Switch Theme:

Transport disembarking when destroyed  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in hr
Been Around the Block




The setup:

Transport carrying troops is surrounded on all sides by one line of infantry in melee, and it gets destroyed. The space between the surrounding infantry bases is around 1.5 cm so no room for any enemy model disembarking to move through. According to the BRB page 211, one bullet point states:

"Disembarking units must be set up wholly within 3" of their transport and not within engagement range of any enemy models"

and the other:

"Units that have disembarked count as having moved this turn."

So, can the units inside the transport "teleport" within 3" of the destroyed transport (and further than 1" of the enemy models), "teleporting" over the surrounding infantry units or because of the second sentence, them counting as having moved, it is implied that they have to MOVE to their new position, which is impossible, because according to the movement rules, no models may move through/over enemy models (unless they have fly).

In which case, if the transport was carrying units with fly, they could "teleport", but if no fly, sorry you go down with the transport because you can't disembark (Emergency disembarkation stratagem doesn't help either)?

So disembark for everyone or no one except fly units?
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






ThulsaDoom wrote:
The setup:

Transport carrying troops is surrounded on all sides by one line of infantry in melee, and it gets destroyed. The space between the surrounding infantry bases is around 1.5 cm so no room for any enemy model disembarking to move through. According to the BRB page 211, one bullet point states:

"Disembarking units must be set up wholly within 3" of their transport and not within engagement range of any enemy models"

and the other:

"Units that have disembarked count as having moved this turn."

So, can the units inside the transport "teleport" within 3" of the destroyed transport (and further than 1" of the enemy models), "teleporting" over the surrounding infantry units or because of the second sentence, them counting as having moved, it is implied that they have to MOVE to their new position, which is impossible, because according to the movement rules, no models may move through/over enemy models (unless they have fly).

In which case, if the transport was carrying units with fly, they could "teleport", but if no fly, sorry you go down with the transport because you can't disembark (Emergency disembarkation stratagem doesn't help either)?

So disembark for everyone or no one except fly units?
You don't move "though" anything when you disembark. You simply spring into existence and are set up. Surrounding a transport does nothing unless you have enough models to block legal disembarkment. This is the exact same as 8th.

What has changed from 8th is that you need to be wholly within 3" when you disembark now, if there is a second rank of models surrounding the transport, you can't disembark.

This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2020/11/04 17:29:58


 
   
Made in us
Lieutenant General





Florence, KY

From page 211 of the Core Rules ("Disembark"):

When a unit disembarks, set it up on the battlefield so that it is wholly within 3" of the TRANSPORT model and not within Engagement Range of any enemy models.

The models do not make a move from the TRANSPORT, but are 'set up' following the above rules. This means that there can indeed be intervening models between the disembarking unit and the TRANSPORT. Note that this part of the rule is unchanged from 8th edition.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2020/11/04 17:30:58


'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents
cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable
defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'

- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty
Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim
 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





As BCB states, you aren't making a move to put the unit on the board, you are merely setting them up. They don't have to have fly, they are merely set up.

But, as BCB also stated, they have to be wholly within 3" of the transport, so it depends on how the unit surround the transport. You only have to be within 1" to be within engagement instead of base contact, so if the unit wholly surrounding the transport has 32 mm bases and is barely within engagement rangem, they might still be able to block most or all of the unit disembarking.
   
Made in no
Liche Priest Hierophant





Bergen

Emergy disembark and disembark are a lot alike. The main differense is the timing, the optional stratagem and that they can be desteoyed.

- Sett them up wholy within 3. Note that you can not be put near enemy models as per usual rules. There is no movement here. They just pop up.

- Any who can not be put up are destroyed.

- Roll dices to see if there are cassualeties.

- Remove transport.

- If they are out of unit coherensy come morale phase more will be lost.

I do not remember the timing of the melee consolidate if that is involved.

   
Made in hr
Been Around the Block




Excellent, so then the attacker shouldn't get in base contact with the transport to minimize the area the transported unit can disembark, and actually "force" them to use the emergency disembarkation stratagem in order for them to lose 1/3 of the unit instead of the whole unit.

Thanks guys!
   
Made in gb
Chalice-Wielding Sanguinary High Priest





Stevenage, UK

With most bases now being over an inch in width, this would be a very rare situation indeed. But yes - agreed with the above posters, setting the unit up is not the same as an actual move from point A to point B - so if you're looking to force an emergency disembarkation, don't go to full base contact.

"Hard pressed on my right. My centre is yielding. Impossible to manoeuvre. Situation excellent. I am attacking." - General Ferdinand Foch  
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: