Switch Theme:

Rule of 3 - Units that are troops but also not!  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in au
Changing Our Legion's Name




Adelaide Australia

I haven't really been able to find a solution to this question but as the subject states, how does the rule of 3 affect a unit that can be taken as both a Troop but also an elite?
The units in question specifically are CSM Plague Marines and Rubric Marines.

Could an army list have a vanilla CSM detachment with 3 Plague/Rubric units in the elites slot, but then also have a detachment of Death Guard or Thousand Sons respectively with more Plague/Rubric marines as Troops? (As they would be exempt from the Rule of 3 due to being troops?)

   
Made in de
Nihilistic Necron Lord






Germany

You can have them 3 times as elite, and as many times as you can choose them as troop choice.
   
Made in gb
Dakka Veteran





I agree with p5freak. However, I think the situations where you would actually want to do this are extremely rare.

8930 points 6800 points 75 points 600 points
2810 points 5740 points 2650 points 3275 points
55 points 640 points 1840 points 435 points
2990 points 700 points 2235 points 1935 points
3460 points 1595 points 2480 points 2895 points
 
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut



Glasgow

I would say you can have them as many times as you want in a troop slot but the data sheet can't feature in your list more than 3 times if it features in an elite slot
   
Made in us
Never Forget Isstvan!






In this case, if you took 3 of such units as troops you would no longer be able to take any as elites.

So no thousand sounds detachment with 3 squads and a red corsairs detachment with them in the elite slot.

JOIN MY CRUSADE and gain 4000 RT points!
http://www.eternalcrusade.com/account/sign-up/?ref_code=EC-PLCIKYCABW8PG 
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






 Eihnlazer wrote:
In this case, if you took 3 of such units as troops you would no longer be able to take any as elites.

So no thousand sounds detachment with 3 squads and a red corsairs detachment with them in the elite slot.
No?
BRB, Page 280 wrote:With the exception of units with the Troops or Dedicated Transport Battlefield Roles, or units that are added to your army during the battle that cost Reinforcement points, each player can only include the same datasheet in their army three times.
Troops are literally exempted.
   
Made in us
Never Forget Isstvan!






Troops are exempted from Rule of 3, but that doesnt mean their datasheets arent part of your army.


You still have 3 datasheets worth of Rubric marines in your army already.

JOIN MY CRUSADE and gain 4000 RT points!
http://www.eternalcrusade.com/account/sign-up/?ref_code=EC-PLCIKYCABW8PG 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





 Eihnlazer wrote:
Troops are exempted from Rule of 3, but that doesnt mean their datasheets arent part of your army.


You still have 3 datasheets worth of Rubric marines in your army already.


If the units are exempted, that means their datasheets for those in the troops section don't count. There has to be a unit to go with the datasheet, so datasheets for exempted units would also be ignored.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2020/11/18 17:41:36


 
   
Made in us
Never Forget Isstvan!






Exempted doesnt mean its not there, it just means it doesnt have to follow the rule.

Well, im outnumbered so im not gonna argue too much more on it. Thats just my take.

JOIN MY CRUSADE and gain 4000 RT points!
http://www.eternalcrusade.com/account/sign-up/?ref_code=EC-PLCIKYCABW8PG 
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut



Glasgow

 BaconCatBug wrote:
 Eihnlazer wrote:
In this case, if you took 3 of such units as troops you would no longer be able to take any as elites.

So no thousand sounds detachment with 3 squads and a red corsairs detachment with them in the elite slot.
No?
BRB, Page 280 wrote:With the exception of units with the Troops or Dedicated Transport Battlefield Roles, or units that are added to your army during the battle that cost Reinforcement points, each player can only include the same datasheet in their army three times.
Troops are literally exempted.


Yes that proves if you have three troops you can't take an elite.

If you have 3 troops and the elite the troops are not breaking the rule but the elite is as the datasheet can't be included in your army more than three times unless it is a troop slot and the elite makes it 4 times including a non troop slot

The check occurs for the non exempted units and measures only the number of times the datasheet is in the army not on the number of times the datasheet is in non troop slots

The three troops don't check their exempted the elite checks and finds 4 - beyond the 3 limits

So 6 troops would be fine their all exempted and so no checks

This message was edited 4 times. Last update was at 2020/11/18 22:24:42


 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





U02dah4 wrote:
 BaconCatBug wrote:
 Eihnlazer wrote:
In this case, if you took 3 of such units as troops you would no longer be able to take any as elites.

So no thousand sounds detachment with 3 squads and a red corsairs detachment with them in the elite slot.
No?
BRB, Page 280 wrote:With the exception of units with the Troops or Dedicated Transport Battlefield Roles, or units that are added to your army during the battle that cost Reinforcement points, each player can only include the same datasheet in their army three times.
Troops are literally exempted.


Yes that proves if you have three three troops you can't take an elite.

If you have 3 troops and the elite the troops are not breaking the rule but the elite is as the datasheet can't be included in your army more than three times unless it is a troop slot and the elite makes it 4 times including a non troop slot

The check occurs for the non exempted units and measures only the number of times the datasheet is in the army not on the number of times the datasheet is in non troop slots

The three troops don't check their exempted the elite checks and finds 4 - beyond the 3 limits


If the troop units are exempted, you treat them like they're not there. If the units aren't there, then for the purpose of this rule there is no datasheet there either to represent (from the rules standpoint) a non-existant unit. For the rules purpose you have only 1 datasheet, the one for the elite unit.
   
Made in us
Confessor Of Sins





Tacoma, WA, USA

Technically, Troops and Dedicated Transports are not exempted. The rule doesn't apply to them. You don't even look at how many of them there are in the army because there is no limit.
   
Made in de
Ork Admiral Kroozin Da Kosmos on Da Hulk






Essentially, if your army has more than 3 of any datasheet that are HQ, Elite, Fast Attack, Heavy Support, Flyer, Lord of War, Fortification or slotless, your army is illegal.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2020/11/19 10:49:53


7 Ork facts people always get wrong:
Ragnar did not win against Thrakka, but suffered two crushing defeats within a few days of each other.
A lasgun is powerful enough to sever an ork's appendage or head in a single, well aimed shot.
Orks meks have a better understanding of electrics and mechanics than most Tech Priests.
Orks actually do not think that purple makes them harder to see. The joke was made canon by Alex Stewart's Caphias Cain books.
Gharkull Blackfang did not even come close to killing the emperor.
Orks can be corrupted by chaos, but few of them have any interest in what chaos offers.
Orks do not have the power of believe. 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





Another point - a CSM Plague Marine or Rubric Marine in an elite slot is not the same datasheet as one in a troop slot. The Battlefield Role is part of the datasheet, and a difference in Battlefield role makes it a different datasheet.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: