Switch Theme:

Two rules questions: one on Path to glory, one in regards to Endless Spells  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Androgynous Daemon Prince of Slaanesh





Norwalk, Connecticut

Okay, Path to Glory question: do you use all the normal rules except command traits/artifacts from your book? Or do you get access to those too? I noticed my Hedonite book mentioned still getting depravity points, but what else do/don’t I have access to?

Endless Spells: Endless Spells DO count as “Spells”, right? They’re just a specific type of spell. I’m asking in regards to the Balewind Vortex’s range extender.

Because a Contorted Epitome that plops on top of a Vortex and subsequently casts the Mesmerizing Mirror can drop it right in the enemies battleline, move it close to heroes if they aren’t spread out (and bunched heroes are a thing from locus buffs) and potentially ruin peoples’ days. Also, the reading of the mirror says that when it’s cast AND any time it moves you roll for heroes within 6”. So the turn it casts, if they’re close enough, you potentially hit them twice: “after this model is set up, and after it has moved, roll 6 dice...” So that mirror after being slingshotted by a Vortex...

Reality is a nice place to visit, but I'd hate to live there.

Manchu wrote:I'm a Catholic. We eat our God.


Due to work, I can usually only ship any sales or trades out on Saturday morning. Please trade/purchase with this in mind.  
   
Made in us
Clousseau




We dont let in summoning. After that we unlock spells and abilities with glory points.
   
Made in us
Humming Great Unclean One of Nurgle






Endless spells do not count as regular spells. Note how rules say "...spell or endless spell..."

You also cannot use endless spells in PtG unless they have been added to your warband (see the Malign Sorcery supplement).

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2019/06/16 19:21:12


Road to Renown! It's like classic Path to Glory, but repaired, remastered, expanded! https://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/778170.page

I chose an avatar I feel best represents the quality of my post history.

I try to view Warhammer as more of a toolbox with examples than fully complete games. 
   
Made in us
Clousseau




I missed that completely, thanks for the update!
   
Made in us
Androgynous Daemon Prince of Slaanesh





Norwalk, Connecticut

Ninth, could you point me to the page that states that? Main rulebook or malign portents, I’m hoping.

The malign sorcery book just states that “endless spells are spells with models that are known to all wizards in your army if you paid points for them” (paraphrased). It flat out calls endless spells to be “spells”. Yes, I know some things specify spell or endless spell for the purposes of dispelling and such, because dispelling an endless spell works differently since it’s physically in play.

Edit-never mind, the designer’s commentary addresses that you cannot do it. Ah well, it was worth a shot.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2019/06/16 20:15:42


Reality is a nice place to visit, but I'd hate to live there.

Manchu wrote:I'm a Catholic. We eat our God.


Due to work, I can usually only ship any sales or trades out on Saturday morning. Please trade/purchase with this in mind.  
   
Made in us
Humming Great Unclean One of Nurgle






I can't recall it being specifically stated, but the Malign Sorcery faq (designer's commentary) has several questions which make it pretty clear. The second one calls out that modifiers to the distances of spells do not affect endless spells.

Road to Renown! It's like classic Path to Glory, but repaired, remastered, expanded! https://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/778170.page

I chose an avatar I feel best represents the quality of my post history.

I try to view Warhammer as more of a toolbox with examples than fully complete games. 
   
 
Forum Index » Warhammer: Age of Sigmar
Go to: