Switch Theme:

SW Runic weapon 2+ to wound all daemons?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Armored Iron Breaker





United Kingdom

A space wolf Rune priest's runic weapon allows a +2 to wound any daemon model...

My friend said that this only applies to a model with the daemon rule as shown in the daemon codex...

But does this runic weapon wound on a +2 on a daemon model from, say chaos codex or the Avatar of Khaine.

Spacewolves: 1850pts
Darkeldar: 1850pts
Dwarfs: 2400pts

 
   
Made in au
Horrific Howling Banshee





Australia

Avatar has the daemon special rule, so I would assume it would work on him.

   
Made in gb
Armored Iron Breaker





United Kingdom

Mattieau wrote:Avatar has the daemon special rule, so I would assume it would work on him.


Do you know if it works on Daemon price in chaos codex or Greater Daemons?

Spacewolves: 1850pts
Darkeldar: 1850pts
Dwarfs: 2400pts

 
   
Made in au
Horrific Howling Banshee





Australia

Neither of those have the daemon special rule as far as i can remember. Someone could correct me on this. I'd imagine that it's supposed to work on any daemon, but the way it's phrased means it only works on them if they have the rule.

   
Made in us
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair






It works on any Daemon.

Unfortunately without the Daemon special rule we do not know what is and what is not a Daemon. Greater and summoned daemons from Chaos Marines may or may not be daemons(they are in name and Fluff, but no-where in rules), And the Daemon Prince is entirely in limbo.

Now Fluff =/= rules so we cannot extrapolate that because fluff says Greater and Summoned are in fact daemons that they are.

Also Names are right-out. If we went by the names(along with the rule) and then later some years down the line we get a New "Space Slaan Codex" which includes sunit with the Dragon special rule, and then a Space marine unit gets some weapon that has an effect vs "Dragons" and we were going by name: Eldar Fire Dragons would suddenly be effected by the Anti-Slaan weapons for no good reason.

In short Only concrete models that are affected by the runic weapon are Codex Chaos Daemons models and the Eldar Avatar.

This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.



 
   
Made in gb
Armored Iron Breaker





United Kingdom

[quote=Kommissar Kel
Also Names are right-out. If we went by the names(along with the rule) and then later some years down the line we get a New "Space Slaan Codex" which includes sunit with the Dragon special rule, and then a Space marine unit gets some weapon that has an effect vs "Dragons" and we were going by name: Eldar Fire Dragons would suddenly be effected by the Anti-Slaan weapons for no good reason.



Eldar fire dragons are not dragons unlike a Daemon price is a Daemon, i don't think that is a valid argument...

None the less it does not say any model with the Daemon rule it just says "any Daemon model"

Spacewolves: 1850pts
Darkeldar: 1850pts
Dwarfs: 2400pts

 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut






Louisville, KY

His point is that fluff (which names are) does not equal RAW, and he's right.

In any case, it only affects models with the "Daemon" special rule.

DQ:80+S+++G++M+B+I+Pw40k10#+D++A++/areWD-R+++T(D)DM+ 
   
Made in us
Aspirant Tech-Adept





St. Louis

A model is not a demon in terms of the game unless it actually has the demon rule.

Just because fluff says its a demon, or logic does, does not make it so in game terms.

I could argue that tyranids are all beasts because they are all animals, or described as beasts in fluff. Yet only one tyranid has the beasts special rule.

So as others have said, the weapon will only work against models that have the demon special rule.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/08/16 21:01:14


 
   
Made in gb
Armored Iron Breaker





United Kingdom

Ok I respect that it only affects an model with the daemon rule but however it is not just a name the model is in fact a daemon so realistically it should still work.

I think we can all agree it is a weird (and could be worded better) rule.

Spacewolves: 1850pts
Darkeldar: 1850pts
Dwarfs: 2400pts

 
   
Made in us
Aspirant Tech-Adept





St. Louis

It was written in a very bad manner. The confusion could have been easily cleared with "affects models with the demon special rule."
   
Made in us
Oozing Spawning Vat





SaintHazard wrote:His point is that fluff (which names are) does not equal RAW, and he's right.

In any case, it only affects models with the "Daemon" special rule.


Have to strongly disagree here, sorry.
Name are NOT fluff, they are descriptors.
When we call an item a "RED APPLE" it's name tells us what we need to know.
Anyone who discusses the item knows that it is both "RED" and an "APPLE"
So when something is named "DAEMON PRINCE" it is obviously both "DAEMON" and "PRINCE"
Since in our context their are specific rules for Daemon, those rules would affect said model.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/08/19 04:12:30


 
   
Made in au
Horrific Howling Banshee





Australia

Yes but when something is called a "FIRE DRAGON" it isn't actually both on fire and a dragon.

   
Made in us
Guarding Guardian



La Crosse

Honestly, you have to make a house ruling on this one.. Every time you fight someone with a "Daemon" whether it has the rule or not you and the people you are playing with have to decide if it is or if it isnt. I personally agree if in Fluff, and in the name, and it looks the part, then it is a freakin demon. If it walks like a chicken, clucks like a chicken, and looks like a chicken, it is a chicken. Or at least close enough right?
   
Made in gb
Armored Iron Breaker





United Kingdom

Akbar wrote:Honestly, you have to make a house ruling on this one.. Every time you fight someone with a "Daemon" whether it has the rule or not you and the people you are playing with have to decide if it is or if it isnt. I personally agree if in Fluff, and in the name, and it looks the part, then it is a freakin demon. If it walks like a chicken, clucks like a chicken, and looks like a chicken, it is a chicken. Or at least close enough right?


The most reasonable post on this thread.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
I would like to mention names don't matter Fire Dragons are not dragons they're name may say dragons but they are not well done i passed my first day of school. But a daemon prince is still a daemon even if it were called suzie. Names do not matter but if they are actually daemons regardless of the name then this rule should apply...

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/08/19 11:44:01


Spacewolves: 1850pts
Darkeldar: 1850pts
Dwarfs: 2400pts

 
   
Made in gb
Fleshound of Khorne





I think it is all models with the Daemon special rule as a Daemon Prince is a Daemon by name but it is not a Daemon because otherwise it would have the Daemon special rule. As Komissar Kel said if there was a dragon model made and then a space marine weapon would affect all "dragon" models then fire dragons would be affected because they have dragon in their name. I Think it should be worded better so it says all models with the Daemon special rule.
   
Made in gb
Lord of the Fleet






Akbar wrote:Honestly, you have to make a house ruling on this one.. Every time you fight someone with a "Daemon" whether it has the rule or not you and the people you are playing with have to decide if it is or if it isnt. I personally agree if in Fluff, and in the name, and it looks the part, then it is a freakin demon. If it walks like a chicken, clucks like a chicken, and looks like a chicken, it is a chicken. Or at least close enough right?


This is the only good answer. It's not satisfactory to have obviously daemonic units unaffected, neither does using the name as decider solve the problem.

The Daemonhunters codex offers some guidelines on this: "Throughout this Codex, the term "Daemon" refers to the following units: All Daemonhosts, Greater Daemons and Daemon packs, Daemon Beasts, Nurglings, Daemonically Possessed Vehicles such as Defilers) or those with the Parasitic Possession, Living Vehicle or Mutated Hull upgrades, Eldar Avatars, Possessed Chaos Space Marines, and Chaos Lords with the Daemonic Stature gift and/or over 50 points of daemonic gifts."

Unfortunately, this is so out of date to be virtually worthless from a RAW perspective, the vast majority of these things no longer exist. However, we can extrapolate from the units it referred to when it was written.

Codex Chaos Daemons units
Summoned Greater Daemons
Summoned Lesser Daemons
Defilers
Vehicles with Daemonic Possession
Avatar
Possessed Chaos Space Marines
Daemon Prince

That would be my suggestion for a house rule.
   
Made in gb
Armored Iron Breaker





United Kingdom

Twiggy wrote:I think it is all models with the Daemon special rule as a Daemon Prince is a Daemon by name but it is not a Daemon because otherwise it would have the Daemon special rule. As Komissar Kel said if there was a dragon model made and then a space marine weapon would affect all "dragon" models then fire dragons would be affected because they have dragon in their name. I Think it should be worded better so it says all models with the Daemon special rule.


Kommissar Kel's example is not valid as there is a giant difference between a name given and a biological existence fire dragons are given a name which is "fire dragons" they are not biologically dragons and a "daemon prince" is biologically a daemon. No one can argue that it isn't.

Spacewolves: 1850pts
Darkeldar: 1850pts
Dwarfs: 2400pts

 
   
Made in gb
Lord of the Fleet






The chaos and chaos daemons codexes should have been clear as to which units are or aren't daemons. That's the only way to make it clear and consistent.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/08/19 14:21:22


 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut






Louisville, KY

Proteus wrote:Have to strongly disagree here, sorry.
Name are NOT fluff, they are descriptors.
When we call an item a "RED APPLE" it's name tells us what we need to know.
Anyone who discusses the item knows that it is both "RED" and an "APPLE"
So when something is named "DAEMON PRINCE" it is obviously both "DAEMON" and "PRINCE"
Since in our context their are specific rules for Daemon, those rules would affect said model.

Not even remotely correct.

Yes, a "red apple" is both "red" and an "apple," but an Eldar "Wave Serpent" is neither serpentine nor aquatic. A Tau "Hammerhead" does not have a head, let alone one shaped like a hammer. An IG "Chimera" is not a mythological three-headed beast. A Space Marine "Whirlwind" is not a violent conical weather phenomenon.

Names are fluff in 40k, nothing more.

And to use your own example, a "Daemon Prince" is NOT a Daemon, but a mutated human, and his parents are not royalty.

Therefore, anything that has "Daemon" in its name cannot be immediately assumed to be a "Daemon" in terms of the rules.

I think the best answer I've heard so far is that this needs to be house-ruled. If your opponent plays DH as well as whatever he has fielded at the time, he may have a vastly different idea of what constitutes a "Daemon" than if he plays Chaos Daemons, or Chaos Space Marines.

Discuss it with your opponent pre-game.

DQ:80+S+++G++M+B+I+Pw40k10#+D++A++/areWD-R+++T(D)DM+ 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





US

Not sure why this one got so much back and forth lol.

If it has the Demon special rule it is a demon. If it doesn't have it but you think it should effect it, such as the demon prince, then discuss pregame. If you are in a tourney discuss with TO.

Golden Rule: Fluff doesn't equal rules or Necrons would be auto-win

Craftworld Uaire-Nem pics "Like shimmering daggers of light our fury shall rain down and cleanse this battlefield." Autarch of Uaire-Nem
BlueDagger's Nomad pics - "Morality, my friend, is merely a price tag." - BlueDagger, Contraband Dealer. Holo-recording played during the murder trial of an undercover PanOceania officer. Court Record 9002xaB, . Infinity Nomads - Come see what it's all about!
|Looking for War-gaming matches in the Colorado area? Colorado Infinity
 
   
Made in gb
Armored Iron Breaker





United Kingdom

BlueDagger wrote:Golden Rule: Fluff doesn't equal rules or Necrons would be auto-win


How so

Spacewolves: 1850pts
Darkeldar: 1850pts
Dwarfs: 2400pts

 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut






Louisville, KY

GoDz KI11JOY x wrote:
BlueDagger wrote:Golden Rule: Fluff doesn't equal rules or Necrons would be auto-win


How so

On the tabletop, they have a 50% chance of coming back when they die.

In the fluff, they don't die at all.

DQ:80+S+++G++M+B+I+Pw40k10#+D++A++/areWD-R+++T(D)DM+ 
   
Made in gb
Armored Iron Breaker





United Kingdom

SaintHazard wrote:

Yes, a "red apple" is both "red" and an "apple," but an Eldar "Wave Serpent" is neither serpentine nor aquatic. A Tau "Hammerhead" does not have a head, let alone one shaped like a hammer. An IG "Chimera" is not a mythological three-headed beast. A Space Marine "Whirlwind" is not a violent conical weather phenomenon.


Ignore the names, this is so annoying i know my description of a daemon prince is not entirely correct as he is a lord of chaos who has descended into DAEMONHOOD but ignore the names anyway a Greater Daemon or lesser Daemon (despite the name) are clearly daemons but people on this thread keep using "fire dragons" or Wave Serpent" as an example when these are just names given to the model that doesn't mean anything.


Point is don't take the names seriously there are too many people using these examples in the wrong context.

Point 2 just consult with your opponent their opinion is the one that matters.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/08/19 15:43:42


Spacewolves: 1850pts
Darkeldar: 1850pts
Dwarfs: 2400pts

 
   
Made in gb
Ultramarine Chaplain with Hate to Spare





The only real RaW answer is to use the daemons rule to define what is and what isn't a daemon.

Fortunately I play Warhammer not RaWhammer and the rules for Warhammer 40k state any daemon model and a Greater Daemon, Lesser Daemon and Daemon Prince are all quite obviously daemons.

If you play it that only the Daemon rule defines a model I assume you also play that no models can be placed on the table at the start of the game (as you have no permission to).


On the tabletop, they have a 50% chance of coming back when they die.

In the fluff, they don't die at all.


They do however take casualties and phase out. A model removed isn't necessarily dead...

Take the Magic: The Gathering 'What Color Are You?' Quiz.

Yes my Colour is Black but not for the reasons stated mainly just because it's slimming... http://imperiusdominatus.blogspot.com 
   
Made in us
Screaming Shining Spear





Central Pennsylvania

There is a simple way to understand why it may not work the way the OP thinks it should.

All daemons might not have the special rule 'daemon', just those with such powerful abilities to be considered to have the rule.

Basic way to figure it...an Imp doesn't get daemonic abilities on part with those of a more powerful daemon, so the Imp wouldn't have the rule even though it'd be technically classified as a daemon by the Imperium of Man.

This is Daemon in game terms, not in fluff terms(as the Avatar is a good example of this distinction).

Farseer Faenyin
7,100 pts Yme-Loc Eldar(Apoc Included) / 5,700 pts (Non-Apoc)
Record for 6th Edition- Eldar: 25-4-2
Record for 7th Edition -
Eldar: 0-0-0 (Yes, I feel it is that bad)

Battlefleet Gothic: 2,750 pts of Craftworld Eldar
X-wing(Focusing on Imperials): CR90, 6 TIE Fighters, 4 TIE Interceptors, TIE Bomber, TIE Advanced, 4 X-wings, 3 A-wings, 3 B-wings, Y-wing, Z-95
Battletech: Battlion and Command Lance of 3025 Mechs(painted as 21st Rim Worlds) 
   
Made in us
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair






Ki11j0y: My example with Fire Dragons was supposed to border on the ridiculous. The only way to Identify a Daemon is with what the Rules say; and the only rules that identify a Daemon it the Daemon special rule.

I fully agree that based on fluff(that is what we know of the following units) Daemon Princes, Lesser Daemons, and Greater Daemons from the Chaos Marine Codex should all be Daemons. However rules-wise they are not.

I will go on to say that when you discuss it pregame; and a Chaos marine Player wants to say "hey, my daemons aren't Daemons" you should likely not play that opponent as he is being TFG; or find out just how RAW he wants to play and use that against him.

Also there is a very large difference between what the Rules actually say in these cases and how it is usually played(I usually play it the looser way myself). In these discussions I will identify what the rules actually say, whether that is how it is commonly played or not.

This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.



 
   
Made in us
Huge Bone Giant





Oakland, CA -- U.S.A.

Kommissar Kel wrote: you should likely not play that opponent as he is being TFG; or find out just how RAW he wants to play and use that against him.
Wow.

TFG = Thereupon Factual Ground?

"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."

DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut






Louisville, KY

Farseer Faenyin wrote:There is a simple way to understand why it may not work the way the OP thinks it should.

All daemons might not have the special rule 'daemon', just those with such powerful abilities to be considered to have the rule.

Basic way to figure it...an Imp doesn't get daemonic abilities on part with those of a more powerful daemon, so the Imp wouldn't have the rule even though it'd be technically classified as a daemon by the Imperium of Man.

This is Daemon in game terms, not in fluff terms(as the Avatar is a good example of this distinction).

If it's classified as a Daemon by the Imperium of Man, how is this game terms and not fluff? Does the rulebook at any time say "if, in the fluff, the Imperium of Man classifies a model as something, that's what it should be classified as in game terms?" No, it doesn't.

And if you're going to use such a loose definition to classify a Daemon, how is that not using fluff to determine RAW?

The bottom line is that there are two ways to decide what is a Daemon: models with the "Daemon" special rule are Daemons, or models identified in Codex: DH are Daemons. You need to agree with your opponent on how you're deciding what is and is not a Daemon on the tabletop before the game begins, but you need to be using a concrete definition, not "Oh, well, that looks kind of like a Baphomet, so we're going to call it a Daemon, even though it doesn't say it is," or "That model uses Daemonic abilities, so we're going to call it a Daemon, even though nothing in the codex or rulebook classifies it as such." Nevermind that this is based entirely on a western definition of a Daemon or demon, and Oriental and Middle-Eastern cultures have entirely different definitions of what constitutes a Daemon or demon... and this a game that's played worldwide.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/08/19 17:22:21


DQ:80+S+++G++M+B+I+Pw40k10#+D++A++/areWD-R+++T(D)DM+ 
   
Made in gb
Lord of the Fleet






The whole Daemon thing has been nicely messed up by GW. They made a point of mentioning it for the avatar then failed to mention it for lots of obvious things in C:CSM.

Are these supposed to be so obvious it's not worth mentioning? Apparently it's not worth a FAQ either...
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut






Louisville, KY

Scott-S6 wrote:The whole Daemon thing has been nicely messed up by GW. They made a point of mentioning it for the avatar then failed to mention it for lots of obvious things in C:CSM.

Are these supposed to be so obvious it's not worth mentioning? Apparently it's not worth a FAQ either...

That's the truth.

I would really like to know, for certain, which of my Daemons can be killed by things that kill Daemons, instead of having to discuss it beforehand or guess. Or wonder if GW thinks it's so obvious it doesn't deserve mention.

DQ:80+S+++G++M+B+I+Pw40k10#+D++A++/areWD-R+++T(D)DM+ 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: