Switch Theme:

Manoeuvrable  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in de
Nihilistic Necron Lord






Germany

Does the second pivot cost movement, or not ?

Manoeuvrable:
Each time this model makes a Normal Move, Advances or Falls Back, first pivot it on the spot up to 90° (this does not contribute to how far the model moves), then move the model straight forwards. It can pivot up to 90° one more time, at any point, during the move.
   
Made in gb
Lord of the Fleet






London

I can see where this is going to go.

- The majority of viewers will probably say no as the first one didn't cost movement. You'll bark out "citation please" like a trained seal and it'll go back and forth until it's locked like everything else you ask on here.
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

 p5freak wrote:
Does the second pivot cost movement, or not ?

Manoeuvrable:
Each time this model makes a Normal Move, Advances or Falls Back, first pivot it on the spot up to 90° (this does not contribute to how far the model moves), then move the model straight forwards. It can pivot up to 90° one more time, at any point, during the move.
It explicitly says the first pivot does not contribute to how far the model moves.

There is nothing like that is said about the second pivot, so it is not the same as the first. You must take movement into account as normal.

P.S. why would you think the second pivot does not cost movement? Are there any rules that say it does not?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2022/10/25 10:03:16


"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut




The second would cost movement. The basic rules tell us pivoting models costs movement and the rule cited only mentions the first pivot being free.
   
Made in ca
Fully-charged Electropriest






Whenever you move a model, you can pivot it and/or change its position on the battlefield along any path, but no part of the model’s base (or hull) can be moved across the bases (or hulls) of other models, nor can any part of that model (including its base) cross the edge of the battlefield. You can also rotate any movable part of the model (such as turrets and sponsons) when it is moved. The distance a model moves is measured using the part of the model’s base (or hull) that moves furthest along its path (including parts that rotate or pivot).


As the rule says the first is free, the second will cost movement measured from the part of the model that moves furthest. That means that a very large model will cost more thwn a small one.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2022/10/25 22:28:59


 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: