Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2021/02/26 12:20:56
Subject: SW: Morkai's bolt timing in group?
|
 |
Liche Priest Hierophant
|
I use Thane of the Retuine to give my SW Grey Hunter sergant the Morkai's Teeth relic.
Anyway, I started blasting. Does the timing of the bolts mean that the sergant cna buff his own squad?
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2021/02/26 12:31:34
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2021/02/26 12:32:48
Subject: SW: Morkai's bolt timing in group?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Would love to help, but don’t know those rules, can you quote the relevant rules?
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2021/02/26 12:33:55
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2021/02/26 12:48:54
Subject: Re:SW: Morkai's bolt timing in group?
|
 |
Liche Priest Hierophant
|
The wonders of modern science.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2021/02/26 13:02:00
Subject: SW: Morkai's bolt timing in group?
|
 |
Never Forget Isstvan!
|
Since the unit would all be firing their bolters at the same time, it would not effect any of the bolter attacks.
It would possibly effect any other weapons the squad fired after the bolters though, such as a thrown grenade, or plasma gun they might have.
|
JOIN MY CRUSADE and gain 4000 RT points!
http://www.eternalcrusade.com/account/sign-up/?ref_code=EC-PLCIKYCABW8PG |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2021/02/26 13:35:17
Subject: SW: Morkai's bolt timing in group?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
There is no requirement to "fast roll" attacks. You do have to resolve attacks by weapons with the same profile against the same target before moving to a different profile or a different target, but these can be resolved one by one if you prefer.
Targets are declared before attacks are resolved, but as each attack is resolved individually, I see no reason why Morkai's Teeth Bolts can't be used to benefit its own unit if it is resolved before the other attacks.
Unless I've overlooked something that says otherwise in the Rare Rules section FAQ/Errata?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2021/02/26 14:21:17
Subject: SW: Morkai's bolt timing in group?
|
 |
Norn Queen
|
Eihnlazer wrote:Since the unit would all be firing their bolters at the same time, it would not effect any of the bolter attacks. It would possibly effect any other weapons the squad fired after the bolters though, such as a thrown grenade, or plasma gun they might have.
Only if you "fast roll", which you are not required to do (and the rules themselves are explicitly written under the assumption that you are not fast rolling and following the actual attack sequence), so you can fire the Pack Leader's bolter first just fine, the same way you can fire a T'au Markerlight first to benefit the rest of the guns in the squad.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2021/02/26 14:21:51
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2021/02/26 14:43:12
Subject: SW: Morkai's bolt timing in group?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
Glasgow
|
Morkai bolts are a different profile if used so you can't fast roll it with the others
Target declaration being at the same time is irrelevant
If it fires first the benefit occurs
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2021/02/26 14:53:43
Subject: Re:SW: Morkai's bolt timing in group?
|
 |
Nihilistic Necron Lord
|
Eihnlazer wrote:Since the unit would all be firing their bolters at the same time, it would not effect any of the bolter attacks.
Shooting does not happen at the same time. Otherwise it wouldnt be possible to kill a transport with a lascannon, and shoot the bolters at the disembarked unit. Nothing in 40k happens at the same time. If two or more rules would be resolved at the same time, sequencing is used, and the player whose turn it is would decide the order of operations. Yes, the sarge can buff his squad with the bolts.
|
This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2021/02/26 14:56:26
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2021/02/26 15:29:57
Subject: Re:SW: Morkai's bolt timing in group?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
Glasgow
|
p5freak wrote: Eihnlazer wrote:Since the unit would all be firing their bolters at the same time, it would not effect any of the bolter attacks.
Shooting does not happen at the same time. Otherwise it wouldnt be possible to kill a transport with a lascannon, and shoot the bolters at the disembarked unit. Nothing in 40k happens at the same time. If two or more rules would be resolved at the same time, sequencing is used, and the player whose turn it is would decide the order of operations. Yes, the sarge can buff his squad with the bolts.
Its not possible to do that targetting happens at the same time and at that point you cannot target the embarked unit.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2021/02/26 16:39:25
Subject: Re:SW: Morkai's bolt timing in group?
|
 |
Norn Queen
|
U02dah4 wrote: p5freak wrote: Eihnlazer wrote:Since the unit would all be firing their bolters at the same time, it would not effect any of the bolter attacks.
Shooting does not happen at the same time. Otherwise it wouldnt be possible to kill a transport with a lascannon, and shoot the bolters at the disembarked unit. Nothing in 40k happens at the same time. If two or more rules would be resolved at the same time, sequencing is used, and the player whose turn it is would decide the order of operations. Yes, the sarge can buff his squad with the bolts. Its not possible to do that targetting happens at the same time and at that point you cannot target the embarked unit.
He is (I assume) talking about two different units. I can use a Lascannon from Unit A to crack a transport, then shoot the gooey innards with Bolters from unit B.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2021/02/26 16:39:45
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2021/02/26 16:42:14
Subject: Re:SW: Morkai's bolt timing in group?
|
 |
Nihilistic Necron Lord
|
Yes, i meant two different units. Of course you cant target a unit which isnt on the battlefield.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2021/02/26 16:43:04
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2021/02/27 22:33:14
Subject: SW: Morkai's bolt timing in group?
|
 |
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain
|
Yeah this works fine OP. Fire Morkai first then the rest of squad get the rerolls if it hits. It’s like a Markerlight.
|
Stormonu wrote:For me, the joy is in putting some good-looking models on the board and playing out a fantasy battle - not arguing over the poorly-made rules of some 3rd party who neither has any power over my play nor will be visiting me (and my opponent) to ensure we are "playing by the rules" |
|
 |
 |
|