Switch Theme:

Unmodified hit rolls  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User





The rules say "Unmodified hit rolls, wound rolls and saving throws of 1 always fail. Unmodified hit rolls and wound rolls of 6 always succeed."

The rules are unclear what unmodified means though. Is it meant to be plays that a 1 showing on the die always fails regardless of any modifications that may apply to the roll. OR does a die roll of 1 that is subject to being modified by a rule (like +1 to save rolls from light cover) succeed if the Sv characteristic is 2+.

I think it is clear that the intention is that (to use a different term) that a natural 1 always fails and a natural 6 on hit and wound rolls always succeed. I really wish that was the wording of the rule if that is the intention.


This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2023/02/26 00:14:15


 
   
Made in fi
Longtime Dakkanaut






Unmodified roll is what you see on the die, before any rules are applied.

#ConvertEverything blog with loyalist Death Guard in true and Epic scales. Also Titans and killer robots! C&C welcome.
https://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/717557.page

Do you like narrative gaming? Ongoing Imp vs. PDF rebellion campaign reports here:
https://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/786958.page

 
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User





Thank you for your response!

do you know if there is a place I can point to in the book that says this?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2023/02/24 01:49:51


 
   
Made in ca
Secretive Dark Angels Veteran



Canada

SarnXero wrote:
Thank you for your response!

do you know if there is a place I can point to in the book that says this?


Welcome aboard!

The MRB page 200 has you (the header is Dice). It even has a bullet about Unmodified dice. Unmodified means just that. Before any modifiers are added. So an unmodified 1 fails and an unmodified 6 succeeds in the context of your question.

I think that the mods prefer that you ask rules questions in YHDC (You Make Da Call).

All you have to do is fire three rounds a minute, and stand 
   
Made in fi
Locked in the Tower of Amareo





SarnXero wrote:
The rules say "Unmodified hit rolls, wound rolls and saving throws of 1 always fail. Unmodified hit rolls and wound rolls of 6 always succeed."

The rules are unclear what unmodified means though. Is it meant to be plays that a 1 showing on the die always fails regardless of any modifications that may apply to the roll. OR does a die roll of 1 that is subject to being modified by a rule (like +1 to save rolls from light cover) succeed if the Sv characteristic is 2+.

I think it is clear that the intention is that (to use a different term) that a natural 1 always fails and a natural 6 on hit and wound rolls always succeed. I really wish that was the wording of the rule if that is the intention.




If you add modifier then is that unmodified can't be more clearer term and lot more natural than say natural 1.
   
Made in us
Confessor Of Sins





Tacoma, WA, USA

I think you meant to say "if you apply a modifier, than it isn't unmodified"
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: