Switch Theme:

A cloud of smoke that shoots?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Sslimey Sslyth






Busy somewhere, airin' out the skin jobs.

Smoke Launchers- Vehicle fires them off "During its Move". Vehicle counts as obscured during enemy's next "firing Phase".


Get first turn
Scout Move Baal Predator 18" up.
Fire off Smoke during this "Move"
Begin Turn
Move/Shoot Baal Predator at enemy
Enemy begins turn
Fires at "Obscured" Baal Predator



?

I have never failed to seize on 4+ in my life!

The best 40k page in the Universe
COMMORRAGH 
   
Made in us
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Mesopotamia. The Kingdom Where we Secretly Reign.

Yeah, I think that about covers it.

Smoke Launchers say that they're used after the vehicle moves. I don't see why this wouldn't apply to scout moves.

Drink deeply and lustily from the foamy draught of evil.
W: 1.756 Quadrillion L: 0 D: 2
Haters gon' hate. 
   
Made in us
Guard Heavy Weapon Crewman





'Move' is ambiguous. But I expect that at least 80% of the players you'll meet will take it as 'Move'(ment phase), rather than 'Move'(ment). There is no movement phase in Scouting, there's just some movements. Now, whether you feel like arguing and forcing your point on those 80 is up to you.

No, I don't have it on a page of RAW.
   
Made in jp
[MOD]
Anti-piracy Officer






Somewhere in south-central England.

SRB p.62 Smoke Launchers
Once per game, after completing its move, a vehicle with smoke launchers can trigger them.

The vehicle may not fire any of its weapons in the same turn as it used its smoke launchers, but will count as obscured in the next enemy Shooting phase, receiving a 4+ cover save.

(Edited for length.)

I'm writing a load of fiction. My latest story starts here... This is the index of all the stories...

We're not very big on official rules. Rules lead to people looking for loopholes. What's here is about it. 
   
Made in us
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Mesopotamia. The Kingdom Where we Secretly Reign.

The rules don't say anything about the Movement Phase.

On page 62 of the BRB it says that they are deployed "after completing it's move." Unless a Scout Move isn't a move, I think there's a pretty solid case for it.

Ninja'd!!!!!!1!

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/05/01 14:08:15


Drink deeply and lustily from the foamy draught of evil.
W: 1.756 Quadrillion L: 0 D: 2
Haters gon' hate. 
   
Made in us
Slaanesh Havoc with Blastmaster



Orklando

But claiming you can shoot and then still receive a cover save is just as bad as saying you can turboboost in the scout move and then still get a cover save even if you act normally on yoru turn, i.e. will get you laughed at for trying to pull it off even if it is an oversight by the rules writers.

But nonetheless you are allowed to use your smoke launchers in your scout move, as it only specifies after a "move" rather than in the Movement Phase. So if your opponent goes first you can have a 4+ cover save.
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





Indiana

Its because it says "move" not Movement or Movement Phase.



​ ​​ ​​ ​​ 
   
Made in us
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Mesopotamia. The Kingdom Where we Secretly Reign.

Hmmm...

Now that I really see what the OP is getting at, it doesn't seem right. I guess it helps to read the thread closely.

Drink deeply and lustily from the foamy draught of evil.
W: 1.756 Quadrillion L: 0 D: 2
Haters gon' hate. 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





Indiana

And the OP is off it says during its move not during its Move.

Actually quite a big difference.



​ ​​ ​​ ​​ 
   
Made in jp
[MOD]
Anti-piracy Officer






Somewhere in south-central England.

I would argue that the scout move is part of the pre-game set-up.

The game does not begin until the first player turn, so the phrase "once per game" precludes the option to pop smoke during scout moves.

I'm writing a load of fiction. My latest story starts here... This is the index of all the stories...

We're not very big on official rules. Rules lead to people looking for loopholes. What's here is about it. 
   
Made in us
Foolproof Falcon Pilot






Kilkrazy wrote:I would argue that the scout move is part of the pre-game set-up.

The game does not begin until the first player turn, so the phrase "once per game" precludes the option to pop smoke during scout moves.

+1

   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





Indiana

I can see where you are coming from - but I would argue the game starts as soon as models are deployed and you start moving them.



​ ​​ ​​ ​​ 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




You would be wrong, as Step 5: Start the Game! is after scout moves.
   
Made in jp
[MOD]
Anti-piracy Officer






Somewhere in south-central England.

GMMStudios wrote:I can see where you are coming from - but I would argue the game starts as soon as models are deployed and you start moving them.


Your position is logical however SRB p86 says that Start the Game comes after Deploy forces.

(Deployment of infiltrating and scouting units clearly isn't within the normal turn sequence.)

I'm writing a load of fiction. My latest story starts here... This is the index of all the stories...

We're not very big on official rules. Rules lead to people looking for loopholes. What's here is about it. 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





Indiana

I understand that. I'm just not sure if we can get that literal with it.

I'd like to hear gwars opinion where the heck is he?



​ ​​ ​​ ​​ 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







I just woke up.

I agree that it says move, and not movement phase, so it is unclear (unlike Flat out and Scout Moves).

However, the rule also says "The vehicle may not fire any of its weapons in the same turn as it used its smoke launchers, which could be interpreted that you cannot use the smoke launchers outside the normal turn sequence, which the scout move is.

-Shrug- Chalk this one up to GW being run by lobotomized chimps rather than having 3 or 4 internet fans proofread their products.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/05/01 20:04:44


Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





Indiana

Never thought about the turn bit it is iffy



​ ​​ ​​ ​​ 
   
Made in us
Incorporating Wet-Blending






Glendale, AZ

Gwar! wrote:I just woke up.

I agree that it says move, and not movement phase, so it is unclear (unlike Flat out and Scout Moves).

However, the rule also says "The vehicle may not fire any of its weapons in the same turn as it used its smoke launchers, which could be interpreted that you cannot use the smoke launchers outside the normal turn sequence, which the scout move is.

-Shrug- Chalk this one up to GW being run by lobotomized chimps rather than having 3 or 4 internet fans proofread their products.


I agree here.
Either the Scout move is:
1. NOT part of any turn, in which case Smoke launchers may not be used
Or
2. The scout move is included as part of turn one, in which case the launchers may be used afterwards, but firing may not be conducted by the vehicle until the start of that player's second turn shooting phase.

I would be inclined to play it as 2.

Mannahnin wrote:A lot of folks online (and in emails in other parts of life) use pretty mangled English. The idea is that it takes extra effort and time to write properly, and they’d rather save the time. If you can still be understood, what’s the harm? While most of the time a sloppy post CAN be understood, the use of proper grammar, punctuation, and spelling is generally seen as respectable and desirable on most forums. It demonstrates an effort made to be understood, and to make your post an easy and pleasant read. By making this effort, you can often elicit more positive responses from the community, and instantly mark yourself as someone worth talking to.
insaniak wrote: Every time someone threatens violence over the internet as a result of someone's hypothetical actions at the gaming table, the earth shakes infinitisemally in its orbit as millions of eyeballs behind millions of monitors all roll simultaneously.


 
   
Made in us
Death-Dealing Dark Angels Devastator




USA

I think as long as you are getting the 4+ cover save from the smoke you should not be able to fire other weapons on the tank, just like Lordhat's #2.

Cadians
Dark Angels
Dusk Raiders
Imperial Fists 
   
Made in us
Foolproof Falcon Pilot






Pg 86 makes it clear that the game does not start until AFTER infiltrate and scout moves. (Step 5)

If we follow the steps we see:
1. Scout moves do not happen during the game; they happen before it starts
2. Smoke can be used once during the game.
3. Since the game has not yet started when you make your Scout move, you cannot pop smoke.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/05/02 03:12:31


   
Made in jp
[MOD]
Anti-piracy Officer






Somewhere in south-central England.

GMMStudios wrote:I understand that. I'm just not sure if we can get that literal with it.

I'd like to hear gwars opinion where the heck is he?


The way of interpreting it depends partly on the player's attitude.

In my view, the smoke rules are clearly intended to allow a vehicle to defend itself with a free guaranteed cover save, and have the disadvantage of not being able to shoot in the same turn. The proposed scout move smoke pop before Turn 1 gets around this disadvantage, so in my view it should not be permitted.

The p.86 Organising and Battle table is given as straight RAW that supports my interpretation. Obviously it only works if people accept my interpretation of the table.

This brings us two steps away from the in-game effect. People have to take up opposing positions on their interpretations of two rules, in order to support the effect they want to see in game.

I'm writing a load of fiction. My latest story starts here... This is the index of all the stories...

We're not very big on official rules. Rules lead to people looking for loopholes. What's here is about it. 
   
Made in us
Painlord Titan Princeps of Slaanesh






Dallas, TX

I'm just glad it says "after its move". That means I CAN decide to use smoke launchers during the shooting phase, after finding my tank has nothing to shoot at and might as well.

Obviously I can't fire weapons then use smoke [as I can't fire in the turn I use smoke] but since shooting phase is still after my movement, it's nice to still have the option to fire smoke well into the shooting phase, rather than having to make that call before rolling dice.

40k Armies I play:


Glory for Slaanesh!

 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







Spellbound wrote:I'm just glad it says "after its move". That means I CAN decide to use smoke launchers during the shooting phase, after finding my tank has nothing to shoot at and might as well.

Obviously I can't fire weapons then use smoke [as I can't fire in the turn I use smoke] but since shooting phase is still after my movement, it's nice to still have the option to fire smoke well into the shooting phase, rather than having to make that call before rolling dice.
No, it means that as soon as you stop moving it, you have to choose to use the smoke THEN, before moving another unit.

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
Painlord Titan Princeps of Slaanesh






Dallas, TX

Is that RAW?

40k Armies I play:


Glory for Slaanesh!

 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







Spellbound wrote:Is that RAW?
Yes it is RaW. "After it's move" is not the same as "after it's movement phase" or "after it has moved". After it's move means exactly that, after it's actual move, it must declare to use the Smoke then.

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in au
Trustworthy Shas'vre






Hmm. I just thought of an interesting situation.
When is a deep striking vehicle allowed to use its smoke launchers? And how would this interact with Daemonhunters Mystics?
   
Made in us
Mutilatin' Mad Dok






Columbia, SC

Hmm... that's never been an issue before, as Drop Pods don't have launchers. Thanks, Blood Angels!

Very interesting.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/05/03 07:47:20





 
   
Made in us
Angry Blood Angel Assault marine






In your thread, trolling.

Slightly off topic here, but if you can pop smoke in the scout move, then wouldn't that justify popping smoke in a consolidation move? My understanding is that my dreadnoughts can not consolidate and pop smoke. So I don't see how you can scout move and pop smoke.

 
   
Made in us
Incorporating Wet-Blending






Glendale, AZ

What do Scout Moves have to do with consolidation?

Mannahnin wrote:A lot of folks online (and in emails in other parts of life) use pretty mangled English. The idea is that it takes extra effort and time to write properly, and they’d rather save the time. If you can still be understood, what’s the harm? While most of the time a sloppy post CAN be understood, the use of proper grammar, punctuation, and spelling is generally seen as respectable and desirable on most forums. It demonstrates an effort made to be understood, and to make your post an easy and pleasant read. By making this effort, you can often elicit more positive responses from the community, and instantly mark yourself as someone worth talking to.
insaniak wrote: Every time someone threatens violence over the internet as a result of someone's hypothetical actions at the gaming table, the earth shakes infinitisemally in its orbit as millions of eyeballs behind millions of monitors all roll simultaneously.


 
   
Made in au
Stormin' Stompa






YO DAKKA DAKKA!

Gwar! wrote:I just woke up.

...

-Shrug- Chalk this one up to GW being run by lobotomized chimps rather than having 3 or 4 internet fans proofread their products.


You sort of wear out the premise when you apply it to absolutely everything.

The Scout USR states that "...any scouts may make a normal move. This is done exactly as in their Movement phase, except that during this move... (remain 12" away etc)"

A scout move is definitely a move. I'm still not convinced, though, and am erring towards Kilkrazy's opinion. If the game hasn't started, it can't be done.

With regards to consolidation and the like, anything that is a move is probably a move. More interestingly, though, I didn't know that you had become a proponent of a restrictive ruleset, Gwar! Maybe I'm thinking of some other robot that likes drinking and stealing things...
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: