Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2021/01/24 04:22:17
Subject: Can a unit arriving from reserves embark a vehicle on the same turn?
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
Example: Tempestus Scions arrive from reserve within 3" of an empty Chimera. Can they immediately embark the Chimera before the end of the movement phase?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2021/01/24 04:38:39
Subject: Can a unit arriving from reserves embark a vehicle on the same turn?
|
 |
Norn Queen
|
Waelfwulf wrote:Example: Tempestus Scions arrive from reserve within 3" of an empty Chimera. Can they immediately embark the Chimera before the end of the movement phase?
No. BRB, Page 210 wrote:If a unit makes a Normal Move, an Advance or it Falls Back, and every model in that unit ends that move within 3" of a friendly TRANSPORT model they can embark within it. BRB, Page 208 wrote:Reinforcement units cannot make a Normal Move, Advance, Fall Back or Remain Stationary in the turn they arrive for any reason, but they can otherwise act normally (shoot, charge, fight etc.). Models in units that arrived as Reinforcements count as having moved a distance in inches equal to their Move (M) characteristic in this Movement phase.
Units arrive from reserves during the Reinforcement Step of the movement phase. A unit can only make a "Normal Move, an Advance or [...] Falls Back" action during the Move Units step of the Movement Phase, and units that arrive as Reinforcements are explicitly forbidden from making a "Normal Move, Advance, [or] Fall Back" action.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2021/01/24 04:40:33
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2021/01/24 10:49:52
Subject: Can a unit arriving from reserves embark a vehicle on the same turn?
|
 |
Nihilistic Necron Lord
|
BaconCatBug wrote:A unit can only make a "Normal Move, an Advance or [...] Falls Back" action during the Move Units step of the Movement Phase, and units that arrive as Reinforcements are explicitly forbidden from making a "Normal Move, Advance, [or] Fall Back" action.
I agree about reinforcement units not being able to embark, but the first part of the sentence is not true. If a rule simply tells you to make a move as if it were the Movement phase, but does not specify what kind of move is being made, it is a Normal Move. If a psychic power allows you to move as if it were the Movement phase a unit can embark on a transport, because it counts as a normal move. The rule for embarking doesnt say they can only embark in the movement phase.
EMBARK
If a unit makes a Normal Move, an Advance or it Falls Back, and
every model in that unit ends that move within 3" of a friendly
Transport model they can embark within it. A unit cannot
embark within a Transport model that is within Engagement
Range of enemy models, and it cannot embark if it has already
disembarked from a Transport model in the same phase. Remove
the unit from the battlefield and place it to one side – it is now
embarked within the model.
*Page 366 – Rules Term Glossary
Add the following:
Move normally: Rules that refer to move/moves/moving
normally are the same thing as making a Normal Move, e.g. a
rule that states ‘instead of moving this unit normally’ means
‘instead of making a Normal Move with this unit’. If a rule
simply tells you to make a move as if it were the Movement phase,
but does not specify what kind of move is being made, it is a
Normal Move.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2021/01/24 10:50:26
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2021/01/24 12:48:05
Subject: Can a unit arriving from reserves embark a vehicle on the same turn?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
But... 1. Reinforcements arrive and count as having moved their normal move distance. The BRB glossary refers to "rules that refer to moving/move/moved" normally is a normal move. 2. Ergo the reinforcements have just made a normal move, for purposes of what they count as, and may do all other things normally. When the test is later applied "did this unit move and end here" wouldn't that be replied with "it counts as so." 3. They may not additionally make a normal move, advance, or fall back, after they moved onto the board. Just as any unit can't make a normal move after it has made its normal move, in the usual course of the game. What about that prevents embarking immediately?
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2021/01/24 12:51:08
Guard gaurd gAAAARDity Gaurd gaurd. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2021/01/24 16:52:24
Subject: Can a unit arriving from reserves embark a vehicle on the same turn?
|
 |
Deathwing Terminator with Assault Cannon
|
Dukeofstuff wrote:But...
1. Reinforcements arrive and count as having moved their normal move distance. The BRB glossary refers to "rules that refer to moving/move/moved" normally is a normal move.
2. Ergo the reinforcements have just made a normal move, for purposes of what they count as, and may do all other things normally. When the test is later applied "did this unit move and end here" wouldn't that be replied with "it counts as so."
3. They may not additionally make a normal move, advance, or fall back, after they moved onto the board. Just as any unit can't make a normal move after it has made its normal move, in the usual course of the game.
What about that prevents embarking immediately?
You're cherry picking on your point 1. If you read the full excerpt and not a single phrase, conveniently cropped to suit your argument, you'd realize the FAQ you're quoting is irrelevant to the point you're making.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2021/01/24 18:35:06
Subject: Can a unit arriving from reserves embark a vehicle on the same turn?
|
 |
Norn Queen
|
"Counts as" and "is" are not the same thing. We've been over this about a dozen times now, so I'll just leave it at saying that p5freak and Dukeofstuff are incorrect re: "counts as having moved" lets you embark.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2021/01/24 18:35:28
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2021/01/25 08:36:52
Subject: Can a unit arriving from reserves embark a vehicle on the same turn?
|
 |
Waaagh! Ork Warboss
Italy
|
BRB also says that once reinforcements have been set up the movement phase ends. So they can't be deployed and then embark in some transport.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2021/01/25 09:04:31
Subject: Can a unit arriving from reserves embark a vehicle on the same turn?
|
 |
Nihilistic Necron Lord
|
Blackie wrote:BRB also says that once reinforcements have been set up the movement phase ends. So they can't be deployed and then embark in some transport.
You can embark at any time during the game, when you meet the required criteria. I already quoted the relevant rules. For example, eldar can use the fire and fade stratagem to embark on a transport during the shooting phase. The psychic power warptime allows you to embark in the psychic phase.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2021/01/25 12:04:00
Subject: Can a unit arriving from reserves embark a vehicle on the same turn?
|
 |
Waaagh! Ork Warboss
Italy
|
Nowhere in the Reinforcement section (page 208) it's written that units that arrives from the reserves make a move. The only words here are "set up", which I don't think it counts as a normal move. It's actually pretty explicit:
"Reinforcement units cannot make a Normal Move, Advance, Fall Back,...".
|
|
|
 |
 |
|