Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2018/08/31 09:44:41
Subject: Charging through your own units?
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
Watched a battle report where he charged typhus through his line of poxwalkers, is this correct?
I've always taken charge to be the same as moving, so you can't move through any units or scenery but can charge over scenery if you add the vertical up and down distance to the total distance.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2018/08/31 10:10:56
Subject: Re:Charging through your own units?
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
This is tricky as a charge move, by RAW. is not defined as a normal move.
However, a charge move itself is still considered a move, so it is widely agreed upon that a charge move, although it is not technically called a move. Is still considered a move in the CRB
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2018/08/31 10:20:13
Subject: Charging through your own units?
|
 |
Eternally-Stimulated Slaanesh Dreadnought
|
Charging through your own units it's generally agreed that the unit in front just moves out the way for the unit charging from behind.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2018/08/31 10:28:19
Subject: Charging through your own units?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Corennus wrote:Charging through your own units it's generally agreed that the unit in front just moves out the way for the unit charging from behind.
I wouldn't say it's generally agreed as that as I haven't come across anyone trying to claim such a move outside of things with the fly keyword.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2018/08/31 10:29:05
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2018/08/31 10:30:34
Subject: Charging through your own units?
|
 |
Lord of the Fleet
|
Corennus wrote:Charging through your own units it's generally agreed that the unit in front just moves out the way for the unit charging from behind.
Yeah as much as I hate to act like BCB here, you got a citation for that? It's still a normal move so you follow all the rules for that.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2018/08/31 10:57:46
Subject: Charging through your own units?
|
 |
Eternally-Stimulated Slaanesh Dreadnought
|
No I don't have citation sorry. i'm just saying that's what happens at my local store and no-one's ever said we can't.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2018/08/31 11:15:56
Subject: Charging through your own units?
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
Yeah,I thought as much. It seems there is some confliction, but I feel that charging through units isn't intended. Makes sense that they would move out of the way, because they are your own units, but then why not implement that for the movement phase?
Charging over barricades is legal? just add the up and down measurements.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2018/08/31 11:49:22
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2018/08/31 11:32:16
Subject: Charging through your own units?
|
 |
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain
|
Corennus wrote:Charging through your own units it's generally agreed that the unit in front just moves out the way for the unit charging from behind.
Not in 8th edition.
|
Stormonu wrote:For me, the joy is in putting some good-looking models on the board and playing out a fantasy battle - not arguing over the poorly-made rules of some 3rd party who neither has any power over my play nor will be visiting me (and my opponent) to ensure we are "playing by the rules" |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2018/08/31 13:19:42
Subject: Charging through your own units?
|
 |
Storm Trooper with Maglight
|
v1g1lant3 wrote:Watched a battle report where he charged typhus through his line of poxwalkers, is this correct?
I've always taken charge to be the same as moving, so you can't move through any units or scenery but can charge over scenery if you add the vertical up and down distance to the total distance.
Were they spaced far enough apart his model could have fit through? You can move 'through' a unit if there's space to physically fit your base through, but you can't move through models if there isn't enough space to move by.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2018/08/31 18:15:00
Subject: Charging through your own units?
|
 |
Norn Queen
|
You move using the movement rules for charges. You can't charge "though" a model unless you can fly. If there is space for him to go around or go though, then he can move within 1" of friendly units just fine.
|
|
 |
 |
|