Switch Theme:

Eldrad... divination and psychic powers in vehicles.  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Nurgle Chosen Marine on a Palanquin





Livermore, Ca

1.  Can Eldrad can use his divination even if he is deployed in a vehicle? I see no reason why not.

2. What limitations are on his psychic powers from inside a vehicle? I gather he can cast fortune on himself & anyunit he is attached to . Or guide on himself & any unit he is attached to, or even on the transport he is inside of. But as there are no firing ports on eldar vehicles he can't use his abilities thru the vehicle to affect other units that require a target or los. So Doom and Eldritch Storm are not usable at all, and others function with the as before noted limitations?

3. What limitations exist for Eldrad with divination? Can he reposition himself away from a unit he is attached to? Move a unit in or out of a transport?

   
Made in jp
Fate-Controlling Farseer





Fort Campbell

1. You get Eldrads Diviniation by having him in the army, not on the table. So yes, you get the ability if he's in a vehichle.

2. No. As per GW FAQ, if the model is in a vehichle, then he is not on the table so he cannot use his abilities period.

3. That I believe would be something you'd need to come to an agreement with your opponents on. The text just says "reposition". I would say yes, but it's probably open for argument.

Full Frontal Nerdity 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




agreed with the prev poster on 1, and 2

i do believe it says units.. and as far as i know an ic is still a unit , however once he is joined to another unit he is no longer an ic per se but an ic within a unit so no i dont think you can seperate him...

take a shot and call gw and see what they say.. i know i know its a crap shoot but what the hell

We have better prices and better service
check us out
www.dropzoneonline.ecrater.com 
   
Made in us
Nurgle Chosen Marine on a Palanquin





Livermore, Ca

I wonder if there is a better FAQ, but here it is.. apparently if you have a firing port you can use psychic abilities or some psychic abilities. The question is .. if you need a fireing port for the shooty type of psychic abilites... is it reasonable to use non-shooty type psychic abilites to affect yourself only if you don't have a fireing port? aka casting fortune on yourself (I did say reasonable) The FAQ is gospel for the specific question it answers and doesn't necessarily cover every aspect of psychic abilites and transports (it even says "unless diffferently specified")

Q. Can psychic powers (like Fear of the Darkness) or
other special rules (Imperial Guard Officers? Leadership)
and pieces of wargear (like Psychic Hoods) be used
from within vehicles by models that are being
transported?
A. As transported models are not physically on the table,
they cannot do anything (unless differently specified).
The only exception is firing weapons (and using psychic
powers and abilities that replace firing a weapon) from
one of the vehicle?s Fire Point or from an open-topped
transport. On the positive side, transported troops
cannot be targeted by the enemy (the enemy can of
course target their transport, and the passengers may
suffer consequences as a result).
   
Made in us
Fate-Controlling Farseer





Fort Campbell

It does specify. In the answer, look at the very first sentence. "they cannot do anything"

Full Frontal Nerdity 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: