Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2018/08/31 07:58:33
Subject: Saga of Majesty
|
 |
Adolescent Youth with Potential
|
Hi all
My question is does saga of Majesty affect stratagems?
For instances if I had a rune preist with the saga of Majesty and used cloaked by the storm or Chooser of the slain would it extend to 9 inchs? Guessing the answer is probably no:(
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2018/08/31 08:03:10
Subject: Saga of Majesty
|
 |
Norn Queen
|
Vaer Greyloc wrote:Hi all My question is does saga of Majesty affect stratagems? For instances if I had a rune preist with the saga of Majesty and used cloaked by the storm or Chooser of the slain would it extend to 9 inchs? Guessing the answer is probably no:(
You're right in thinking the answer is no, because the answer is no. Stratagems are not aura abilities.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2018/08/31 08:03:27
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2018/08/31 08:05:01
Subject: Saga of Majesty
|
 |
Adolescent Youth with Potential
|
Thought so, it was just wishful thinking lol
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2018/09/02 04:16:56
Subject: Saga of Majesty
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Sorry, thought I'd just jump in here and make a comment. I'm not 100% sure that BaconCatBug's comment is accurate. A stratagem that gives a model a temporary aura ability may not be an aura, but the ability that it grants that model certainly is.
There's a whole other thread here that even claims that things like "explodes" are auras.
https://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/0/762943.page
So I'm not saying that Saga of Majesty would extend the range of the auras that these stratagems give, but I don't know for sure that it doesn't either.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2018/09/02 04:24:51
Subject: Saga of Majesty
|
 |
Norn Queen
|
NightHowler wrote:Sorry, thought I'd just jump in here and make a comment. I'm not 100% sure that BaconCatBug's comment is accurate. A stratagem that gives a model a temporary aura ability may not be an aura, but the ability that it grants that model certainly is. There's a whole other thread here that even claims that things like "explodes" are auras. https://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/0/762943.page So I'm not saying that Saga of Majesty would extend the range of the auras that these stratagems give, but I don't know for sure that it doesn't either.
Re-read the rules for auras. Some units – usually CHARACTERS – have abilities that affect certain models within a given range. Unless the ability in question says otherwise, a model with a rule like this is always within range of the effect.
Emphasis mine. If it's not in the "Abilities" section of a datasheet, then it cannot by definition be an aura. This is why "Explodes" is an aura, because it's in the Abilities section of the datasheet. There is a debate on whether "abilities" means the section on the datasheet or is a general generic term, but considering that Abilities are a specifically defined rule, as well as the "issues" caused if you don't restrict it like that, to me indicates that by RaW Saga of Majesty doesn't work on stratagems. But then again it's GW we're talking about so for all we know they mean 8 sided dice when they wrote 6 and "inches" are actually Roman Uncia (about 0.97 British Inches).
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2018/09/02 04:52:39
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2018/09/02 21:02:53
Subject: Saga of Majesty
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
BaconCatBug wrote: NightHowler wrote:Sorry, thought I'd just jump in here and make a comment. I'm not 100% sure that BaconCatBug's comment is accurate. A stratagem that gives a model a temporary aura ability may not be an aura, but the ability that it grants that model certainly is.
There's a whole other thread here that even claims that things like "explodes" are auras.
https://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/0/762943.page
So I'm not saying that Saga of Majesty would extend the range of the auras that these stratagems give, but I don't know for sure that it doesn't either.
Re-read the rules for auras. Some units – usually CHARACTERS – have abilities that affect certain models within a given range. Unless the ability in question says otherwise, a model with a rule like this is always within range of the effect.
Emphasis mine. If it's not in the "Abilities" section of a datasheet, then it cannot by definition be an aura. This is why "Explodes" is an aura, because it's in the Abilities section of the datasheet.
There is a debate on whether "abilities" means the section on the datasheet or is a general generic term, but considering that Abilities are a specifically defined rule, as well as the "issues" caused if you don't restrict it like that, to me indicates that by RaW Saga of Majesty doesn't work on stratagems.
But then again it's GW we're talking about so for all we know they mean 8 sided dice when they wrote 6 and "inches" are actually Roman Uncia (about 0.97 British Inches).
Thanks. Yeah, if the rule for aura's is supposed to mean only those abilities that are a permanent part of the datasheet and specifically means only those parts described under the "abilities" section, and is intended to exclude temporary abilities gained during the game, then there's no argument. The difficulty lies in the fact that we have to make an assumption one way or the other, because their definition of auras doesn't address this specific situation. I really don't know what the answer is, but I could see it going either way, honestly.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2018/09/02 22:31:45
Subject: Saga of Majesty
|
 |
Scarred Ultramarine Tyrannic War Veteran
Ankh Morpork
|
BaconCatBug wrote:There is a debate on whether "abilities" means the section on the datasheet or is a general generic term, but considering that Abilities are a specifically defined rule, as well as the "issues" caused if you don't restrict it like that, to me indicates that by RaW Saga of Majesty doesn't work on stratagems.
Issues also arise if you do restrict it like that, though. Saga of Majesty itself refers to non-unit's-datasheet's-Abilities-section abilities, for starters. And if we accept that only things listed under 'Abilities' on a datasheet are "abilities" as commonly referred to in the rules, we end up with stratagems and psychic powers allowing units to be set up mid-turn no longer being reinforcements, for example.
Personally I think GW have just been horribly inconsistent, as usual, and that some (many, even?) non-Ability-section rules clearly are intended to be "abilities" for purposes such as Saga of Majesty, while others probably aren't.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2018/09/03 18:36:40
Subject: Saga of Majesty
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
BaconCatBug wrote:[ If it's not in the "Abilities" section of a datasheet, then it cannot by definition be an aura. This is why "Explodes" is an aura, because it's in the Abilities section of the datasheet.
Unless of course the thing in question explicitly defines itself as an aura. Explodes doesn't define itself that way, but GW can easily define something as an aura in the future. Given they are making sagas that can become auras now with Space Wolves, there could be sometime in the future where they do make a stratagem that explicitly states that when activated it provides an aura for a period of time.
As stratagems aren't explictly defined that way now, however, Saga of Majesty doesn't affect them.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2018/09/03 18:37:39
|
|
 |
 |
|