Switch Theme:

Broodlord retinue Fleet of Claw question  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




Hello,

I played a 1500 point game last night with my Tyranids against Blood Angels.

I infiltrated a Broodlord with a retinue of 6 Genestealers about 15 inches away (behind cover)from some Blood Angels.

I roll difficult terrain and move 6 inches through the cover and then go to roll my "fleet of claw" move during the shooting phase and my opponent tells me that I can't do this because the Broodlord doesn't get any of the benefits of his retinue and vice versa. I explain that I understand this and I'm only going to fleet the Genestealers but keep the unit in coherency. He let me do this, but then when I got into assault range off the 'fleet' roll he was very upset and wanted me to find out if the retinue Genestealers can Fleet of Claw at all.

Thanks,

Frog

   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




Unfortunately, the universal special rule for Fleet (p. 74) has an asterisk next to it, denoting that a unit with this rule loses it if it is joined by an independent character who does not have it.

 


"I didn't say I was ATTACKING the Umber Hulk. I said I was THINKING about it." -- Jimbo Jones as one of "The 12 Types of Fantasy Gamers" in "Comic Book Guy's Book of Pop Culture" 
   
Made in us
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Los Angeles, CA


Yep Frogczar you done gone and cheated. As long as the broodlord lives, he and his retinue cannot fleet.





I play (click on icons to see pics): DQ:70+S++G(FAQ)M++B-I++Pw40k92/f-D+++A+++/areWD104R+T(D)DM+++
yakface's 40K rule #1: Although the rules allow you to use modeling to your advantage, how badly do you need to win your toy soldier games?
yakface's 40K rule #2: Friends don't let friends start a MEQ army.
yakface's 40K rule #3: Codex does not ALWAYS trump the rulebook, so please don't say that!
Waaagh Dakka: click the banner to learn more! 
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




Well at least it was a mistake and not an intentional cheat.

This does seem to limit the usefulness of the broodlord and his infiltrating retinue somewhat.

 

Thanks for the replies!

   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: