Switch Theme:

Faceless commander and warptime - scrambled operatives vs vexilla teleport homer  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gr
Nurgle Veteran Marine with the Flu





Athens, Greece

The question is, if I use the faceless commander to teleport my Daemon prince in the end of my movement phase can I warptime him in the psychic phase? Also the alpha legion scrambled operatives vs custodes stratagem what actually happens?

Killing is easy. Being politically correct is a pain in the ass...
My Chaos Space Marines showcase so far: http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/437151.page (too old - i will update it soon) 
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






 avedominusnox wrote:
The question is, if I use the faceless commander to teleport my Daemon prince in the end of my movement phase can I warptime him in the psychic phase? Also the alpha legion scrambled operatives vs custodes stratagem what actually happens?
1) No. As per the Rare Rules appendix for "Repositioned and Replacement Units"
Core Book, Page 363 wrote: If a rule causes a unit to be removed from the battlefield and subsequently set back up, the following rules apply to it:
[...]
3. The unit cannot make a Normal Move, Advance, Fall Back or Remain Stationary that turn for any reason.
So you cannot use Warptime, since it causes the unit to "move as if it were its Movement phase", which would entail making a "Normal Move, Advance, Fall Back or Remain Stationary" action.

2) Since you didn't specify what stratagem you are talking about, I am going to assume you are asking about "From Golden Light They Come". You have two rules in effect simultaneously, one rule is saying you must set up "more than 9" away from any enemy models" and one rule saying you must set up "more than 12" away from ALPHA LEGION units from your army, rather than 9"." You must follow all rules without breaking any, which means you will have to set up your Custodes both 9" away from any enemy models and 12" away from ALPHA LEGION units. I am blind. Please see my subsequent post.

This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2020/12/19 20:55:05


 
   
Made in gb
Automated Rubric Marine of Tzeentch




dorset

 BaconCatBug wrote:
 avedominusnox wrote:
The question is, if I use the faceless commander to teleport my Daemon prince in the end of my movement phase can I warptime him in the psychic phase? Also the alpha legion scrambled operatives vs custodes stratagem what actually happens?
1) No. As per the Rare Rules appendix for "Repositioned and Replacement Units"
Core Book, Page 363 wrote: If a rule causes a unit to be removed from the battlefield and subsequently set back up, the following rules apply to it:
[...]
3. The unit cannot make a Normal Move, Advance, Fall Back or Remain Stationary that turn for any reason.
So you cannot use Warptime, since it causes the unit to "move as if it were its Movement phase", which would entail making a "Normal Move, Advance, Fall Back or Remain Stationary" action.

2) Since you didn't specify what stratagem you are talking about, I am going to assume you are asking about "From Golden Light They Come". You have two rules in effect simultaneously, one rule is saying you must set up "more than 9" away from any enemy models" and one rule saying you must set up "more than 12" away from ALPHA LEGION units from your army, rather than 9"." You must follow all rules without breaking any, which means you will have to set up your Custodies both 9" away from any enemy models and 12" away from ALPHA LEGION units.


He did specify, in the thread title he refers to the "vexilia teleport homer" ability, which has the rules text
"Use this strat at the end of your Movment Phase. when you set up a teleporting Adeptus Custodes unit at the end of the phase, you can set it up wholly within 6" of a friendly vexilus Praetor (other that one that set up this turn). and more than 3" form enemy models. any models that cannot be set up this way are destroyed"


therefore, the rules question is the interaction between "set up close to me, and closer than normal" vs "must set up further away". now, unless their "rules priority" rule that lets the teleport homer override the alpha legion "stay away" rule, then i;d guess your right, they must both be within 6" of the vexilla, more than 3" form any enemy, and also more than 12" form any enemy ALPHA LEGION.

unless a case can be made the vexllia shortcuts the AL rule as that one says "12 inches, instead of 9 inches", but units using the vexillia dont have to set up 9 inches away, only 3 inches away, which i guess is the question the OP was asking.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2020/12/19 20:47:06


To be a man in such times is to be one amongst untold billions. It is to live in the cruelest and most bloody regime imaginable. These are the tales of those times. Forget the power of technology and science, for so much has been forgotten, never to be relearned. Forget the promise of progress and understanding, for in the grim dark future there is only war. There is no peace amongst the stars, only an eternity of carnage and slaughter, and the laughter of thirsting gods.

Coven of XVth 2000pts
The Blades of Ruin 2,000pts Watch Company Rho 1650pts
 
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






Ok, I missed that, my mistake. No idea how. Apologies.

In this case you have two rules in effect simultaneously, one rule is saying you must set up "more than 3" away from any enemy models" and one rule saying you must set up "more than 12" away from ALPHA LEGION units from your army, rather than 9"."

Because the Alpha Legion rule says "rather than 9"", it doesn't actually apply to the vexilia teleport homer stratagem, so it has no affect on it, and you can deploy your Custodes unit "within 6" of a friendly vexilus Praetor (other that one that set up this turn). and more than 3" form enemy models." Others will disagree that the "rather than 9"" doesn't apply for some reason, and will insist that you still have to deploy more than 12" from any ALPHA LEGION units.

This message was edited 6 times. Last update was at 2020/12/19 20:54:29


 
   
Made in us
Confessor Of Sins





Tacoma, WA, USA

xerxeskingofking wrote:
He did specify, in the thread title he refers to the "vexilia teleport homer" ability, which has the rules text
"Use this strat at the end of your Movment Phase. when you set up a teleporting Adeptus Custodes unit at the end of the phase, you can set it up wholly within 6" of a friendly vexilus Praetor (other that one that set up this turn). and more than 3" form enemy models. any models that cannot be set up this way are destroyed"


therefore, the rules question is the interaction between "set up close to me, and closer than normal" vs "must set up further away". now, unless their "rules priority" rule that lets the teleport homer override the alpha legion "stay away" rule, then i;d guess your right, they must both be within 6" of the vexilla, more than 3" form any enemy, and also more than 12" form any enemy ALPHA LEGION.

unless a case can be made the vexllia shortcuts the AL rule as that one says "12 inches, instead of 9 inches", but units using the vexillia dont have to set up 9 inches away, only 3 inches away, which i guess is the question the OP was asking.
There is a very strong case that since the AL rules states "12 inches, instead of 9 inches" that there is no impact at all to the Vexilla Teleport Homer. 9" is never stated in the rule, you can't replace 9" with 12". Therefore, you use only the limitations under Vexilla Teleport Homer.

You can compare that to SM Inflitrators Omni-scramblers (Enemy units that are set up on the battlefield as reinforcements cannot be set up within 12" of this unit) that flatly doesn't allow setup within 12" of the unit. Here, you have a case of needing to abide by both rules.
   
Made in de
Nihilistic Necron Lord






Germany

 BaconCatBug wrote:

Because the Alpha Legion rule says "rather than 9"", it doesn't actually apply to the vexilia teleport homer stratagem, so it has no affect on it, and you can deploy your Custodes unit "within 6" of a friendly vexilus Praetor (other that one that set up this turn). and more than 3" form enemy models." Others will disagree that the "rather than 9"" doesn't apply for some reason, and will insist that you still have to deploy more than 12" from any ALPHA LEGION units.


AL also says must be set up more than 12" away. When there are multiple rules in effect you must follow all rules, your words BCB. In that case you must set up more than 3" away from enemy models and more than 12" away from enemy models.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2020/12/19 21:05:46


 
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






 p5freak wrote:
When there are multiple rules in effect you must follow all rules, your words BCB. In that case you must set up more than 3" away from enemy models and more than 12" away from enemy models.
The Alpha Legion rule is NOT in effect, because the rule doesn't have a 9" rule to replace.

Analogy: You want to bring in a 1L drink to a concert. Your friend wants to bring in a 2L drink. The concert has a rule saying "You must bring in a 0.5L drink, rather than a 2L drink." You get to keep your 1L drink because it's not 2L, while your friend has to bring in a 0.5L drink rather than a 2L drink.

If you do pretend that "rather than 9"" can somehow replace a 3" bubble rule, yes, you still need to be more than 3" from Enemy Models and 12" from ALPHA LEGION units. But there is no 9" bubble for the 12" bubble to be "rather than", so it doesn't apply.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2020/12/19 21:08:23


 
   
Made in us
Confessor Of Sins





Tacoma, WA, USA

 BaconCatBug wrote:
Analogy: You want to bring in a 1L drink to a concert. Your friend wants to bring in a 2L drink. The concert has a rule saying "You must bring in a 0.5L drink, rather than a 2L drink." You get to keep your 1L drink because it's not 2L, while your friend has to bring in a 0.5L drink rather than a 2L drink.
You should really stop writing analogies, you are terrible at it

A better one would be: your opponent must wear yellow instead of red, but he is wearing blue.
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

 BaconCatBug wrote:
 p5freak wrote:
When there are multiple rules in effect you must follow all rules, your words BCB. In that case you must set up more than 3" away from enemy models and more than 12" away from enemy models.
The Alpha Legion rule is NOT in effect, because the rule doesn't have a 9" rule to replace.
That is not quite how the rules work. There is no replacement going on.

The only reason it says "rather than 9(inches)" is because the majority of things that can [Deep Strike] do so by setting up more than 9 inches away. That is all it is referring to.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
Confessor Of Sins





Tacoma, WA, USA

Sorry. The words are in the rule and therefore are part of the rule.
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

 alextroy wrote:
Sorry. The words are in the rule and therefore are part of the rule.
Yea, why wouldn't they be? Not sure what your point is though.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in gr
Nurgle Veteran Marine with the Flu





Athens, Greece

Ok the thing with warptime is pretty clear. The other one though is still weird. I guess there is no clear answer to what happens between the two stratagems.

Killing is easy. Being politically correct is a pain in the ass...
My Chaos Space Marines showcase so far: http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/437151.page (too old - i will update it soon) 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: