Switch Theme:

empty drop pod question  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in dk
Regular Dakkanaut





you can buy a razorback or rhino as a dedicated transport, and then choose not to start the game within it. Can a unit choose, not to embark on the drop pod, they've taken as a dedicated transport. And then just deep strike the drop pod empty?

Painting a bunch of stuff.. sometimes commisions sometimes for my own collection, check it out at
https://www.facebook.com/333painting/
 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







nielsen333 wrote:you can buy a razorback or rhino as a dedicated transport, and then choose not to start the game within it. Can a unit choose, not to embark on the drop pod, they've taken as a dedicated transport. And then just deep strike the drop pod empty?
Yes, you can.

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in dk
Regular Dakkanaut





thx

Painting a bunch of stuff.. sometimes commisions sometimes for my own collection, check it out at
https://www.facebook.com/333painting/
 
   
Made in us
Committed Chaos Cult Marine





What about spore pods?

And whilst you're pointing and shouting at the boogeyman in the corner, you're missing the burglar coming in through the window.

Well, Duh! Because they had a giant Mining ship. If you had a giant mining ship you would drill holes in everything too, before you'd destory it with a black hole 
   
Made in us
Infiltrating Hawwa'





Australia

nielsen333 wrote:you can buy a razorback or rhino as a dedicated transport, and then choose not to start the game within it. Can a unit choose, not to embark on the drop pod, they've taken as a dedicated transport. And then just deep strike the drop pod empty?


The real question: Why would you do that?

DakkaDakka.com does not allow users to delete their accounts or content. We don't apologize for this.  
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







Che-Vito wrote:
nielsen333 wrote:you can buy a razorback or rhino as a dedicated transport, and then choose not to start the game within it. Can a unit choose, not to embark on the drop pod, they've taken as a dedicated transport. And then just deep strike the drop pod empty?


The real question: Why would you do that?
Simple. It's Dawn of War, you are going first. Instead of sending a lone squad down to their doom, you send the pod and have them walk on.

Or, you take 3 Pods, so you can send down 1 empty one on turn 1 and have the other two come in later when they will be more useful.

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in gb
Blood-Raging Khorne Berserker






sexiest_hero wrote:What about spore pods?


Yep. Nothing in the Spore pod rules forces the unit to be in the pod when it lands.
   
Made in se
Ferocious Black Templar Castellan






Sweden

Note that if playing as Black Templars, you have to come in with the pod, so no being sneaky there.

For thirteen years I had a dog with fur the darkest black. For thirteen years he was my friend, oh how I want him back. 
   
Made in gb
Lord of the Fleet






Che-Vito wrote:The real question: Why would you do that?


Or, you may want to hold tac squads in reserve for late game objective grabs.
Or, you may want all of your squads to arrive as quickly as possible so you buy dread pods (that you've no intention of using) to increase the number of pods that arrive on turn one.
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







Soup and a roll wrote:
sexiest_hero wrote:What about spore pods?


Yep. Nothing in the Spore pod rules forces the unit to be in the pod when it lands.
Wrong. Nothing allows you to send the Spod down empty, so you cannot.

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
Homicidal Veteran Blood Angel Assault Marine





Massachusetts

Gwar! wrote:
Che-Vito wrote:
nielsen333 wrote:you can buy a razorback or rhino as a dedicated transport, and then choose not to start the game within it. Can a unit choose, not to embark on the drop pod, they've taken as a dedicated transport. And then just deep strike the drop pod empty?


The real question: Why would you do that?
Simple. It's Dawn of War, you are going first. Instead of sending a lone squad down to their doom, you send the pod and have them walk on.

Or, you take 3 Pods, so you can send down 1 empty one on turn 1 and have the other two come in later when they will be more useful.


Unless I'm mistaken the drop pod assault rules state that you round up, therefore if you take three pods two of them are automatically coming in on turn one.
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







Yes, you are right. I am a herpaderp. Change that to take "2 pods" and "the other one".

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
Boosting Space Marine Biker




Philadelphia, PA, USA

Che-Vito wrote:The real question: Why would you do that?


As a complement to all of the above reasons why, you might also use the pod to simply bottleneck the opponent, blocking an important pass through some terrain or penning in a vehicle. Putting a squad in there doing that might be basically throwing them away, but with an empty pod it can still be pretty useful.

   
Made in au
Rogue Grot Kannon Gunna





Just thinking out loud and having no experience with Drop Pods; what happens when one lands on a squad?
   
Made in gb
Cackling Chaos Conscript



England

WARBOSS TZOO wrote:Just thinking out loud and having no experience with Drop Pods; what happens when one lands on a squad?

you can't land on a squad- it's inertial thrusters rule means it must reduce the scatter distance by the minimum required to avoid landing on impassable terrain.


sons of the tempest 10/1/1 WDL. 1000 points

Raynor's Raiders
WIP starcraft themed army, currently in buying stages

Unnamed Daemons

Glubzog Nutcracka's green tide


 
   
Made in au
Rogue Grot Kannon Gunna





Awwwwwwww. I was thinking about using them as a first turn colony drop. D:
   
Made in gb
Blood-Raging Khorne Berserker






Gwar! wrote:
Soup and a roll wrote:
sexiest_hero wrote:What about spore pods?


Yep. Nothing in the Spore pod rules forces the unit to be in the pod when it lands.
Wrong. Nothing allows you to send the Spod down empty, so you cannot.


Really? P54 says it always deepstrikes and goes on to say that it can carry a single unit. P90 says the spore pod is treated as a separate non-scoring unit. That's all the permission I would need...

I'd imagine this has been argued before so I'll go off and search it up.

EDIT: OK, there is nothing that I can see under dedicated transports or drop pods that specifically allow them to deploy empty. Care to elaborate?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/06/06 15:25:23


 
   
Made in gb
Cackling Chaos Conscript



England

Soup and a roll wrote:
Gwar! wrote:
Soup and a roll wrote:
sexiest_hero wrote:What about spore pods?


Yep. Nothing in the Spore pod rules forces the unit to be in the pod when it lands.
Wrong. Nothing allows you to send the Spod down empty, so you cannot.


Really? P54 says it always deepstrikes and goes on to say that it can carry a single unit. P90 says the spore pod is treated as a separate non-scoring unit. That's all the permission I would need...

I'd imagine this has been argued before so I'll go off and search it up.

EDIT: OK, there is nothing that I can see under dedicated transports or drop pods that specifically allow them to deploy empty. Care to elaborate?

under deployment, i believe. A dedicated transport must either deploy empty or containing the unit it was bought for.

sons of the tempest 10/1/1 WDL. 1000 points

Raynor's Raiders
WIP starcraft themed army, currently in buying stages

Unnamed Daemons

Glubzog Nutcracka's green tide


 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





At what point do you have to declare that the pod is coming on empty?
   
Made in gb
Blood-Raging Khorne Berserker






Ah, Found it on P94. Sounds like it is clarifying the rules rather than setting them (the sentence starts with 'remember'. The fact that the spore pod is not a transport vehicle is not enough to convince me that it can't be deployed on it's own, especially when the RAW say it is an independent unit.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/06/06 17:42:08


 
   
Made in ca
Boosting Space Marine Biker







Spore pods are labeled as dedicated transports, lumping them in (with some rational exceptions to rules only covering vehicles) with the rest of the dedicated transport crowd.

Their entry states that spore pods can transport up to 20 models (or 1 MC), not that they must.

Riddle me this: what has four sides, moves twelve inches, and moved fourteen?

RAW-RAW-RAWsputin, Lover of the Russian Queen/ there was a cat who really was gone... 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







Except the rules are for Dedicated Transport VEHICLES, not Dedicated Transports.

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in ca
Boosting Space Marine Biker







Alright, so from a purely RAW perspective (with no rational thinking about why Robin Cruddance left the option under a heading entitled "Dedicated Transport"), the entry still says the Spod 'can' carry up to 20 models. 'Can' gives you option to not. It's permissive.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/06/06 19:38:30


Riddle me this: what has four sides, moves twelve inches, and moved fourteen?

RAW-RAW-RAWsputin, Lover of the Russian Queen/ there was a cat who really was gone... 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







Slackermagee wrote:Alright, so from a purely RAW perspective (with no rational thinking about why Robin Cruddance left the option under a heading entitled "Dedicated Transport"), the entry still says the Spod 'can' carry up to 20 models. 'Can' gives you option to not. It's permissive.
Can is not the same as may.
It says Can because you don't have to buy a Spod.

If it had said MAY, then you could choose.

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
Member of the Malleus




Pasadena, California

Oh Gwar you silly goose.


 
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

gannam wrote:At what point do you have to declare that the pod is coming on empty?


During the deployment phase, when you are declaring what you are keeping in Reserve. See the Reserves rules on page 94.

 
   
Made in ca
Boosting Space Marine Biker







Gwar! wrote:
Slackermagee wrote:Alright, so from a purely RAW perspective (with no rational thinking about why Robin Cruddance left the option under a heading entitled "Dedicated Transport"), the entry still says the Spod 'can' carry up to 20 models. 'Can' gives you option to not. It's permissive.
Can is not the same as may.
It says Can because you don't have to buy a Spod.

If it had said MAY, then you could choose.


That doesn't make any sense. You can always choose not to buy the Spod. Once you've bought the Spod you use its rules which state that you can (meaning able to and not required to) load models into it.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/06/07 23:43:25


Riddle me this: what has four sides, moves twelve inches, and moved fourteen?

RAW-RAW-RAWsputin, Lover of the Russian Queen/ there was a cat who really was gone... 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







Slackermagee wrote:
Gwar! wrote:
Slackermagee wrote:Alright, so from a purely RAW perspective (with no rational thinking about why Robin Cruddance left the option under a heading entitled "Dedicated Transport"), the entry still says the Spod 'can' carry up to 20 models. 'Can' gives you option to not. It's permissive.
Can is not the same as may.
It says Can because you don't have to buy a Spod.

If it had said MAY, then you could choose.


That doesn't make any sense. You can always choose not to buy the Spod. Once you've bought the Spod you use its rules which state that you can (meaning allowed to and not required to) load models into it.
No, Can is there BECAUSE you don't have to buy a pod.

It can't say MUST, since you don't have to buy a pod.
It doesn't say MAY because it's not optional.

It says Can, because you don't have to buy a spod, but if you do, you use it, as nothing says you have the choice to not use it.

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

Gwar! wrote:No, Can is there BECAUSE you don't have to buy a pod.

It can't say MUST, since you don't have to buy a pod.
It doesn't say MAY because it's not optional.

It says Can, because you don't have to buy a spod, but if you do, you use it, as nothing says you have the choice to not use it.



I think you have got yourself turned around backwards there, Gwar.


The pod can (ie: has the ability to) transport models. That does not confer a requirement to do so. It merely means that it can do so.

Your 'can' vs 'must' argument would apply if the line being argued was referring to the unit wanting to take the pod... but it's not. It's referring to the pod's transport capacity.

A unit is given permission to purchase a pod. The pod has the ability to transport the unit. Nowhere do the rules require the unit to arrive in the pod.

Being able to carry models does not mean you must carry models.

 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







I disagree. I feel that the Can is there because the spod is not mandatory. You can do this with Drop Pods because they follow the Dedicated transport VEHICLE rules, which a Spod is not.

Meh, I stopped caring long ago. I'll drop this one.

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: