Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/02/28 17:20:02
Subject: GSC They Came From Below Strategem
|
 |
Locked in the Tower of Amareo
|
blaktoof wrote:You are correct.
Being In ambush is being deployed.
Being underground is being in reserves.
Once you play they came from below, the units are considered to be underground instead of in ambush.
Once you play they came from below the units are considered to be in reserves instead of deployed.
The only way to say they are still considered to be deployed(ambush) is to ignore that line from they came from below
Nothing In the stratagem states it is redeploying, which is actually wording GW uses for all redeployment rules.
Thing is strategem puts them out of battlefield after game has started. Going out of battlefield and coming out deep strike is legal as long as it's after deployment. Cases like that already exists. Only difference is this is lot more than 3x as effective
|
2024 painted/bought: 109/109 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/02/28 17:33:03
Subject: GSC They Came From Below Strategem
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
tneva82 wrote:blaktoof wrote:You are correct.
Being In ambush is being deployed.
Being underground is being in reserves.
Once you play they came from below, the units are considered to be underground instead of in ambush.
Once you play they came from below the units are considered to be in reserves instead of deployed.
The only way to say they are still considered to be deployed(ambush) is to ignore that line from they came from below
Nothing In the stratagem states it is redeploying, which is actually wording GW uses for all redeployment rules.
Thing is strategem puts them out of battlefield after game has started. Going out of battlefield and coming out deep strike is legal as long as it's after deployment. Cases like that already exists. Only difference is this is lot more than 3x as effective
This. The strat should be 3CP but it works as intended imo.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/02/28 17:34:23
Subject: GSC They Came From Below Strategem
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
Based on the FB post (WHICH IS NOT OFFICIAL) I think the interpretation that T1 DS was not intended but does work RAW seems to be the right one.
If they would have just said the blips count as deployed models only for rules governing deploying half of your army on the table but do not interact with reserve rules for deepstriking we wouldn't be having this issue. But they didn't and then didn't address it in the FAQ (doubling down as some have said in this thread).
I think the RAWs have it right but clearly it isn't RAI and is a results of sloppy rules writing (but I also thought that about the 1 point d6 hand flamers and uncapped MW from Onslaught)...
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/02/28 17:45:07
Subject: GSC They Came From Below Strategem
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
blaktoof wrote:You are correct.
Being In ambush is being deployed.
Being underground is being in reserves.
Once you play they came from below, the units are considered to be underground instead of in ambush.
Once you play they came from below the units are considered to be in reserves instead of deployed.
The only way to say they are still considered to be deployed(ambush) is to ignore that line from they came from below
Nothing In the stratagem states it is redeploying, which is actually wording GW uses for all redeployment rules.
1) Deployment : the unit is a token and counts as being on the battlefield
2) Battleround 1 starts: at some point before revealing your tokens you use the strategem to put 3 tokens underground, moving 3 units to reserves
3) Given that these 3 units where on the battlefield during deployment they can deepstrike, even if you moved them to your reserves during battleround 1. Automatically Appended Next Post: bananathug wrote:Based on the FB post (WHICH IS NOT OFFICIAL) I think the interpretation that T1 DS was not intended but does work RAW seems to be the right one.
If they would have just said the blips count as deployed models only for rules governing deploying half of your army on the table but do not interact with reserve rules for deepstriking we wouldn't be having this issue. But they didn't and then didn't address it in the FAQ (doubling down as some have said in this thread).
I think the RAWs have it right but clearly it isn't RAI and is a results of sloppy rules writing (but I also thought that about the 1 point d6 hand flamers and uncapped MW from Onslaught)...
I'm not convinced it isn't RAI either, just that whomever answered the FB post didn't know that it was intended.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2019/02/28 17:48:41
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/02/28 17:50:07
Subject: GSC They Came From Below Strategem
|
 |
Audacious Atalan Jackal
UK
|
I am thinking about paint underground theme on 3 blips and hidden them... until when I use stratagem on this 3 blips I just simply put 3 blips with underground painted anywhere on battlefield soon as I remove 3 normal blips. To avoid confusion.
Or if we are not allow to deep strike in turn one than Scanning Decoy stratagem is very useless!
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/02/28 17:53:32
Subject: GSC They Came From Below Strategem
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
Banville wrote:tneva82 wrote:blaktoof wrote:You are correct.
Being In ambush is being deployed.
Being underground is being in reserves.
Once you play they came from below, the units are considered to be underground instead of in ambush.
Once you play they came from below the units are considered to be in reserves instead of deployed.
The only way to say they are still considered to be deployed(ambush) is to ignore that line from they came from below
Nothing In the stratagem states it is redeploying, which is actually wording GW uses for all redeployment rules.
Thing is strategem puts them out of battlefield after game has started. Going out of battlefield and coming out deep strike is legal as long as it's after deployment. Cases like that already exists. Only difference is this is lot more than 3x as effective
This. The strat should be 3CP but it works as intended imo.
Only if you assume factions can't be better at things then others and one faction can have something another factions has not, or can have something similar but cheaper/better because they are specialized in it.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/02/28 17:54:31
Subject: GSC They Came From Below Strategem
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Solidcrash wrote:I am thinking about paint underground theme on 3 blips and hidden them... until when I use stratagem on this 3 blips I just simply put 3 blips with underground painted anywhere on battlefield soon as I remove 3 normal blips. To avoid confusion.
Or if we are not allow to deep strike in turn one than Scanning Decoy stratagem is very useless!
You don't re-place the blips. The blips stay in your deployment zone until you trigger the strat. Then they disappear and the units reappear anywhere on the battlefield more than 9" away from the enemy.
It's nifty but will work precisely once against your friends before they screen their valuable stuff or throw scouts out to counter the deepstrike.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/02/28 17:55:17
Subject: GSC They Came From Below Strategem
|
 |
Stealthy Sanctus Slipping in His Blade
|
Solidcrash wrote:.
Or if we are not allow to deep strike in turn one than Scanning Decoy stratagem is very useless!
No it itsnt? It allows you three more blips to deploy units from, allowing more flexibility in your placement when it comes time to reveal. Depending on Fist or Second, they could allow you to deploy in the rear of your zone, or the front.
It's still great for misdirection.
|
PourSpelur wrote:It's fully within the rules for me to look up your Facebook page, find out your dear Mother Gladys is single, take her on a lovely date, and tell you all the details of our hot, sweaty, animal sex during your psychic phase.
I mean, fifty bucks is on the line.
There's no rule that says I can't. Hive Fleet Hercual - 6760pts
Hazaak Dynasty - 3400 pts
Seraphon - 4600pts
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/02/28 17:57:15
Subject: GSC They Came From Below Strategem
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
tneva82 wrote:blaktoof wrote:You are correct.
Being In ambush is being deployed.
Being underground is being in reserves.
Once you play they came from below, the units are considered to be underground instead of in ambush.
Once you play they came from below the units are considered to be in reserves instead of deployed.
The only way to say they are still considered to be deployed(ambush) is to ignore that line from they came from below
Nothing In the stratagem states it is redeploying, which is actually wording GW uses for all redeployment rules.
Thing is strategem puts them out of battlefield after game has started. Going out of battlefield and coming out deep strike is legal as long as it's after deployment. Cases like that already exists. Only difference is this is lot more than 3x as effective
Name the cases that already exist.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/02/28 17:57:46
Subject: GSC They Came From Below Strategem
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Thepatriarch wrote:Banville wrote:tneva82 wrote:blaktoof wrote:You are correct.
Being In ambush is being deployed.
Being underground is being in reserves.
Once you play they came from below, the units are considered to be underground instead of in ambush.
Once you play they came from below the units are considered to be in reserves instead of deployed.
The only way to say they are still considered to be deployed(ambush) is to ignore that line from they came from below
Nothing In the stratagem states it is redeploying, which is actually wording GW uses for all redeployment rules.
Thing is strategem puts them out of battlefield after game has started. Going out of battlefield and coming out deep strike is legal as long as it's after deployment. Cases like that already exists. Only difference is this is lot more than 3x as effective
This. The strat should be 3CP but it works as intended imo.
Only if you assume factions can't be better at things then others and one faction can have something another factions has not, or can have something similar but cheaper/better because they are specialized in it.
I'm all for rules mirroring fluff, which is why I'm such a big fan of this codex. But even I think this strat is undercosted. I love the way it works and I think it operates as intended but it is a bit too cheap at 1CP.
That's just my opinion.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/02/28 17:58:52
Subject: Re:GSC They Came From Below Strategem
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
Name the cases that already exist.
Why? The token deployment is a unique mechanism, saying anything it does cannot be because it's unique is not an argument.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2019/02/28 17:59:35
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/02/28 17:59:38
Subject: GSC They Came From Below Strategem
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Banville wrote:blaktoof wrote:You are correct.
Being In ambush is being deployed.
Being underground is being in reserves.
Once you play they came from below, the units are considered to be underground instead of in ambush.
Once you play they came from below the units are considered to be in reserves instead of deployed.
The only way to say they are still considered to be deployed(ambush) is to ignore that line from they came from below
Nothing In the stratagem states it is redeploying, which is actually wording GW uses for all redeployment rules.
So, as has been said ad nauseum, it's effectively Da Jump on 3 units for 1 CP.
You're mistaken in arguing that a unit can't turn up Turn 1 after being place in reserves earlier in Turn 1.
I think there used to be 'ongoing reserves' in a previous edition. There's nothing like that now.
As has been said ad nauseum it is effectively saying the unit is considered to have been in reserves instead of deployed, it's previous state no longer matters as the stratagem tells you it is now considered to be underground(reserves) instead of being in ambush(deployed).
TBH I would actually like you to be correct as it allows my Ork army to DS my warlord +d3 units turn one if you are.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/02/28 18:01:23
Subject: GSC They Came From Below Strategem
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
Banville wrote:Solidcrash wrote:I am thinking about paint underground theme on 3 blips and hidden them... until when I use stratagem on this 3 blips I just simply put 3 blips with underground painted anywhere on battlefield soon as I remove 3 normal blips. To avoid confusion.
Or if we are not allow to deep strike in turn one than Scanning Decoy stratagem is very useless!
You don't re-place the blips. The blips stay in your deployment zone until you trigger the strat. Then they disappear and the units reappear anywhere on the battlefield more than 9" away from the enemy.
It's nifty but will work precisely once against your friends before they screen their valuable stuff or throw scouts out to counter the deepstrike.
Not exactly how it works: you remove 3 ambush markers and select 3 units when you trigger the strat, they count as being set up underground (i.e. are in reserves). You can actually still wait to deepstrike them in later turns if you want. Automatically Appended Next Post: blaktoof wrote:Banville wrote:blaktoof wrote:You are correct.
Being In ambush is being deployed.
Being underground is being in reserves.
Once you play they came from below, the units are considered to be underground instead of in ambush.
Once you play they came from below the units are considered to be in reserves instead of deployed.
The only way to say they are still considered to be deployed(ambush) is to ignore that line from they came from below
Nothing In the stratagem states it is redeploying, which is actually wording GW uses for all redeployment rules.
So, as has been said ad nauseum, it's effectively Da Jump on 3 units for 1 CP.
You're mistaken in arguing that a unit can't turn up Turn 1 after being place in reserves earlier in Turn 1.
I think there used to be 'ongoing reserves' in a previous edition. There's nothing like that now.
As has been said ad nauseum it is effectively saying the unit is considered to have been in reserves instead of deployed, it's previous state no longer matters as the stratagem tells you it is now considered to be underground(reserves) instead of being in ambush(deployed).
TBH I would actually like you to be correct as it allows my Ork army to DS my warlord +d3 units turn one if you are.
You're making up the have been part, It says "no longer" meaning they were on the battlefield before and after you used the strategem (during battleround 1) they are no longer set up, meaning they were set up during deployment.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2019/02/28 18:06:02
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/02/28 18:12:08
Subject: GSC They Came From Below Strategem
|
 |
Locked in the Tower of Amareo
|
blaktoof wrote:tneva82 wrote:blaktoof wrote:You are correct.
Being In ambush is being deployed.
Being underground is being in reserves.
Once you play they came from below, the units are considered to be underground instead of in ambush.
Once you play they came from below the units are considered to be in reserves instead of deployed.
The only way to say they are still considered to be deployed(ambush) is to ignore that line from they came from below
Nothing In the stratagem states it is redeploying, which is actually wording GW uses for all redeployment rules.
Thing is strategem puts them out of battlefield after game has started. Going out of battlefield and coming out deep strike is legal as long as it's after deployment. Cases like that already exists. Only difference is this is lot more than 3x as effective
Name the cases that already exist.
Da jump, dark crystal, descent of angel for 3. All remove unit from battlefield and come back.
Won't bother to hunt down all so you have to settle with just 3.
|
2024 painted/bought: 109/109 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/02/28 18:21:33
Subject: GSC They Came From Below Strategem
|
 |
Audacious Atalan Jackal
UK
|
Carnikang wrote:Solidcrash wrote:.
Or if we are not allow to deep strike in turn one than Scanning Decoy stratagem is very useless!
No it itsnt? It allows you three more blips to deploy units from, allowing more flexibility in your placement when it comes time to reveal. Depending on Fist or Second, they could allow you to deploy in the rear of your zone, or the front.
It's still great for misdirection.
It was 4 blips that throw away.. against 3 blips that was add to number of units in reserve for Tactic Reserve Beta rule. If you was plant decoy blips but later in game you change your mind that you want use all of blips... you have to remove 4 blips instead of keep 3.
It’s would be great if you just use both... 7 decoy blips for Blood Angel hahaha!
Banville wrote:Solidcrash wrote:I am thinking about paint underground theme on 3 blips and hidden them... until when I use stratagem on this 3 blips I just simply put 3 blips with underground painted anywhere on battlefield soon as I remove 3 normal blips. To avoid confusion.
Or if we are not allow to deep strike in turn one than Scanning Decoy stratagem is very useless!
You don't re-place the blips. The blips stay in your deployment zone until you trigger the strat. Then they disappear and the units reappear anywhere on the battlefield more than 9" away from the enemy.
It's nifty but will work precisely once against your friends before they screen their valuable stuff or throw scouts out to counter the deepstrike.
Just tell them that underground token to remind them I have 3 Bikers or Infantry units that can pop up anywhere and not just this very spot. ( because it is not Blip token anymore!)
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/02/28 18:34:28
Subject: GSC They Came From Below Strategem
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
blaktoof wrote:Banville wrote:blaktoof wrote:
TBH I would actually like you to be correct as it allows my Ork army to DS my warlord +d3 units turn one if you are.
I don't know the Ork codex enough to tell you how many units it works on but Da Jump allows Turn 1 Deep Striking, doesn't it?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/02/28 18:52:54
Subject: GSC They Came From Below Strategem
|
 |
Horrific Hive Tyrant
|
Banville wrote:blaktoof wrote:
TBH I would actually like you to be correct as it allows my Ork army to DS my warlord +d3 units turn one if you are.
I don't know the Ork codex enough to tell you how many units it works on but Da Jump allows Turn 1 Deep Striking, doesn't it?
No. Da Jump is used on units that are already on the battlefield.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2019/02/28 18:53:33
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/02/28 19:01:10
Subject: GSC They Came From Below Strategem
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Stux wrote:Banville wrote:blaktoof wrote:
TBH I would actually like you to be correct as it allows my Ork army to DS my warlord +d3 units turn one if you are.
I don't know the Ork codex enough to tell you how many units it works on but Da Jump allows Turn 1 Deep Striking, doesn't it?
No. Da Jump is used on units that are already on the battlefield.
But so does the strat under discussion...?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/02/28 19:02:30
Subject: GSC They Came From Below Strategem
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
Banville wrote: Stux wrote:Banville wrote:blaktoof wrote:
TBH I would actually like you to be correct as it allows my Ork army to DS my warlord +d3 units turn one if you are.
I don't know the Ork codex enough to tell you how many units it works on but Da Jump allows Turn 1 Deep Striking, doesn't it?
No. Da Jump is used on units that are already on the battlefield.
But so does the strat under discussion...?
The difference is they came from below works on 3 units, and puts them in reserves. Da jump is only 1 infantry units and redeploys them straight away.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/02/28 19:04:32
Subject: GSC They Came From Below Strategem
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Thepatriarch wrote:Banville wrote: Stux wrote:Banville wrote:blaktoof wrote:
TBH I would actually like you to be correct as it allows my Ork army to DS my warlord +d3 units turn one if you are.
I don't know the Ork codex enough to tell you how many units it works on but Da Jump allows Turn 1 Deep Striking, doesn't it?
No. Da Jump is used on units that are already on the battlefield.
But so does the strat under discussion...?
The difference is they came from below works on 3 units, and puts them in reserves. Da jump is only 1 infantry units and redeploys them straight away.
Ah, I see what he's saying, now. Cheers.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/02/28 19:55:10
Subject: GSC They Came From Below Strategem
|
 |
Horrific Hive Tyrant
|
Though that doesn't even matter. For the Tactical Reserves rule, all that matters is where the unit was DEPLOYED.
If you originally deployed with Cult Ambush, the FAQ says you count as on the table for Tactical Reserves. So you can arrive turn 1, all the Tactical Reserves restrictions care about is where you were originally deployed.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/02/28 20:19:07
Subject: GSC They Came From Below Strategem
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Stux wrote:Though that doesn't even matter. For the Tactical Reserves rule, all that matters is where the unit was DEPLOYED.
If you originally deployed with Cult Ambush, the FAQ says you count as on the table for Tactical Reserves. So you can arrive turn 1, all the Tactical Reserves restrictions care about is where you were originally deployed.
And once you use they came from below the faq no longer matters because instead of being setup in ambush RAW they are setup underground which is reserves. It specifically calls out set up underground, and the units are no longer set up in ambush. The units at that point cannot use the faq to say they are setup on the table turn 1.
The faq says you count as being on the table if you are in ambush, they aren't in ambush if you use that stratagem so the no longer count as being deployed. The idea that using that stratagem means they were setup on the table then put in reserves is counter to the text saying they are instead setup underground, which means they are not setup deployed to the table.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/02/28 20:30:42
Subject: GSC They Came From Below Strategem
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Schrodinger's genestealers...
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/02/28 20:30:57
Subject: GSC They Came From Below Strategem
|
 |
Horrific Hive Tyrant
|
blaktoof wrote: Stux wrote:Though that doesn't even matter. For the Tactical Reserves rule, all that matters is where the unit was DEPLOYED.
If you originally deployed with Cult Ambush, the FAQ says you count as on the table for Tactical Reserves. So you can arrive turn 1, all the Tactical Reserves restrictions care about is where you were originally deployed.
And once you use they came from below the faq no longer matters because instead of being setup in ambush RAW they are setup underground which is reserves. It specifically calls out set up underground, and the units are no longer set up in ambush. The units at that point cannot use the faq to say they are setup on the table turn 1.
The faq says you count as being on the table if you are in ambush, they aren't in ambush if you use that stratagem so the no longer count as being deployed. The idea that using that stratagem means they were setup on the table then put in reserves is counter to the text saying they are instead setup underground, which means they are not setup deployed to the table.
No. Because Tactical Reserves ONLY cares about where you were DEPLOYED. Not where you are now.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/02/28 20:40:07
Subject: GSC They Came From Below Strategem
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
If the stratagem makes it so the unit was set up underground instead of being setup in ambush.
Then it was never deployed on the table....because it was setup in reserves instead of on the table once you play that strat.
What you are saying is basically if an unit advances and then a player plays a stratagem that says that unit now counts as stationary for the purposes of shooting instead of advancing, it can now fire as if it advanced instead of as if it were stationary.
The people who thinks this works are literally arguing the unit is setup on the table, then the unit is no longer setup on the table but now is setup in reserves. It can now deploy anywhere because it is setup on the table and not reserves, but is deploying from being setup in reserves instead of being setup deployed to the table.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2019/02/28 20:48:04
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/02/28 20:52:26
Subject: GSC They Came From Below Strategem
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
blaktoof wrote:If the stratagem makes it so the unit was set up underground instead of being setup in ambush.
Then it was never deployed on the table....because it was setup in reserves instead of on the table once you play that strat.
What you are saying is basically if an unit advances and then a player plays a stratagem that says that unit now counts as stationary for the purposes of shooting instead of advancing, it can now fire as if it advanced instead of as if it were stationary.
The people who thinks this works are literally arguing the unit is setup on the table, then the unit is no longer setup on the table but now is setup in reserves. It can now deploy anywhere because it is setup on the table and not reserves, but is deploying from being setup in reserves instead of being setup deployed to the table.
There are very few stratagems in the game that can actually reverse time, though.
The unit is on the table at the start of the battle. It has rules that directly affect deployment of other units etc etc. It is physically there. Automatically Appended Next Post: blaktoof wrote:If the stratagem makes it so the unit was set up underground instead of being setup in ambush.
Then it was never deployed on the table....because it was setup in reserves instead of on the table once you play that strat.
What you are saying is basically if an unit advances and then a player plays a stratagem that says that unit now counts as stationary for the purposes of shooting instead of advancing, it can now fire as if it advanced instead of as if it were stationary.
The people who thinks this works are literally arguing the unit is setup on the table, then the unit is no longer setup on the table but now is setup in reserves. It can now deploy anywhere because it is setup on the table and not reserves, but is deploying from being setup in reserves instead of being setup deployed to the table.
No we're saying it can now deploy anywhere because it WAS set up on the table. The unit isn't occupying a weird on-table/reserve limbo. It WAS on the table so it can now deep strike. Like Slamguinious etc.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2019/02/28 20:55:50
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/02/28 20:56:31
Subject: Re:GSC They Came From Below Strategem
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
‘Matched Play: In matched play, units set up in ambush using
this rule count as being set up on the battlefield for the purposes
of Tactical Reserves.’
When a unit is setup in the Ambush Blip it is on the table.Tactical Reserves rules do not apply anymore at that point anymore.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/02/28 21:05:39
Subject: Re:GSC They Came From Below Strategem
|
 |
Auspicious Aspiring Champion of Chaos
|
blaktoof, here is the exact wording of Tactical Reserves (the relevant line has been bolded):
Instead of being set up on the battlefield during Deployment, many units have the ability to be set up on teleportariums, in high orbit, in ambush,
etc., in order to arrive on the battlefield mid-game as reinforcements. When setting up your army during Deployment for a matched play game, at
least half the total number of units in your army must be set up on the battlefield, and the combined points value of all the units you set up on the
battlefield during Deployment (including those that are embarked within Transports that are set up on the battlefield) must be at least half of your
army’s total points value, even if every unit in your army has an ability that would allow them to be set up elsewhere.
Furthermore, in matched play games, units that are not placed on the battlefield during deployment in order to arrive on the battle mid-game as
reinforcements cannot arrive on the battlefield during the first battle round.
Finally, any unit that has not arrived on the battlefield by the end of the third battle round in a matched play game counts as having been destroyed.
The rule only applies to units in reserve during deployment. Once the first battle round has started, deployment is over. It doesn't matter that the units the strat was used on are now in reserves. They were set up on the battlefield during deployment, so the Tactical Reserves restriction does not apply to them.
|
2000 Khorne Bloodbound (Skullfiend Tribe- Aqshy)
1000 Tzeentch Arcanites (Pyrofane Cult - Hysh) in progress
2000 Slaves to Darkness (Ravagers)
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/02/28 21:16:12
Subject: GSC They Came From Below Strategem
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Yep and the stratagem changes where they count as having been during deployment as they are now setup underground instead of setup to ambush once the stratagem is played. Hence the use of the words setup for both ambush and underground, it changes where the unit was deployed.
This wording is nothing like burrow for mawloc or skyleap for swooping Hawks which deals with units entering reserves from being setup on the table.
Much like rules that can modify if an unit moved previously or not for current rules.
|
This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2019/02/28 21:19:47
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/02/28 21:29:30
Subject: GSC They Came From Below Strategem
|
 |
Horrific Hive Tyrant
|
blaktoof wrote:Yep and the stratagem changes where they count as having been during deployment as they are now setup underground instead of setup to ambush once the stratagem is played. Hence the use of the words setup for both ambush and underground, it changes where the unit was deployed.
This wording is nothing like burrow for mawloc or skyleap for swooping Hawks which deals with units entering reserves from being setup on the table.
Much like rules that can modify if an unit moved previously or not for current rules.
No, it really doesn't. It changes where they are now. Nowhere does it say it changes where they were in the past. It says 'no longer'. Not 'they count as always having been deployed underground'. You're making that bit up.
|
|
 |
 |
|