Switch Theme:

Pile In and Consolidation Clarification  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Perturbed Blood Angel Tactical Marine




Hi folks,

Relatively new player here. Still working out all the intricacies of the fight phase and how to interpret and apply the pile in and consolidation rules correctly.

First the scenario:

Blood Angels Unit A and Unit B both declare charges on Eldar Unit Y and both succeed in their charge rolls.

There is a separate Eldar Unit Z 10" inches away from Eldar Unit Y making it the next nearest enemy unit from a BA perspective but well outside of charge range of both BA Unit A and B.

BA Unit A is activated to fight first, piles into Eldar Unit Y, and then succeeds in wiping out Eldar Unit Y in its entirety. Eldar Unit Z remains the next nearest enemy unit, therefore BA Unit A consolidates 3" towards Unit Z.

BA Unit B is now left out of engagement range of any enemy models and the nearest enemy unit is now Eldar Unit Z 10" away.

Now the question:

Is BA Unit B that charged Eldar Unit Y but now no longer in engagement range of any enemy model able to be selected to fight and therefore qualify for both a 3" pile in AND a 3" consolidation for "having fought" allowing them a total of 6" of movement closer to Eldar Unit Z despite not being able to ever actually make attacks at any point in the fight phase?


Thanks!
   
Made in au
Frenzied Berserker Terminator






Sobie wrote:
Is BA Unit B that charged Eldar Unit Y but now no longer in engagement range of any enemy model able to be selected to fight and therefore qualify for both a 3" pile in AND a 3" consolidation for "having fought" allowing them a total of 6" of movement closer to Eldar Unit Z despite not being able to ever actually make attacks at any point in the fight phase?

Yes. The requirements to be able to choose a unit to fight are either:

  • That the unit is within Engagement Range of an enemy; or

  • That the unit performed a charge move in the same turn.


  • When a unit fights, it performs all of the steps listed in the Fight Phase - in other words: it piles in, makes attacks and then consolidates. Each step has its own requirements, but is not reliant on a previous step to have been performed.
       
    Made in gb
    Norn Queen






    Yes, BA Unit B can both Pile In and Consolidate, as they charged that turn, and can do so regardless of whether they are in engagement range of anything. They won't be able to attack anything, however, as all units they charged are destroyed. Even if Eldar unit Z were just 2" away from them, you could pile in to engagement range and consolidate, but they couldn't attack Eldar Unit Z, and Eldar Unit Z can attack the BA.

    This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2020/12/31 18:24:48


     
       
    Made in us
    Perturbed Blood Angel Tactical Marine




    Great, thank you both!

    I was getting hung up on when a unit is considered fighting and therefore qualifies for the pile in and consolidate. It's when they end in engagement range following the charge, not when they activate to resolve attacks against a target.

    This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2021/01/01 15:36:21


     
       
     
    Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
    Go to: