-Faced New User




You can certainly use it more than once. Note that other similar stratagems in other codices specifically have the restriction that it may only be used once, as do other 'pre battle start' stratagems such as trophies of fenris.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: