Switch Theme:

Cloaked by the Storm stacked with Tempest's Wrath  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Automated Space Wolves Thrall





Hi all, still a bit new to understanding the game, used to play 5th edition with Wolves back in the day, and picking them up again with this awesome 8th edition codex.

I was reviewing the strategems and found Cloaked by the Storm. Looking also at Tempest's Wrath, if I manifest it and then use the strategem, it seems like both could be active at the same time and stack for a total of -2 to a units ranged hit rolls, assuming the unit I choose shoots a unit of mine within 6". Am I understanding that correctly?

"..I am not like [him], not that kind of monster. I am a very neat monster. " - Dexter Morgan

Here's to hoping that the next Space Wolves Codex will include the return of Primarch Leman Russ! 
   
Made in us
Steadfast Grey Hunter




Yes, you've got it right, they can stack.

   
Made in us
Automated Space Wolves Thrall





Thank you!

"..I am not like [him], not that kind of monster. I am a very neat monster. " - Dexter Morgan

Here's to hoping that the next Space Wolves Codex will include the return of Primarch Leman Russ! 
   
Made in ca
Been Around the Block




Ulfhednar_42 wrote:
Yes, you've got it right, they can stack.



technically, its not a stack since the psychic power is cast on an enemy unit and the strat on friendly units but semantics.. but yes, if the enemy unit that was affected by the power shot at a friendly unit affected by the strat then they would be at -2 to hit

..also having a rhino that pops smoke could be at -3 to hit, crazy stuff
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






More generally, unless the rule explicitly says otherwise (e.g. Venomthropes Shrouding Spores and Carnifex Spore Cysts), modifiers from different rules are cumulative.

The vast majority of rules are written in such a way that they aren't cumulative with themselves (e.g. a Painboy'z Doc's Tools) but I could have sworn there was an FAQ that said they are not cumulative with the same rule even if they say they are, but as due to the usual the jumbled mess of FAQs I can't find it.
   
Made in gb
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain





Cardiff

Don’t exaggerate so...

Q: Lots of aura abilities say they grant an ability to nearby
units that are within range of any such models. Are the bonuses cumulative (i.e. if I am within range of two models with identical aura abilities, is the bonus doubled)?
A: Unless stated otherwise, no. The bonus for such an ability applies once if any (i.e. one or more) of these models are within range.


Rulebook FAQ (logical), Unit and Weapon Abilities (also logical). I’m not remotely claiming things are always obvious but you didn’t even try here.

 Stormonu wrote:
For me, the joy is in putting some good-looking models on the board and playing out a fantasy battle - not arguing over the poorly-made rules of some 3rd party who neither has any power over my play nor will be visiting me (and my opponent) to ensure we are "playing by the rules"
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: