Switch Theme:

Flamers and meltas  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in nz
Trustworthy Shas'vre





In a hole in New Zealand with internet access

I am wondering if a squad was equipped with a melta and a flamer. The melta pops the tank and the units inside come out. So far it ok but now come the flamer.

Some people say that you can’t shoot the people that were inside the tank if you popped it with the same squad. Flamers use a template however. Could they shoot separately?


Second scenario. A squad shoots. Can a unit with a flamer shoot at a different squad?

   
Made in au
Horrific Howling Banshee





Australia

No. Unless stated otherwise, a unit can only shoot and one other unit (In this case the tank)

   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut







Step through the sequence for firing shown on page 15 of the rulebook. At no point are you given the option to say "I'm going to fire this portion of this unit" and then given the option to fire with another portion of the same unit at a different unit.

If you have a unit that can divide its fire between two units, you'll know because that unit will have a special rule specifying that it can and also specifying what the restrictions will be.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/12/06 09:09:40


 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





solkan wrote:
If you have a unit that can divide its fire between two units, you'll know because that unit will have a special rule specifying that it can and also specifying what the restrictions will be.


Even then you wouldn't be able to shoot the occupants of the destroyed transport as all firing from the same unit is done simultaneously.
   
Made in gb
Lord of the Fleet






There is even a specific comment on this in the BRB:

"Remember that all models in a single unit fire simultaneously, so a squad cannot take out a transport wih its lascannon and then mow down the occupants with their bolters." P67
   
Made in gb
Khorne Rhino Driver with Destroyer





Bristol, Uk

We have a house rule. If a squad wants to split fire a leadership test must be passed, once per split.
But this all happens at the same time. None of this, shoot up an enemy with half a squad, then finish them off if the first volley didn't do well.
The sequence goes
1. choose targets
2. leadership test
3. fire alotted weapons at chosen squads

All praise the Omnissiah! 
   
Made in us
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw




Stephens City, VA

cute house rule, but its not the rules eh?

The answer's a plain no in this case as stated above many other times

   
Made in gb
Lord of the Fleet






Rochronos wrote:We have a house rule. If a squad wants to split fire a leadership test must be passed, once per split.
But this all happens at the same time. None of this, shoot up an enemy with half a squad, then finish them off if the first volley didn't do well.

So you still couldn't have one part of the squad kill the transport and have the other part shoot the squad since the squad isn't a valid target until after the transport has been destroyed.
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

jdjamesdean@mail.com wrote:cute house rule, but its not the rules eh?

He did say it was a house rule.

 
   
Made in nz
Trustworthy Shas'vre





In a hole in New Zealand with internet access

Ok, thats the tank bit sorted, cant shoot at the pasangers.


but what about when firing at two diffrent squads? The flamer is a template so can it be manauly put over a diffrent squad or must it cover at least one of the units in the squad other in your squad has shoot at?

   
Made in us
Zealous Sin-Eater



Chico, CA

Thge flame tmplete MUST cover as many models in the unit he's shooting as possable, if you can do that and still hit the other unit then yes if you can't them no.

Peter: As we all know, Christmas is that mystical time of year when the ghost of Jesus rises from the grave to feast on the flesh of the living! So we all sing Christmas Carols to lull him back to sleep.
Bob: Outrageous, How dare he say such blasphemy. I've got to do something.
Man #1: Bob, there's nothing you can do.
Bob: Well, I guess I'll just have to develop a sense of humor.  
   
Made in nz
Trustworthy Shas'vre





In a hole in New Zealand with internet access

thanks guys for your stright answers and lack of trolling.

   
Made in us
Implacable Black Templar Initiate




it must cover as much of the unit you have targeted and if theres any extra its a bonus

 
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User





Friend of mine played a nasty trick once - dropped a dreadie w/MM+HF in a position 8" away from a tank with a squad between the dread and the tank - declared he was firing on the tank and the squad was caught under the flame template even though it and the MM were fired against the tank. Legit move as far as I know.... and I don't camp squads next to tanks any more =P
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





solkan wrote:Step through the sequence for firing shown on page 15 of the rulebook. At no point are you given the option to say "I'm going to fire this portion of this unit" and then given the option to fire with another portion of the same unit at a different unit.

If you have a unit that can divide its fire between two units, you'll know because that unit will have a special rule specifying that it can and also specifying what the restrictions will be.


+1 to this.

   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Courtsloth - ONLY if the Flamer was able to touch the Vehicle unit. If the flamer did not have range to the vehicle then it automatically misses.
   
Made in gb
Lord of the Fleet






nosferatu1001 wrote:Courtsloth - ONLY if the Flamer was able to touch the Vehicle unit. If the flamer did not have range to the vehicle then it automatically misses.

Also, the flamer must be positioned to cover as much of the vehicle as possible - not just touching the vehicle so as to get as many of the guys as possible.
   
Made in nz
Trustworthy Shas'vre





In a hole in New Zealand with internet access

so the key with flamer is you have to cover as many as possable. thanks for the help guys X]

   
Made in us
Zealous Sin-Eater



Chico, CA

Ledabot wrote:so the key with flamer is you have to cover as many as possable. thanks for the help guys X]


And as for the firing past a unit to hit a different unit, if you can't hit the unit your aiming for the flame will auto miss the first unit. So if you can't hit the unit you aim at, no hit are scored no matter how many are under the templete.

Peter: As we all know, Christmas is that mystical time of year when the ghost of Jesus rises from the grave to feast on the flesh of the living! So we all sing Christmas Carols to lull him back to sleep.
Bob: Outrageous, How dare he say such blasphemy. I've got to do something.
Man #1: Bob, there's nothing you can do.
Bob: Well, I guess I'll just have to develop a sense of humor.  
   
Made in us
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair






The Flamer template is over 8" long so courtsloth's example was legit, also because the template is not much more than 8" long(somewhere between 8.5-9.5 inches, I don't have it and a ruler in front of me at the moment) you can easily get most of the squad under the template while not having much of the template over the tank(so long as the maximum amount of the template possible covers the tank).

I had a similar situation in a game last night; my friend fired a BA DC Dread HF at my Ork Trukk with a unit of boys in front of it; he had to cover as much of the trukk as possible, and that made the boys safe from the HF(The trukk was undamaged by the HF as well but kareened from the Melta).

This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.



 
   
Made in us
Zealous Sin-Eater



Chico, CA

Kommissar Kel wrote:The Flamer template is over 8" long so courtsloth's example was legit, also because the template is not much more than 8" long(somewhere between 8.5-9.5 inches, I don't have it and a ruler in front of me at the moment) you can easily get most of the squad under the template while not having much of the template over the tank(so long as the maximum amount of the template possible covers the tank).

I had a similar situation in a game last night; my friend fired a BA DC Dread HF at my Ork Trukk with a unit of boys in front of it; he had to cover as much of the trukk as possible, and that made the boys safe from the HF(The trukk was undamaged by the HF as well but kareened from the Melta).


I know I was point out that if someone trys that and miss he's target you don't get the free hits on the unit inbetween.

Peter: As we all know, Christmas is that mystical time of year when the ghost of Jesus rises from the grave to feast on the flesh of the living! So we all sing Christmas Carols to lull him back to sleep.
Bob: Outrageous, How dare he say such blasphemy. I've got to do something.
Man #1: Bob, there's nothing you can do.
Bob: Well, I guess I'll just have to develop a sense of humor.  
   
Made in us
Mekboy Hammerin' Somethin'





Scott-S6 wrote:
nosferatu1001 wrote:Courtsloth - ONLY if the Flamer was able to touch the Vehicle unit. If the flamer did not have range to the vehicle then it automatically misses.

Also, the flamer must be positioned to cover as much of the vehicle as possible - not just touching the vehicle so as to get as many of the guys as possible.


However, should the vehicle be almost exactly the length away. Then, if played correctly, then the flamer CAN only be touching the vehicle, and the template still cover the squad...

I.E. MM pops Chimera from behind. Flamer template can only touch the rear armor of the chimera with about 1/8 of an inch under the template. Hit. The squad that also emergency disembarked is hit with the flamer.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/12/07 23:28:30


Thunderfrog wrote:
+1 Str for like 5 points? To autocannons or assault cannons? Hell yea. Then the Reinforced Aegis upgrade for free AND the ability to ignore stunned shaken.. pretty much for free..
Other Dreadnaughts should just go somewhere and be a toaster.

Mattieu~~~~ It's not that eldar are bad, it's that they require a lot of intergration between units. Also, that doesnt prove anything other than GW has a huge hard-on for marines, and, given the option between making a xeno the best psykers or making a marine the best psyker, they will 9 times out of 10 choose the marine.
Automatically Appended Next Post:
Tzeentchling9 wrote:Mephy can't be swept. He is still a marine so he has the, "And They Shall Never Get Removed From The Table After Losing Combat Like Everyone Else Because They Are The Poster Boys" special rule.


 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Wrong, as all shooting from one unit occurs simultaneously.

Also, remember that if they emergency disembark that can be from anywhere on the hull.....
   
Made in us
Storm Trooper with Maglight



Buffalo NY, USA

The proper way to beat down a unit in a transport is to pop it with a Melta and ASSAULT the unit that falls out of it. Remeber the Melta is an Assault weapon so there is nothing wrong with this.

As for the flammer thing, you have to cover as many enemy models, from the target your squad is shooting at, with the template as possible. But I distinctly remember a line in the BRB that was in to make it illegal to turn the flammer template sidways, something about the placement of the narrow end of the flammer template. The point is that if you are as close as legally possible to enemy squad A and enemy squad B is right behind them you could end up hitting more models from B then from A with the flammer.

ComputerGeek01 is more then just a name 
   
Made in nz
Depraved Slaanesh Chaos Lord







Two ticks it says in the BRB that if a member of a squad destroys a transport then you may fire at the occupants that turn even with members of the squad that popped the trans??? am i right or did i miss something?

Skullscreamers 2000

My best friend wrote:See nerds can get hot gorgeous girlfriends... does she have a friend???
 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




No, it does NOT say that. At all.

ALL firing from ONE unit is resolved simultaneously: there is no "after the melta fires" for your flamer to suddenly hit now disembarked models.

You can fire at the now-disembarked models with *other* units that have not yet fired that turn. But thats it.
   
Made in gb
Lord of the Fleet






Tyranic Marta wrote:Two ticks it says in the BRB that if a member of a squad destroys a transport then you may fire at the occupants that turn even with members of the squad that popped the trans??? am i right or did i miss something?

No, it says you may assault them.

It also says: "Remember that all models in a single unit fire simultaneously, so a squad cannot take out a transport wih its lascannon and then mow down the occupants with their bolters." P67
   
Made in nz
Depraved Slaanesh Chaos Lord







Thanks, sorry for the inconvienience i misread

Skullscreamers 2000

My best friend wrote:See nerds can get hot gorgeous girlfriends... does she have a friend???
 
   
Made in us
Terminator with Assault Cannon






OKC, Oklahoma

However.... If you combat squad the unit, with the Melta in one and the Flamer in the other and move them essentually together, you COULD melta the transport then flame the occupants, provided they disembark the way you need them to.

Of all the races of the universe the Squats have the longest memories and the shortest tempers. They are uncouth, unpredictably violent, and frequently drunk. Overall, I'm glad they're on our side!

Office of Naval Intelligence Research discovers 3 out of 4 sailors make up 75% of U.S. Navy.
"Madness is like gravity... All you need is a little push."

:Nilla Marines: 2500
:Marine "Scouts": 2500 (Systemically Quarantined, Unsupported, Abhuman, Truncated Soldiers)

"On one side of me stand my Homeworld, Stronghold and Brotherhood; On the other, my ancestors. I cannot behave otherwise than honorably."
 
   
Made in nz
Depraved Slaanesh Chaos Lord







yeah that would work

Skullscreamers 2000

My best friend wrote:See nerds can get hot gorgeous girlfriends... does she have a friend???
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: