Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
Times and dates in your local timezone.
Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.
2019/11/15 09:54:49
Subject: "For every 10 models in the unit, one Ork boy may take a tankbusta bomb."
Every tenth ork in a boyz unit may take a tank busta bomb. As he only has 'a' bomb, may he only use it once per battle?
Compare to the Tankbustas entry where each model explitly has multiple bomz, "Each Tankbusta and Boss Nob is armed with a rokkit launcha, stikkbombs and tankbusta bombs".
Incidentally the same question applies to Kommandos as boyz (One kommando in every 5 models is also armed with a tankbusta bomb).
Is it right that boy / kommando models with the bomb get 1 per game, but tankbusta model get as many as they care to use?
2019/11/15 10:00:49
Subject: Re:"For every 10 models in the unit, one Ork boy may take a tankbusta bomb."
A tankbusta bomb is a grenade and can be used with the usual rules for grenades, there is no once per battle limitation. If 30 boys have three tankbusta bombs those three models can use them every turn.
Grenades
Each time a unit shoots, a single model in
the unit that is equipped with Grenades
may throw one instead of firing any
other weapon.
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2019/11/15 10:01:14
2019/11/15 10:31:28
Subject: "For every 10 models in the unit, one Ork boy may take a tankbusta bomb."
p5freak wrote: A tankbusta bomb is a grenade and can be used with the usual rules for grenades, there is no once per battle limitation. If 30 boys have three tankbusta bombs those three models can use them every turn.
Grenades
Each time a unit shoots, a single model in
the unit that is equipped with Grenades
may throw one instead of firing any
other weapon.
Actually, from the quote you provided you can have only a single model using a tankbusta bomb, not 3 boyz with tankbusta bombs using them every turn, since only a single model in a unit can use a grenade that turn.
2019/11/15 17:25:31
Subject: Re:"For every 10 models in the unit, one Ork boy may take a tankbusta bomb."
p5freak wrote: A tankbusta bomb is a grenade and can be used with the usual rules for grenades, there is no once per battle limitation. If 30 boys have three tankbusta bombs those three models can use them every turn.
Grenades
Each time a unit shoots, a single model in
the unit that is equipped with Grenades
may throw one instead of firing any
other weapon.
Actually, from the quote you provided you can have only a single model using a tankbusta bomb, not 3 boyz with tankbusta bombs using them every turn, since only a single model in a unit can use a grenade that turn.
True, multiple models with grenades in a unit dont really work, they can have them, but only one model can throw a grenade
2019/11/15 18:28:27
Subject: "For every 10 models in the unit, one Ork boy may take a tankbusta bomb."
p5freak wrote: A tankbusta bomb is a grenade and can be used with the usual rules for grenades, there is no once per battle limitation. If 30 boys have three tankbusta bombs those three models can use them every turn.
Grenades
Each time a unit shoots, a single model in
the unit that is equipped with Grenades
may throw one instead of firing any
other weapon.
Actually, from the quote you provided you can have only a single model using a tankbusta bomb, not 3 boyz with tankbusta bombs using them every turn, since only a single model in a unit can use a grenade that turn.
True, multiple models with grenades in a unit dont really work, they can have them, but only one model can throw a grenade
The idea of having multiple models with grenades is that you can afford to lose one or two and still be able to use a grenade. For example if you need to lose a model to deny a charge to your opponent and the model is one with a tankbusta bomb it you can lose it without losing the weapon.
2019/11/15 22:34:51
Subject: Re:"For every 10 models in the unit, one Ork boy may take a tankbusta bomb."
p5freak wrote: A tankbusta bomb is a grenade and can be used with the usual rules for grenades, there is no once per battle limitation. If 30 boys have three tankbusta bombs those three models can use them every turn.
Grenades
Each time a unit shoots, a single model in
the unit that is equipped with Grenades
may throw one instead of firing any
other weapon.
That quote talks about units with grenades, but in terms of tankbusta bombz, the unit doesn't have grenadeS one model has A grenade. This is the crux of my question. The codex could have easily uses the plural form but didn't. It used singular. Was that intentional and meaningful?
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2019/11/15 22:36:20
2019/11/15 22:44:44
Subject: Re:"For every 10 models in the unit, one Ork boy may take a tankbusta bomb."
p5freak wrote: A tankbusta bomb is a grenade and can be used with the usual rules for grenades, there is no once per battle limitation. If 30 boys have three tankbusta bombs those three models can use them every turn.
Grenades
Each time a unit shoots, a single model in
the unit that is equipped with Grenades
may throw one instead of firing any
other weapon.
That quote talks about units with grenades, but in terms of tankbusta bombz, the unit doesn't have grenadeS one model has A grenade. This is the crux of my question. The codex could have easily uses the plural form but didn't. It used singular. Was that intentional and meaningful?
It was not.
Death Guard - "The Rotmongers"
Chaos Space Marines - "The Sin-Eaters"
Dark Angels - "Nemeses Errant"
Deathwatch
2019/11/16 15:32:49
Subject: "For every 10 models in the unit, one Ork boy may take a tankbusta bomb."
"Tankbusta bomb" is a weapon with the type "Grenade". When selected to shoot, a unit can shoot one Grenade type weapon with no limit to how often they can be used unless specified otherwise.
If you want to go hard RAW, tankbusta bombS doesn't exist as a profile, and tankbustas cannot use tankbusta bomb (without S) on their datasheet since it doesn't say they have them.
7 Ork facts people always get wrong: Ragnar did not win against Thrakka, but suffered two crushing defeats within a few days of each other. A lasgun is powerful enough to sever an ork's appendage or head in a single, well aimed shot. Orks meks have a better understanding of electrics and mechanics than most Tech Priests. Orks actually do not think that purple makes them harder to see. The joke was made canon by Alex Stewart's Caphias Cain books. Gharkull Blackfang did not even come close to killing the emperor. Orks can be corrupted by chaos, but few of them have any interest in what chaos offers. Orks do not have the power of believe.
2019/11/18 10:07:10
Subject: Re:"For every 10 models in the unit, one Ork boy may take a tankbusta bomb."
nareik wrote: The codex could have easily uses the plural form but didn't. It used singular. Was that intentional and meaningful?
My guess is that they didn't want people arguing that a boy with multiple bomz could share them around with his mates. They are emphasising that only one unit gets the benefit of having them.
The idea of having multiple models with grenades is that you can afford to lose one or two and still be able to use a grenade. For example if you need to lose a model to deny a charge to your opponent and the model is one with a tankbusta bomb it you can lose it without losing the weapon.
Even better have ability to spread them around so your threat range increases as the range is limited. It's not one model that's always conveniently where you need. It's specific one and if your only bomb is on the opposite side of unit with no vehicles in range...
Automatically Appended Next Post:
nareik wrote: This is the crux of my question. The codex could have easily uses the plural form but didn't. It used singular. Was that intentional and meaningful?
As a rule of thumb if answer requires such a level of parsing you can be sure "no". GW isn't capable of writing rules to level where that would actually be "yes"
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2019/11/18 11:15:30
2024 painted/bought: 109/109
2019/11/18 11:18:41
Subject: Re:"For every 10 models in the unit, one Ork boy may take a tankbusta bomb."
tneva82 wrote: As a rule of thumb if answer requires such a level of parsing you can be sure "no". GW isn't capable of writing rules to level where that would actually be "yes"
I find that applying Hanlon's Razor to GW's rules writing is almost a prerequisite for not losing your marbles trying to parse them.
2019/12/07 21:46:38
Subject: Re:"For every 10 models in the unit, one Ork boy may take a tankbusta bomb."
p5freak wrote: A tankbusta bomb is a grenade and can be used with the usual rules for grenades, there is no once per battle limitation. If 30 boys have three tankbusta bombs those three models can use them every turn.
Grenades
Each time a unit shoots, a single model in
the unit that is equipped with Grenades
may throw one instead of firing any
other weapon.
Actually, from the quote you provided you can have only a single model using a tankbusta bomb, not 3 boyz with tankbusta bombs using them every turn, since only a single model in a unit can use a grenade that turn.
True, multiple models with grenades in a unit dont really work, they can have them, but only one model can throw a grenade
but the Orks Stratagem changes things though, you could have 7 using stikkbombs and 3 using tankbustas
EXTRA STIKKBOMBS
Orks Stratagem
Orks are not subtle creatures, and if they get their hands on a surplus of explosives, they are less likely to stockpile them than they are to simply pull out all the pins at once and get lobbing.
Use this Stratagem at the start of your Shooting phase. Select an ORK INFANTRY unit from your army. Up to 10 models in that unit can fire a Grenade weapon in that phase, instead of only 1.
SMASH
2019/12/08 09:55:07
Subject: "For every 10 models in the unit, one Ork boy may take a tankbusta bomb."
7 Ork facts people always get wrong: Ragnar did not win against Thrakka, but suffered two crushing defeats within a few days of each other. A lasgun is powerful enough to sever an ork's appendage or head in a single, well aimed shot. Orks meks have a better understanding of electrics and mechanics than most Tech Priests. Orks actually do not think that purple makes them harder to see. The joke was made canon by Alex Stewart's Caphias Cain books. Gharkull Blackfang did not even come close to killing the emperor. Orks can be corrupted by chaos, but few of them have any interest in what chaos offers. Orks do not have the power of believe.
2019/12/08 11:27:25
Subject: Re:"For every 10 models in the unit, one Ork boy may take a tankbusta bomb."
p5freak wrote: A tankbusta bomb is a grenade and can be used with the usual rules for grenades, there is no once per battle limitation. If 30 boys have three tankbusta bombs those three models can use them every turn.
Grenades
Each time a unit shoots, a single model in
the unit that is equipped with Grenades
may throw one instead of firing any
other weapon.
Actually, from the quote you provided you can have only a single model using a tankbusta bomb, not 3 boyz with tankbusta bombs using them every turn, since only a single model in a unit can use a grenade that turn.
True, multiple models with grenades in a unit dont really work, they can have them, but only one model can throw a grenade
but the Orks Stratagem changes things though, you could have 7 using stikkbombs and 3 using tankbustas
EXTRA STIKKBOMBS
Orks Stratagem
Orks are not subtle creatures, and if they get their hands on a surplus of explosives, they are less likely to stockpile them than they are to simply pull out all the pins at once and get lobbing.
Use this Stratagem at the start of your Shooting phase. Select an ORK INFANTRY unit from your army. Up to 10 models in that unit can fire a Grenade weapon in that phase, instead of only 1.
It says "a Grenade weapon" so you can fire either the Tank Busta Bombs or the Stikkbombs, not both.
So mob of 30 Boyz can lob 3 TBB or 10 Stikks. Not both.
2019/12/08 12:15:04
Subject: Re:"For every 10 models in the unit, one Ork boy may take a tankbusta bomb."
p5freak wrote: A tankbusta bomb is a grenade and can be used with the usual rules for grenades, there is no once per battle limitation. If 30 boys have three tankbusta bombs those three models can use them every turn.
Grenades
Each time a unit shoots, a single model in
the unit that is equipped with Grenades
may throw one instead of firing any
other weapon.
Actually, from the quote you provided you can have only a single model using a tankbusta bomb, not 3 boyz with tankbusta bombs using them every turn, since only a single model in a unit can use a grenade that turn.
True, multiple models with grenades in a unit dont really work, they can have them, but only one model can throw a grenade
but the Orks Stratagem changes things though, you could have 7 using stikkbombs and 3 using tankbustas
EXTRA STIKKBOMBS
Orks Stratagem
Orks are not subtle creatures, and if they get their hands on a surplus of explosives, they are less likely to stockpile them than they are to simply pull out all the pins at once and get lobbing.
Use this Stratagem at the start of your Shooting phase. Select an ORK INFANTRY unit from your army. Up to 10 models in that unit can fire a Grenade weapon in that phase, instead of only 1.
It says "a Grenade weapon" so you can fire either the Tank Busta Bombs or the Stikkbombs, not both.
So mob of 30 Boyz can lob 3 TBB or 10 Stikks. Not both.
It says "a Grenade weapon" So since both TBB's and Stikks are "a Grenade weapon" you can mix and match as you please.
You statement about "not both" is incorrect.
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
2019/12/08 12:24:23
Subject: Re:"For every 10 models in the unit, one Ork boy may take a tankbusta bomb."
p5freak wrote: A tankbusta bomb is a grenade and can be used with the usual rules for grenades, there is no once per battle limitation. If 30 boys have three tankbusta bombs those three models can use them every turn.
Grenades
Each time a unit shoots, a single model in
the unit that is equipped with Grenades
may throw one instead of firing any
other weapon.
Actually, from the quote you provided you can have only a single model using a tankbusta bomb, not 3 boyz with tankbusta bombs using them every turn, since only a single model in a unit can use a grenade that turn.
True, multiple models with grenades in a unit dont really work, they can have them, but only one model can throw a grenade
but the Orks Stratagem changes things though, you could have 7 using stikkbombs and 3 using tankbustas
EXTRA STIKKBOMBS
Orks Stratagem
Orks are not subtle creatures, and if they get their hands on a surplus of explosives, they are less likely to stockpile them than they are to simply pull out all the pins at once and get lobbing.
Use this Stratagem at the start of your Shooting phase. Select an ORK INFANTRY unit from your army. Up to 10 models in that unit can fire a Grenade weapon in that phase, instead of only 1.
It says "a Grenade weapon" so you can fire either the Tank Busta Bombs or the Stikkbombs, not both.
So mob of 30 Boyz can lob 3 TBB or 10 Stikks. Not both.
It says "a Grenade weapon" So since both TBB's and Stikks are "a Grenade weapon" you can mix and match as you please.
You statement about "not both" is incorrect.
"A grenade weapon" means 1 grenade weapon type to me. Not 2. Throwing stikkbombs and TBBs would be throwing 2 different grenade weapons.
That said I see the argument the other way - each of the ten models could pick to fire a different weapon (but only throw 1) I guess.
I'm sure there's a rule that states only 1 type of grenade can be thrown by a unit but I might be getting my editions confused!
2019/12/08 13:08:27
Subject: "For every 10 models in the unit, one Ork boy may take a tankbusta bomb."
That’s not what that means. Grenade is a weapon type, same as Pistol, Heavy or Rapid Fire. There are not subsets of Grenades. If using a Strat to throw more than one Grenade per unit, each model can fire one Grenade weapon it’s armed with.
Stormonu wrote: For me, the joy is in putting some good-looking models on the board and playing out a fantasy battle - not arguing over the poorly-made rules of some 3rd party who neither has any power over my play nor will be visiting me (and my opponent) to ensure we are "playing by the rules"
2019/12/08 13:33:42
Subject: Re:"For every 10 models in the unit, one Ork boy may take a tankbusta bomb."