Switch Theme:

Kastelan Robots Repulsor Grid vs Embarked Dark Eldar  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Fresh-Faced New User




Hi all,

Had a quick look on a few forums but thought might be easiest to try and get a quick answer on here.

Had a game the other night Ad Mech vs Dark Eldar. A unitl of warriors shoots a blaster from a venom, hits wounds and the ad mech player made a 6 for his repulsor grid meaning 1 mortal would it deflected back at the firing unit.

Am i right in thinking that the warrior unit would take the mortal wound even though embarked in transport? Or would being in the venom protect them from this?

Q
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut




U.k

I would apply it the transport. No quote of a rule as for why it seems sensible to me.
   
Made in us
Trigger-Happy Baal Predator Pilot





Sparta, Ohio

I would have to see the wording ... but if it says the firing unit, the mortal wound would go to the embarked unit, as they are the ones firing, not the transport.

Now, we like big books. (And we cannot lie. You other readers can’t deny, a book flops open with an itty-bitty font, and a map that’s in your face, you get—sorry! Sorry!)  
   
Made in us
Omnipotent Necron Overlord






I am not sure here - it is possible the wound fizzles. You can not apply wounds to units that are not on the table.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
Andykp wrote:
I would apply it the transport. No quote of a rule as for why it seems sensible to me.

It makes the most sense.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2018/08/27 20:07:09


If we fail to anticipate the unforeseen or expect the unexpected in a universe of infinite possibilities, we may find ourselves at the mercy of anyone or anything that cannot be programmed, categorized or easily referenced.
- Fox Mulder 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





Why would the transport get hit by an attack it didn't make though? RAW I don't think it would do anything as there is no unit to redirect the wound to.

 
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka





Is there a rules quote for not being able to wound units not on the table? They can certainly be destroyed.
   
Made in us
Lieutenant General





Florence, KY

Bharring wrote:
Is there a rules quote for not being able to wound units not on the table? They can certainly be destroyed.

It's not because they're not 'on the table', it's because of the Transport rules:

Embarked units cannot normally do anything or be affected in any way whilst they are embarked. Unless specifically stated, abilities that affect other units within a certain range have no effect whilst the unit that has the ability is embarked.

'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents
cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable
defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'

- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty
Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim
 
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka





What is the range on the Kastelan's field, then?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2018/08/27 20:48:08


 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Dallas area, TX

 Ghaz wrote:
It's not because they're not 'on the table', it's because of the Transport rules:

Embarked units cannot normally do anything or be affected in any way whilst they are embarked. Unless specifically stated, abilities that affect other units within a certain range have no effect whilst the unit that has the ability is embarked.
Yeah, this seems pretty clear that nothing actually happens.

Fluff-wise, it would make sense for the Repulsor to bounce back to the transport, but that isn't possible RAW.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2018/08/27 20:52:51


   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka





Somehow only read the second clause. Rereading, I agree that nothing happens. Or rather, the ability activates, but cannot affect the unit, so the wound is not applied.
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






So in short, RaW is unclear and doesn't cover this situation. We need GW to write their rules properly.

Shall we leave it at that before going on 30 pages shouting the same thing at each other over and over again?
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka





We're only on page 7 in the other thread, not 30.
   
Made in gb
Fresh-Faced New User




Thanks for the replies. The guys playing the game agreed that nothing happens to the firing unit but I thought it would be worth finding an answer.
   
Made in de
Nihilistic Necron Lord






Germany

 BaconCatBug wrote:
So in short, RaW is unclear and doesn't cover this situation. We need GW to write their rules properly.

Shall we leave it at that before going on 30 pages shouting the same thing at each other over and over again?


Its not unclear. The transport rule says embarked units cannot be affected in any way while embarked.
   
Made in us
Confessor Of Sins





Tacoma, WA, USA

Not quite:
Embarked units cannot normally do anything or be affected in any way whilst they are embarked. Unless specifically stated, abilities that affect other units within a certain range have no effect whilst the unit that has the ability is embarked.

The question is, does saying the attacking unit takes a Mortal Wound override normally?
   
Made in us
Lieutenant General





Florence, KY

It would have to specifically say it affects a unit whilst they are embarked.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2018/08/29 00:17:29


'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents
cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable
defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'

- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty
Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim
 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

 Ghaz wrote:
It would have to specifically say it affects a unit whilst they are embarked.


Are you referring to this " Unless specifically stated, abilities that affect other units within a certain range have no effect whilst the unit that has the ability is embarked."

Because that is only "whilst the unit that has the ability is embarked."

 p5freak wrote:
 BaconCatBug wrote:
So in short, RaW is unclear and doesn't cover this situation. We need GW to write their rules properly.

Shall we leave it at that before going on 30 pages shouting the same thing at each other over and over again?


Its not unclear. The transport rule says embarked units cannot be affected in any way while embarked.


It actually says something slightly different. It says "embarked units... cannot normally be affected in any way whilst they are embarked."

Subtle but important difference.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2018/08/29 02:33:36


"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
Lieutenant General





Florence, KY

 DeathReaper wrote:
 Ghaz wrote:
It would have to specifically say it affects a unit whilst they are embarked.


Are you referring to this " Unless specifically stated, abilities that affect other units within a certain range have no effect whilst the unit that has the ability is embarked."

Because that is only "whilst the unit that has the ability is embarked."

No. I'm referring to the sentence directly before that:

Embarked units cannot normally do anything or be affected in any way whilst they are embarked.

'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents
cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable
defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'

- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty
Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: