When you assign your attacks, the attacks will resolve, even if a previous attack would have removed models that were previously within range/sight.
For shooting, let's assume there's a squad of Battle Sisters behind a ruin, and a squad of 4 Marines with bolters and a Heavy Bolter that can see them; but they can only see 1 model of the Battle Sisters squad. In this case, you assign ALL your attacks (the bolter shots, plus the Heavy Bolter shots) before you roll any dice. The rules are written such that attacks happen one at a time (though "fast rolling" lots of dice together is the standard method). If the very first shot of a bolter lands a hit, successfully wounds, and then the owner of the Battle Sister squad fails their save, they would remove 1 model. If that wound was assigned to the Battle Sister that was visible, and that model is removed, the remainder of the shots from the Marine squad are NOT wasted. Instead, they continue to be resolved, one at a time. This can lead to Battle Sisters dying that were not visible to the rest of the squad.
Same goes for close combat. So long as a unit still has models left in it that attacks were assigned to, that unit can still suffer the attacks even if they are no longer within engagement range once those attacks happen. For example, say you had a unit of 10 Hormagants that were charged by a unit of 5 Assault Marines, and after making all your pile-in moves, only an Assault Marine with a Chainsword and a Sergeant with a Power Fist were eligible to make attacks with. In this situation, if you resolve the Chainsword attacks first, and the Tyranid player removed enough Hormagants such that the Sergeant was no longer within range, the Sergeant would STILL make his attacks, and resolve them, against the Hormagant squad. This is because the unit of Hormagants were within range of the Sergeant when the attacks were assigned, and they can still lose models to the Sergeant's attacks.
Hope this helps!
|