Switch Theme:

Slaanesh Lashes of Torment  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in au
Dakka Veteran




In Codex: Chaos Daemons the various Slaanesh Chariots have a weapon called the Lashes of Torment. It has a special rule that says "This weapon can be fired within 1" of an enemy unit, and can target enemy units within 1" of friendly units."

Say I have a Slaanesh Chariot within 1" of an enemy unit, and there is another, separate, combat going on nearby. Can I shoot at the enemy unit in the other combat?

It is also worth noting that the Chariots do not have the Vehicle keyword.
   
Made in de
Nihilistic Necron Lord






Germany

JakeSiren wrote:
In Codex: Chaos Daemons the various Slaanesh Chariots have a weapon called the Lashes of Torment. It has a special rule that says "This weapon can be fired within 1" of an enemy unit, and can target enemy units within 1" of friendly units."


Thats not what the rule is saying.

Lashes of Torment
This weapon can be fired even if there are enemy units within Engagement Range of the bearer, and attacks made with this weapon can target enemy units within Engagement Range of friendly units.

JakeSiren wrote:

Say I have a Slaanesh Chariot within 1" of an enemy unit, and there is another, separate, combat going on nearby. Can I shoot at the enemy unit in the other combat?

Yes, you can.
JakeSiren wrote:

It is also worth noting that the Chariots do not have the Vehicle keyword.


Irrelevant, you can do it, because the LoT say you can do it.
   
Made in au
Dakka Veteran




Thanks for the answer.

 p5freak wrote:
Thats not what the rule is saying.

I just had a look, it appears that is the wording for the Herald of Slaanesh on Hellflayer (etc) from the PA: Engine War FAQ. But I didn't see it in the Codex: Chaos Daemons FAQ updating the non-herald versions. Is there an updated datasheet that I am missing for the Hellflayer, Seeker Chariot, and Exalted Seeker Chariots?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2021/02/07 01:04:53


 
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






JakeSiren wrote:
Thanks for the answer.

 p5freak wrote:
Thats not what the rule is saying.

I just had a look, it appears that is the wording for the Herald of Slaanesh on Hellflayer (etc) from the PA: Engine War FAQ. But I didn't see it in the Codex: Chaos Daemons FAQ updating the non-herald versions. Is there an updated datasheet that I am missing for the Hellflayer, Seeker Chariot, and Exalted Seeker Chariots?
PSYCHIC AWAKENING:ENGINE WAR Indomitus Version 1.2 wrote:*Pages 84, 85 & 86 – Lashes of Torment, Abilities
Change to read:
‘This weapon can be fired even if there are enemy units within Engagement Range of the bearer, and attacks made with this weapon can target enemy units within Engagement Range of friendly units.’
The Mounted versions from Engine War can (and those datasheets are seemingly meant to replace the ones in the codex), and those have all been errata'd.

As for the chariots in the codex, I think they got errata in the CA19 errata to change the datasheets but that seems to have been removed from the website. I guess for now the old chariots get the old rule, more GW silliness.

This message was edited 11 times. Last update was at 2021/02/07 12:45:48


 
   
Made in us
Noise Marine Terminator with Sonic Blaster





Moon Township, PA

Doesn't Lucius the Eternal have a similar worded weapon in the CSM codex?

 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: