Switch Theme:

Shooting and Charging Clarification  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in in
Fresh-Faced New User




Chicago

Starting up new after last playing in fifth edition, the ninth edition rules seem like they break a lot of concepts for how shooting and assault phases interact.

Let's say I have a unit of five models, four of whom are equipped with a bolter and bolt pistol and one of whom has a heavy bolter and bolt pistol. This unit is within eight inches of an enemy unit and did not advance this turn. Under my reading of the ninth edition rules, my unit may rapid fire its four bolters into the enemy unit, fire its heavy bolter into the enemy unit, then proceed to fire its five pistols into the enemy unit, then declare a charge against the enemy unit. Is this correct?

Furthermore, if there were two enemy units within eight inches, I could declare the bolters and heavy bolters to fire at one enemy unit, fire the pistols at the second unit, and then proceed to declare a charge against one, both, or neither enemy units, or just for fun mix and match shooting the ranged weapons at either enemy unit as I please.

These results are completely nonsensical under the fifth edition rules but the ninth edition rules are written so broadly I cannot find anything that contradicts these results.

I am consulting the basic version of the rules.

Thanks so much for any clarification you can offer.
   
Made in gb
Moustache-twirling Princeps




United Kingdom

Pistols "Cannot be shot alongside any other type of weapon." - p.17 of the Basic Rules PDF.
   
Made in in
Fresh-Faced New User




Chicago

beast_gts wrote:
Pistols "Cannot be shot alongside any other type of weapon." - p.17 of the Basic Rules PDF.


Thank you. Other than this, nothing otherwise precludes shooting with rapid fire and heavy weapons and then charging?
   
Made in gb
Battleship Captain





Bristol (UK)

 thewerlak wrote:
beast_gts wrote:
Pistols "Cannot be shot alongside any other type of weapon." - p.17 of the Basic Rules PDF.


Thank you. Other than this, nothing otherwise precludes shooting with rapid fire and heavy weapons and then charging?

Nope, other than that you're absolutely right.
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut



Glasgow

Nothing prohibits that the rules are quite different now

Weapon firing is on a model by model basis so you could fire a pistol on a Sgt and a boltgun on a trooper but you cant fire a boltgun and a pistol on the same trooper

You can multi target guns but you declare all targets of the unit before firing so you can't roll your bolt guns then see if you want to fire your other guns at the same target

You can also charge a unit you didn't shoot at

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2021/02/08 14:24:59


 
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






Just keep in mind that in 9th, if you declare a multi-charge, you must end in Engagement range of ALL units you charged, not just one of them. If you charge a unit that is 8" away and one that is 11" away, and only roll a 9, the charge fails.
   
Made in us
Morally-Flexible Malleus Hearing Whispers




I saw a youtube video by Auspex Tactics that stated you can multi charge now, but you cannot get into combat with units other than those you charged, because you cannot be "within 1" of a non charged model" at the end of a combat phase.

Did I misunderstand that to mean I can't charge, fight, then pile-into a second unit to tie them up?
Seems like a big nerf, unless I misunderstood it.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2021/02/08 15:21:49


 
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut



Glasgow

You misunderstood

The charge phase and fight phase are seperate phases

So when you declare a charge you cant end a charge within 1" of a unit you didn't charge

However you can end the fight phase within 1" of a unit you didn't charge just not declare an attack against it but remember a pile in and consolidation is on a model by model basis and must always end closer to the nearest model

   
Made in gb
Cultist of Nurgle with Open Sores





FezzikDaBullgryn wrote:
I saw a youtube video by Auspex Tactics that stated you can multi charge now, but you cannot get into combat with units other than those you charged, because you cannot be "within 1" of a non charged model" at the end of a combat phase.


A unit that has charged this turn can only fight against units that it charged or units that performed a Heroic Intervention (people often forget that last one). There are various reasons that you can end up within 1" of a non-charged model, it's not that that stops them fighting, it's a stated limitation in the "Select Targets" step of the fight phase.

FezzikDaBullgryn wrote:
Did I misunderstand that to mean I can't charge, fight, then pile-into a second unit to tie them up?
Seems like a big nerf, unless I misunderstood it.


"Pile in" comes before fighting and "consolidate" afterwards.

You can charge into one unit and then pile in and/or consolidate into other units that you did not declare a charge against (presuming the rules are met, such as piling into the closest model). But you will not be able to target those other units when it comes to fighting.

An example being that you could charge against a distant unit ignoring some closer unit that's really good at overwatch. On the charge you cannot move within 1" of that overwatch unit and you must get a least one model within engagement range of the unit you charged. Buy you can leave a trail of models in your unit behind you so that when it comes to "pile in" before fighting and/or "consolidate" after fighting some of your models can move into engagement range of those overwatchers and you've tied them down.

DR:70S+G++MB+IPw40k87/f+D++A+WD087R+T(R)DM+

https://plaguegardening.wordpress.com 
   
Made in de
Nihilistic Necron Lord






Germany

FezzikDaBullgryn wrote:
I saw a youtube video by Auspex Tactics that stated you can multi charge now, but you cannot get into combat with units other than those you charged, because you cannot be "within 1" of a non charged model" at the end of a combat phase.

Did I misunderstand that to mean I can't charge, fight, then pile-into a second unit to tie them up?
Seems like a big nerf, unless I misunderstood it.


You can pile in and consolidate towards enemy models which you didnt charge, and you can move within base contact, but you cant fight them. The restriction to not move within engagement range only applies in the movement phase.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2021/02/08 15:37:31


 
   
Made in gb
Cultist of Nurgle with Open Sores





 p5freak wrote:

You can pile in and consolidate towards enemy models which you didnt charge, and you can move within base contact, but you cant fight them. The restriction to not move within engagement range only applies in the movement phase.


You can fight them if they heroically intervened this turn, and it doesn't matter which of your units they heroically intervened into. Viable targets for units that made a charge move this turn are the unit(s) you charged and units that performed a Heroic Intervention.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2021/02/08 15:41:10


DR:70S+G++MB+IPw40k87/f+D++A+WD087R+T(R)DM+

https://plaguegardening.wordpress.com 
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut



Glasgow

I hadn't noticed that they'd changed the heroic intervention

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2021/02/08 15:47:49


 
   
Made in us
Morally-Flexible Malleus Hearing Whispers




So in 9th you can end the entire turn in base to base contact with a unit you did not charge and force them to make a fall back the next turn?

I thought they restricted it for that purpose. You can't be considered "engaged" with a unit you did not declare and successfully charge, I thought. If you are within 1" you are engaged, meaning the other unit would have to fall back or fight on their turn.
   
Made in gb
Cultist of Nurgle with Open Sores





FezzikDaBullgryn wrote:
So in 9th you can end the entire turn in base to base contact with a unit you did not charge and force them to make a fall back the next turn?


Yes.

FezzikDaBullgryn wrote:
You can't be considered "engaged" with a unit you did not declare and successfully charge, I thought. If you are within 1" you are engaged, meaning the other unit would have to fall back or fight on their turn.


No.

There is no state "engaged", there is "engagement range" and being within that has a number of effects, such as the enemy unit having to fall back or fight on their turn. There are plenty of ways of getting into "engagement range" of a unit and you don't have to have charged that unit to achieve it.

DR:70S+G++MB+IPw40k87/f+D++A+WD087R+T(R)DM+

https://plaguegardening.wordpress.com 
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut



Glasgow

Correct
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





FezzikDaBullgryn wrote:
So in 9th you can end the entire turn in base to base contact with a unit you did not charge and force them to make a fall back the next turn?

I thought they restricted it for that purpose. You can't be considered "engaged" with a unit you did not declare and successfully charge, I thought. If you are within 1" you are engaged, meaning the other unit would have to fall back or fight on their turn.


Also note that if you end up within engagement range of a unit you didn’t charge, even though you can’t fight it this turn, that unit can still fight you (provided they haven’t already fought against some other unit this turn).

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2021/02/08 21:29:42


 
   
Made in gb
Cultist of Nurgle with Open Sores





Aash wrote:
Also note that if you end up within engagement range of a unit you didn’t charge, even though you can’t fight it this turn, that unit can still fight you (provided they haven’t already fought against some other unit this turn).


Unless that unit heroically intervened, in which case they're fair game and you can attack them.

DR:70S+G++MB+IPw40k87/f+D++A+WD087R+T(R)DM+

https://plaguegardening.wordpress.com 
   
Made in us
Confessor Of Sins





Tacoma, WA, USA

Aash wrote:
FezzikDaBullgryn wrote:
So in 9th you can end the entire turn in base to base contact with a unit you did not charge and force them to make a fall back the next turn?

I thought they restricted it for that purpose. You can't be considered "engaged" with a unit you did not declare and successfully charge, I thought. If you are within 1" you are engaged, meaning the other unit would have to fall back or fight on their turn.


Also note that if you end up within engagement range of a unit you didn’t charge, even though you can’t fight it this turn, that unit can still fight you (provided they haven’t already fought against some other unit this turn).
And when we say "can" we mean "must" because you cannot end the Fight Phase until all units that Charge or are in Engagement Range of enemy units have fought.
   
Made in au
Frenzied Berserker Terminator






 thewerlak wrote:
Starting up new after last playing in fifth edition, the ninth edition rules seem like they break a lot of concepts for how shooting and assault phases interact.

...

These results are completely nonsensical under the fifth edition rules but the ninth edition rules are written so broadly I cannot find anything that contradicts these results.

Everyone seems to have answered your questions thoroughly, so my suggestion here is to approach 9th with a completely clean slate. Forget everything about 5th and try not to think about how things would have worked in previous editions, because everything changed in 8th from the ground up.

Read the Core Rules, read the Errata, and only take those into account when trying to figure out how things work (or how you think they "should" work). Leave preconceptions from previous editions at the door and everything will make much more sense.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: