Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/02/28 21:35:24
Subject: GSC They Came From Below Strategem
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
"They are no longer setup in ambush and are now Setup underground"
They are no longer deployed to the table are now deployed to reserves.
So yes actually it does change where they were deployed.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/02/28 21:38:15
Subject: GSC They Came From Below Strategem
|
 |
Horrific Hive Tyrant
|
blaktoof wrote:"They are no longer setup in ambush and are now Setup underground"
They are no longer deployed to the table are now deployed to reserves.
So yes actually it does change where they were deployed.
How is this so difficult!
No longer means from this point forward. It does NOT in any way whatsoever change the fact it was DEPLOYED on the battlefield. The stratagem doesn't even say "deployed" it says "set up". Once again you are making up rules.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/02/28 21:38:41
Subject: GSC They Came From Below Strategem
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
Stux wrote:blaktoof wrote:Yep and the stratagem changes where they count as having been during deployment as they are now setup underground instead of setup to ambush once the stratagem is played. Hence the use of the words setup for both ambush and underground, it changes where the unit was deployed.
This wording is nothing like burrow for mawloc or skyleap for swooping Hawks which deals with units entering reserves from being setup on the table.
Much like rules that can modify if an unit moved previously or not for current rules.
No, it really doesn't. It changes where they are now. Nowhere does it say it changes where they were in the past. It says 'no longer'. Not 'they count as always having been deployed underground'. You're making that bit up.
I have quoted the no longer part to him clearly indicating they were deployed before, he is either arguing in bad faith or to stupid to understand it.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/02/28 21:40:38
Subject: GSC They Came From Below Strategem
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
So your saying if an unit advances then you play a stratagem to let them shoot as if they had not moved, that they shoot as if they had advanced.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/02/28 21:41:54
Subject: GSC They Came From Below Strategem
|
 |
Horrific Hive Tyrant
|
blaktoof wrote:So your saying if an unit advances then you play a stratagem to let them shoot as if they had not moved, that they shoot as if they had advanced.
No. I'm saying "deployed" and "set up" are, obviously, different.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/02/28 21:44:16
Subject: GSC They Came From Below Strategem
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Thepatriarch wrote: Stux wrote:blaktoof wrote:Yep and the stratagem changes where they count as having been during deployment as they are now setup underground instead of setup to ambush once the stratagem is played. Hence the use of the words setup for both ambush and underground, it changes where the unit was deployed.
This wording is nothing like burrow for mawloc or skyleap for swooping Hawks which deals with units entering reserves from being setup on the table.
Much like rules that can modify if an unit moved previously or not for current rules.
Oh I understand your point, you just don't seem to grasp mine. I am qouting the text of the rule that says the unit is no longer setup in ambush and is instead setup underground. You seem to think it carries the original state with it, while I argue if it no longer is setup there and is instead setup somewhere else when you use the stratagem, per it's actual rules text, then for rules purposes it counts as if you deployed underground not deployed in ambush.
It's not necessary to insult someone because they think your argument based on intent is incorrect.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2019/02/28 21:46:16
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/02/28 21:47:15
Subject: GSC They Came From Below Strategem
|
 |
Auspicious Aspiring Champion of Chaos
|
I'm starting to remember why I stopped visiting this board.
|
2000 Khorne Bloodbound (Skullfiend Tribe- Aqshy)
1000 Tzeentch Arcanites (Pyrofane Cult - Hysh) in progress
2000 Slaves to Darkness (Ravagers)
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/02/28 21:47:18
Subject: GSC They Came From Below Strategem
|
 |
Horrific Hive Tyrant
|
It indisputably carries the state of where it WAS deployed, because there is nothing in the rule that changes that.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/02/28 21:48:19
Subject: GSC They Came From Below Strategem
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Stux wrote:blaktoof wrote:So your saying if an unit advances then you play a stratagem to let them shoot as if they had not moved, that they shoot as if they had advanced.
No. I'm saying "deployed" and "set up" are, obviously, different.
I suggest revisiting the rules for tactical reserves and deployment and note the use of set up when used with where units can be deployed to. Automatically Appended Next Post: Stux wrote:It indisputably carries the state of where it WAS deployed, because there is nothing in the rule that changes that.
Other then where the rule tells us the unit is no longer considered to e deployed to the table and now is considered deployed to reserves of course.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2019/02/28 21:50:00
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/02/28 21:52:19
Subject: Re:GSC They Came From Below Strategem
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
So if you are no longer under age you were never under age?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/02/28 21:52:54
Subject: GSC They Came From Below Strategem
|
 |
Horrific Hive Tyrant
|
blaktoof wrote: Stux wrote:blaktoof wrote:So your saying if an unit advances then you play a stratagem to let them shoot as if they had not moved, that they shoot as if they had advanced.
No. I'm saying "deployed" and "set up" are, obviously, different.
I suggest revisiting the rules for tactical reserves and deployment and note the use of set up when used with where units can be deployed to.
Automatically Appended Next Post:
Stux wrote:It indisputably carries the state of where it WAS deployed, because there is nothing in the rule that changes that.
Other then where the rule tells us the unit is no longer considered to e deployed to the table and now is considered deployed to reserves of course.
Oh my goodness... Going in circles again.
It DOESNT say that. It doesn't say deployed, it says setup. That is totally different.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/02/28 21:57:35
Subject: GSC They Came From Below Strategem
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Setup is directly referring to where the unit was placed during deployment, pleased re-read tactical reserves and note how it uses setup and locations units can be put during deployment.
This stratagem is directly modifying that state during deployment when you use it from the wording no longer setup in ambush, instead setup underground.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2019/02/28 22:01:18
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/02/28 21:58:14
Subject: GSC They Came From Below Strategem
|
 |
Auspicious Aspiring Champion of Chaos
|
blaktoof wrote:Setup is directly referring to where the unit was placed during deployment, pleased red tactical reserves.
Source?
|
2000 Khorne Bloodbound (Skullfiend Tribe- Aqshy)
1000 Tzeentch Arcanites (Pyrofane Cult - Hysh) in progress
2000 Slaves to Darkness (Ravagers)
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/02/28 21:58:44
Subject: GSC They Came From Below Strategem
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Right. This is my last attempt. Here goes.
Unit is deployed in ambush.
Game begins.
Time to reveal Blip.
Play strat.
Unit is no longer an ambush blip but is now set up underground.
Because unit was originally deployed on the board, it can now Deep Strike as per the rules.
C'est tout.
Just because it is now underground, does not change the fact it was originally deployed on the table.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/02/28 22:00:18
Subject: GSC They Came From Below Strategem
|
 |
Horrific Hive Tyrant
|
blaktoof wrote:Setup is directly referring to where the unit was placed during deployment, pleased red tactical reserves.
No, it isn't. Setting up a unit can happen throughout the game for various reasons. A unit that leaves a transport is set up on the battlefield at the time it disembarks, for instance. This doesn't change where it was originally deployed.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/02/28 22:02:22
Subject: GSC They Came From Below Strategem
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Banville wrote:Right. This is my last attempt. Here goes.
Unit is deployed in ambush.
Game begins.
Time to reveal Blip.
Play strat.
Unit is no longer an ambush blip but is now set up underground.
Because unit was originally deployed on the board, it can now Deep Strike as per the rules.
C'est tout.
Just because it is now underground, does not change the fact it was originally deployed on the table.
Once you play the strat the unit was no longer deployed to the board.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/02/28 22:02:49
Subject: GSC They Came From Below Strategem
|
 |
Horrific Hive Tyrant
|
blaktoof wrote:Banville wrote:Right. This is my last attempt. Here goes.
Unit is deployed in ambush.
Game begins.
Time to reveal Blip.
Play strat.
Unit is no longer an ambush blip but is now set up underground.
Because unit was originally deployed on the board, it can now Deep Strike as per the rules.
C'est tout.
Just because it is now underground, does not change the fact it was originally deployed on the table.
Once you play the strat the unit was no longer deployed to the board.
Wrong, it did. It has simply changed where it is set up.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/02/28 22:03:16
Subject: GSC They Came From Below Strategem
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Stux wrote:blaktoof wrote:Setup is directly referring to where the unit was placed during deployment, pleased red tactical reserves.
No, it isn't. Setting up a unit can happen throughout the game for various reasons. A unit that leaves a transport is set up on the battlefield at the time it disembarks, for instance. This doesn't change where it was originally deployed.
Ambush and underground are not transports and when setup is used for locations regarding deployment per tactical reserves it is talking about where the unit was deployed.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/02/28 22:04:26
Subject: GSC They Came From Below Strategem
|
 |
Horrific Hive Tyrant
|
blaktoof wrote: Stux wrote:blaktoof wrote:Setup is directly referring to where the unit was placed during deployment, pleased red tactical reserves.
No, it isn't. Setting up a unit can happen throughout the game for various reasons. A unit that leaves a transport is set up on the battlefield at the time it disembarks, for instance. This doesn't change where it was originally deployed.
Ambush and underground are not transports and when setup is used for locations regarding deployment per tactical reserves it is talking about where the unit was deployed.
Citation please. I believe there is no rules basis for this assertion you keep making.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/02/28 22:04:27
Subject: GSC They Came From Below Strategem
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Stux wrote:blaktoof wrote:Banville wrote:Right. This is my last attempt. Here goes.
Unit is deployed in ambush.
Game begins.
Time to reveal Blip.
Play strat.
Unit is no longer an ambush blip but is now set up underground.
Because unit was originally deployed on the board, it can now Deep Strike as per the rules.
C'est tout.
Just because it is now underground, does not change the fact it was originally deployed on the table.
Once you play the strat the unit was no longer deployed to the board.
Wrong, it did. It has simply changed where it is set up.
When it changed where it was setup it was no longer deployed to the table during deployment, as where it was setup was changed from ambush to underground.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/02/28 22:05:50
Subject: GSC They Came From Below Strategem
|
 |
Auspicious Aspiring Champion of Chaos
|
Okay. I'm out. I feel like this brick wall has been yelled at enough.
|
2000 Khorne Bloodbound (Skullfiend Tribe- Aqshy)
1000 Tzeentch Arcanites (Pyrofane Cult - Hysh) in progress
2000 Slaves to Darkness (Ravagers)
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/02/28 22:06:00
Subject: GSC They Came From Below Strategem
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Stux wrote:blaktoof wrote: Stux wrote:blaktoof wrote:Setup is directly referring to where the unit was placed during deployment, pleased red tactical reserves.
No, it isn't. Setting up a unit can happen throughout the game for various reasons. A unit that leaves a transport is set up on the battlefield at the time it disembarks, for instance. This doesn't change where it was originally deployed.
Ambush and underground are not transports and when setup is used for locations regarding deployment per tactical reserves it is talking about where the unit was deployed.
Citation please. I believe there is no rules basis for this assertion you keep making.
You want me to cite that ambush and underground are not transports?
I'm sorry but there is no rules basis that they are transports, which why you implying setup can mean anything other then how it is used in tactical reserves isn't really insightful.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/02/28 22:06:32
Subject: GSC They Came From Below Strategem
|
 |
Horrific Hive Tyrant
|
You repeating that doesn't make it true. There is nothing in the rules that says it works the way you are saying.
I'm about to give up on you, as I'm coming to believe you are being intentionally obstinate.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/02/28 22:09:06
Subject: GSC They Came From Below Strategem
|
 |
Audacious Atalan Jackal
UK
|
You both are right. In both point of view...
It’s very grey... not black and white.
But I was wondering what rule look like that allow unit leave a transport count as set up when it disembarks....
Because one of your point of view sound like that unit disembarked are illegal in turn one..
I was starting confusing. Need reread everything again. This one really need fix from GW... ( as if)
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/02/28 22:17:48
Subject: GSC They Came From Below Strategem
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
I'm out, guys.
And this is possibly one of the least grey of GWs rules. The issue is one or two people can't get their head around the fact that it works as written and may actually be intentional.
I'm off to get a mug of tea, which after it has been moved from the counter to the table ceased to ever have been on the counter to begin with.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/02/28 22:17:52
Subject: GSC They Came From Below Strategem
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
blaktoof wrote: Stux wrote:blaktoof wrote: Stux wrote:blaktoof wrote:Setup is directly referring to where the unit was placed during deployment, pleased red tactical reserves.
No, it isn't. Setting up a unit can happen throughout the game for various reasons. A unit that leaves a transport is set up on the battlefield at the time it disembarks, for instance. This doesn't change where it was originally deployed.
Ambush and underground are not transports and when setup is used for locations regarding deployment per tactical reserves it is talking about where the unit was deployed.
Citation please. I believe there is no rules basis for this assertion you keep making.
You want me to cite that ambush and underground are not transports?
I'm sorry but there is no rules basis that they are transports, which why you implying setup can mean anything other then how it is used in tactical reserves isn't really insightful.
How about quoting the stratagem first to see if if backs up what you are claiming?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/02/28 22:26:31
Subject: GSC They Came From Below Strategem
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
It's in the first post, you did read the first post right?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/02/28 22:33:09
Subject: GSC They Came From Below Strategem
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
I was wondering if you had, since you seem to be ignoring what it says.
"The Came from Below...
Use this Strategem before you reveal an ambush marker. Select up to 3 units (excluding VEHICLES) from your army that are set up in ambush. For each unit that you select, remove one ambush marker from the battlefield. The selected units are no longer set up in ambush are are instead set up underground as described in the Cult Ambush ability"
During deployment they are set up in ambush. In turn one, they are no longer set up in one place but instead are set up in another place. They are still set up. They were set up in ambush during deployment, which the FAQ tells us counts as being deployed for purposes of tactical reserves. TCFB states they are still set up. There is nothing stating there is the past tense shenanigans you are claiming; they have been set up and still are set up, so are still set up throughout turn 1.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2019/02/28 22:34:43
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/02/28 22:42:43
Subject: GSC They Came From Below Strategem
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
So they are setup on the table when they are setup in reserves you are saying.
You are reading instead that they keep the initial state, I am reading instead that the initial state is no longer the state and is instead a different state.
You are basically saying that an unit that advances and has a stratagem played on it that says it no longer counts as advancing and now counts as stationary for shooting, is still counted as having advanced when shooting.
Makes no sense.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/02/28 22:47:32
Subject: GSC They Came From Below Strategem
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
They don't keep they're initial state. But because they had that initial state they get to turn up turn 1.
|
|
 |
 |
|