Switch Theme:

Reaper Tempest Launcher  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut



Brotherhood of Blood

The new Dark Reaper Exarch Tempest is a G36 weapon.  Does that mean it can fire indirect or does it need line of site.  If you can fire indirect should you use the artillery dice or the Exarchs BS skill to hit.  I perused thru the BBB and couldn't find clarification to substantiate either way.
   
Made in us
Plastictrees






Salem, MA

It fires indirect, doesn't need line of sight, but doesn't use the exarch's BS. Instead it works like any other Guess weapon: place the template, check the range, roll scatter. Also it causes pinning.

"The complete or partial destruction of the enemy must be regarded as the sole object of all engagements.... Direct annihilation of the enemy's forces must always be the dominant consideration." Karl von Clausewitz 
   
Made in us
Master of the Hunt





Angmar

Check out Barrage and Multiple Barrage on pages 31-32 of the BGB.

The Tempest is a "Heavy 2, Blast" Multiple Barrage weapon (unless something changed with the final printing).

You never roll to hit. And you can fire indirectly.
Simply place the blast marker over a unit, then check to see if you are in range. If you are not, you miss. If you are, check LOS. If you are in LOS, roll scatter + 1d6. If you are not in LOS, roll scatter + 2d6.

After placing the first blast, roll scatter and place the second blast in contact with the first one in the direction of the scatter. Repeat with the third shot if you use his +1 shot ability.

"It is by caffeine alone I set my mind in motion.
It is by the seed of Arabica that thoughts acquire speed, the teeth acquire stains, the stains become a warning.
It is by caffeine alone I set my mind in motion."
 
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

Posted By blue loki on 01/24/2007 12:10 PM
The Tempest is a "Heavy 2, Blast" Multiple Barrage weapon (unless something changed with the final printing).

We had that argument back when the codex was released... The multiple Barrage rules deal with multiple weapons, not with one weapon firing multiple shots.

In game, I'd probably treat it as a multiple barrage... but it's not actually supported by the rules.

 
   
Made in us
Master of the Hunt





Angmar

Hmm, I noticed that but figured it would apply anyway.

I suppose by RAW it would fire as two completely independent 'initial' scatters then.

Eh, as I don't play Eldar anyway, I'd let my opponent use either one (but not both!). Each method has it's benefits and drawbacks.

"It is by caffeine alone I set my mind in motion.
It is by the seed of Arabica that thoughts acquire speed, the teeth acquire stains, the stains become a warning.
It is by caffeine alone I set my mind in motion."
 
   
Made in us
Plastictrees






Salem, MA

two completely independent 'initial' scatters


Or three with Fast Shot power.

"The complete or partial destruction of the enemy must be regarded as the sole object of all engagements.... Direct annihilation of the enemy's forces must always be the dominant consideration." Karl von Clausewitz 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut



Brotherhood of Blood

Too complicated. I'll just stick with the regular reaper laucher.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: