Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2018/08/30 06:53:17
Subject: Does Endless Fury ignore negative modifiers?
|
 |
Lord of the Fleet
|
The rules for Endless Fury state "Each unmodified hit roll of 6 causes 2 hits instead of 1". Does this mean that even if I was suffering a -1 penalty, the 6's would count?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2018/08/30 07:16:16
Subject: Does Endless Fury ignore negative modifiers?
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
Valkyrie wrote:The rules for Endless Fury state "Each unmodified hit roll of 6 causes 2 hits instead of 1". Does this mean that even if I was suffering a -1 penalty, the 6's would count?
It says "unmodified hit roll of 6"
So why would you apply modifiers to an unmodified hit roll?
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2018/08/30 07:28:20
Subject: Does Endless Fury ignore negative modifiers?
|
 |
Lord of the Fleet
|
DeathReaper wrote: Valkyrie wrote:The rules for Endless Fury state "Each unmodified hit roll of 6 causes 2 hits instead of 1". Does this mean that even if I was suffering a -1 penalty, the 6's would count?
It says "unmodified hit roll of 6"
So why would you apply modifiers to an unmodified hit roll?
I'm asking more out of curiosity, as pretty much anything else that has a bonus on a 6 such as Tesla is affected by modifiers. I was wondering if there was something I was missing.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2018/08/30 07:42:43
Subject: Does Endless Fury ignore negative modifiers?
|
 |
Nihilistic Necron Lord
|
Valkyrie wrote: DeathReaper wrote: Valkyrie wrote:The rules for Endless Fury state "Each unmodified hit roll of 6 causes 2 hits instead of 1". Does this mean that even if I was suffering a -1 penalty, the 6's would count?
It says "unmodified hit roll of 6"
So why would you apply modifiers to an unmodified hit roll?
I'm asking more out of curiosity, as pretty much anything else that has a bonus on a 6 such as Tesla is affected by modifiers. I was wondering if there was something I was missing.
You dont miss anything. Tesla says hit roll of 6+, which is after modifiers. An unmodified roll of 6 is a natural roll of 6, modifiers are ignored.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2018/08/30 07:55:46
Subject: Does Endless Fury ignore negative modifiers?
|
 |
Lord of the Fleet
|
p5freak wrote: Valkyrie wrote: DeathReaper wrote: Valkyrie wrote:The rules for Endless Fury state "Each unmodified hit roll of 6 causes 2 hits instead of 1". Does this mean that even if I was suffering a -1 penalty, the 6's would count?
It says "unmodified hit roll of 6"
So why would you apply modifiers to an unmodified hit roll?
I'm asking more out of curiosity, as pretty much anything else that has a bonus on a 6 such as Tesla is affected by modifiers. I was wondering if there was something I was missing.
You dont miss anything. Tesla says hit roll of 6+, which is after modifiers. An unmodified roll of 6 is a natural roll of 6, modifiers are ignored.
Fair enough, thanks for clarifying.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2018/08/30 11:03:04
Subject: Does Endless Fury ignore negative modifiers?
|
 |
Horrific Hive Tyrant
|
The issue with the wording of this ability, which has debated in the past, is what happens if an unmodified roll is a miss?
Worth considering as on the lowest profile there only needs to be a -2 for a 6 to be a miss.
As it says 'instead of 1' does that mean it must have been a hit in the first place to cause 2 hits? It's not totally clear.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2018/08/30 11:50:42
Subject: Does Endless Fury ignore negative modifiers?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
Glasgow
|
I think id still award 2 but it's completely unclear GW wording at its finist. ( I base my decision on correcting at the first point the rule doesn't work) and on causeing the most difficult for -1 stacking aeldari players
It should either be prefixed is successfull or say say scores an additional hit not 2 hits.
|
This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2018/08/30 14:17:32
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2018/08/30 12:33:51
Subject: Does Endless Fury ignore negative modifiers?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Stux wrote:The issue with the wording of this ability, which has debated in the past, is what happens if an unmodified roll is a miss?
Worth considering as on the lowest profile there only needs to be a -2 for a 6 to be a miss.
As it says 'instead of 1' does that mean it must have been a hit in the first place to cause 2 hits? It's not totally clear.
I'll check the codex later but if it does says an unmodified roll of 6 causes 2 hits.
I would say yes endless furry always hits twice on natural 6's regardless of modifiers.
It it says 2 instead of 1 then you need the 1 to replace.
The additional hit situation is not clear either as can you have an additional hit if you didn't hit?
They just needed to stop the sentence at a 6 causes 2 hits and it would have worked fine.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2018/08/30 12:38:01
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2018/08/30 12:52:05
Subject: Does Endless Fury ignore negative modifiers?
|
 |
Lord of the Fleet
|
Ice_can wrote:
They just needed to stop the sentence at a 6 causes 2 hits and it would have worked fine.
I think they did it to stop it interacting with Vulker's Strategem which does the same thing, otherwise each 6 would cause 4 hits.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2018/08/30 13:05:28
Subject: Does Endless Fury ignore negative modifiers?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Valkyrie wrote:Ice_can wrote:
They just needed to stop the sentence at a 6 causes 2 hits and it would have worked fine.
I think they did it to stop it interacting with Vulker's Strategem which does the same thing, otherwise each 6 would cause 4 hits.
Which could have been easily prevented by saying thr strategum can not be used on an airloom of the noble houses much like blessed by the sancrasticans(sp) works already.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2018/08/30 14:05:20
Subject: Does Endless Fury ignore negative modifiers?
|
 |
Norn Queen
|
Stux wrote:The issue with the wording of this ability, which has debated in the past, is what happens if an unmodified roll is a miss?
Worth considering as on the lowest profile there only needs to be a -2 for a 6 to be a miss.
As it says 'instead of 1' does that mean it must have been a hit in the first place to cause 2 hits? It's not totally clear.
It still causes two hits. The Smoke Launchers FAQ proves you can still get B instead of A even if A didn't happen.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2018/08/30 14:47:32
Subject: Does Endless Fury ignore negative modifiers?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
BaconCatBug wrote:Stux wrote:The issue with the wording of this ability, which has debated in the past, is what happens if an unmodified roll is a miss?
Worth considering as on the lowest profile there only needs to be a -2 for a 6 to be a miss.
As it says 'instead of 1' does that mean it must have been a hit in the first place to cause 2 hits? It's not totally clear.
It still causes two hits. The Smoke Launchers FAQ proves you can still get B instead of A even if A didn't happen.
Not really. The Smoke Launcher FAQ proves that you can take action B instead of action A even if action A can't happen. That's not the same at all as replacing result 1 with result 2 as the result of an attack. You're trying to compare apples and oranges.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2018/08/30 17:20:08
Subject: Does Endless Fury ignore negative modifiers?
|
 |
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain
|
doctortom wrote: BaconCatBug wrote:Stux wrote:The issue with the wording of this ability, which has debated in the past, is what happens if an unmodified roll is a miss?
Worth considering as on the lowest profile there only needs to be a -2 for a 6 to be a miss.
As it says 'instead of 1' does that mean it must have been a hit in the first place to cause 2 hits? It's not totally clear.
It still causes two hits. The Smoke Launchers FAQ proves you can still get B instead of A even if A didn't happen.
Not really. The Smoke Launcher FAQ proves that you can take action B instead of action A even if action A can't happen. That's not the same at all as replacing result 1 with result 2 as the result of an attack. You're trying to compare apples and oranges.
Indeed, and agreed. Furthermore, when I’ve suggested using one FAQ as precedent for another situation dear BCB has scoffed at the concept, yet here we are.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2018/08/30 17:20:21
Stormonu wrote:For me, the joy is in putting some good-looking models on the board and playing out a fantasy battle - not arguing over the poorly-made rules of some 3rd party who neither has any power over my play nor will be visiting me (and my opponent) to ensure we are "playing by the rules" |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2018/08/30 17:31:30
Subject: Does Endless Fury ignore negative modifiers?
|
 |
Omnipotent Necron Overlord
|
Why is their any debate over this? This is how every on 6 to hit ability should be. Unmodified. Every single one of them. Endless fury is really OP though. lol.
|
If we fail to anticipate the unforeseen or expect the unexpected in a universe of infinite possibilities, we may find ourselves at the mercy of anyone or anything that cannot be programmed, categorized or easily referenced.
- Fox Mulder |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2018/08/30 18:06:10
Subject: Does Endless Fury ignore negative modifiers?
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
Should be and is are two very different things.
Striking Scorpion Exarchs, for example, don't have the 'unmodified' term. Helps when assaulting units in cover. But hurts when they take the Scorpion's Claw (-1-to-hit).
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2018/08/30 18:58:34
Subject: Does Endless Fury ignore negative modifiers?
|
 |
Executing Exarch
|
*Psst* Scorpion's Claw doesn't have any negative hit modifier*
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2018/08/30 19:22:15
Subject: Does Endless Fury ignore negative modifiers?
|
 |
Mekboy on Kustom Deth Kopta
|
My first thought.
E - hmmm actually it's not as simple as that is it? It doesn't have the same text as Dakka Dakka Dakka that states; "Each time you roll an unmodified hit roll of 6 for an attack with a ranged weapon made by a model in this unit, that hit roll succeeds regardless of any modifiers." (Emphasis mine) Maybe not, I'm afraid.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2018/08/30 19:32:10
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2018/08/30 20:26:26
Subject: Does Endless Fury ignore negative modifiers?
|
 |
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair
|
There was a lengthy debate on Endless Fury combined with saturation bombardment on this board awhile ago.
This has a similar enough concept to it so I will provide the 2 interpretations that I could see:
1) The effect takes place the moment you roll the unmodified 6 and any modifiers are completely ignored(screw you Altioc).
2) Modifiers still get applied as normal and the effect does nothing if you miss because there is no 1 hit to "instead of" cause 2 hits.
1 functions with the idea that weapon abilities can always be activated(chainsword bonus attack without using the chainsword for normal attacks), so any unmodified 6 is a hit and 2 hits without the modifiers applying to the roll.
2 functions in pure RAW as we are not told to ignore modifiers to hit in order to determine the single hit that then is a requirement to be replaced with 2 hits. 0 hits= 0 hits.
But, if you subscribe to #2 in this case; then why were you even firing your 5+ to hit gun at a target that forces a -2 to hit penalty?
|
This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2018/08/30 20:41:02
Subject: Does Endless Fury ignore negative modifiers?
|
 |
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain
|
|
Stormonu wrote:For me, the joy is in putting some good-looking models on the board and playing out a fantasy battle - not arguing over the poorly-made rules of some 3rd party who neither has any power over my play nor will be visiting me (and my opponent) to ensure we are "playing by the rules" |
|
 |
 |
|