Switch Theme:

Disembarking and Moving.  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in ca
Deadly Dark Eldar Warrior





Winnipeg, Canada

Alright, heres my question.

If a dark eldar raider moves 12 inches, can the unit inside move their six inches
after disembarking? Or has their movement ended when they disembark.

"Build a man a fire, and he'll be warm for a day. Set a man on fire, and he'll be warm for the rest of his life."
-Terry Pratchett

The Duke's Sky Serpents
Raids of Pleasure and Pain
Wins 3 Losses 5 Ties 3 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

Pg 67, BRB: Diembarking - If the vehicles has moved (including pivoting on the spot), passengers may disembark but not move any further in that Movement phase.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in us
Road-Raging Blood Angel Biker




Maryland

But they could still fleet move, and then charge, correct?

Blood Rouges 10K+
Hive Fleet Unyielding 5.5k
 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

They would be able to run, however, unless the vehicle was open-topped or had a special rule to allow it they would not be able to assault.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





Lord_Osma wrote:But they could still fleet move, and then charge, correct?


Since the raider is open-topped, yes.
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

Lord_Osma wrote:But they could still fleet move, and then charge, correct?

There is no such thing as a 'fleet move'... Fleet is a special rule that allows a unit to assault on the same turn that they run.

 
   
Made in us
Stealthy Dark Angels Scout with Shotgun



NE Ohio

insaniak wrote:
Lord_Osma wrote:But they could still fleet move, and then charge, correct?

There is no such thing as a 'fleet move'... Fleet is a special rule that allows a unit to assault on the same turn that they run.


I think he meant to ask...

But if they have fleet, they can still run in the shooting phase and then assault ?
   
Made in us
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw




Stephens City, VA

Landrain wrote:
insaniak wrote:
Lord_Osma wrote:But they could still fleet move, and then charge, correct?

There is no such thing as a 'fleet move'... Fleet is a special rule that allows a unit to assault on the same turn that they run.


I think he meant to ask...

But if they have fleet, they can still run in the shooting phase and then assault ?


Yes as they are open topped vehicles, so they may move, Disembark, shoot or run, assault

   
Made in us
Pulsating Possessed Space Marine of Slaanesh





Florida, USA

So would that mean a raider, being open topped, can move it's full 12", have the unit inside disembark 2" to the front, run in their shooting phase (lets say they get a 6), and then assault 6", giving the unit inside a potential 26" assault range?

Also, I saw an opponent set up a raider on his maximum 12" pitched battle line towards me, but placed it sideways. In his first turn, he pivoted towards me, then moved twelve inches, disembarked, ran (6), and assaulted. The pivot of the raider gave him an extra +/- 3". Is that all legit, for a damn near 30" assault range??

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/10/14 00:59:12


----Warhammer 40,000----
10,000  
   
Made in us
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw




Stephens City, VA

Aipoch wrote:So would that mean a raider, being open topped, can move it's full 12", have the unit inside disembark 2" to the front, run in their shooting phase (lets say they get a 6), and then assault 6", giving the unit inside a potential 26" assault range?

Also, I saw an opponent set up a raider on his maximum 12" pitched battle line towards me, but placed it sideways. In his first turn, he pivoted towards me, then moved twelve inches, disembarked, ran (6), and assaulted. The pivot of the raider gave him an extra +/- 3". Is that all legit, for a damn near 30" assault range??


Completely Legit.

When playing against DE you probably shouldn't push that 12" line unless it's completely necesary.


   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





It shouldn't be legal - you're moving farther than your allotted 12". But it's normal for vehicles to do it, and people bitch when MCs try to do it.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw




Stephens City, VA

rigeld2 wrote:It shouldn't be legal - you're moving farther than your allotted 12". But it's normal for vehicles to do it, and people bitch when MCs try to do it.


Shouldn't but pivoting doesn't count as moving except for trying to make an assault out of said vehicle.

So it is legit.

   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





Pivoting doesn't have to cost movement. It should not also add movement. And it is.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw




Stephens City, VA

rigeld2 wrote:Pivoting doesn't have to cost movement. It should not also add movement. And it is.


That is what happens with a Rectangle shaped object, because you pivot from the center. Nothing too broken about it, just how the game is

   
Made in us
Loyal Necron Lychguard






Palm Beach, FL

Aipoch wrote:So would that mean a raider, being open topped, can move it's full 12", have the unit inside disembark 2" to the front, run in their shooting phase (lets say they get a 6), and then assault 6", giving the unit inside a potential 26" assault range?


27", don't forget the width of a base.
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




rigeld2 wrote:Pivoting doesn't have to cost movement. It should not also add movement. And it is.


It doesnt add movement, but it does alter the displacement of the front of the vehicle

Luckily vehicle movement only cares about the former.
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





It is adding distance to the move. In other words, you get farther from your start point if you start sideways and pivot to face the direction you want to go than if you were just already facing that direction.

And like I said - it should be illegal, but isn't. It's just hypocracy when a non-vehicle on a large oval base tries to do the exact same thing and people complain.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw




Stephens City, VA

rigeld2 wrote:It is adding distance to the move. In other words, you get farther from your start point if you start sideways and pivot to face the direction you want to go than if you were just already facing that direction.

And like I said - it should be illegal, but isn't. It's just hypocracy when a non-vehicle on a large oval base tries to do the exact same thing and people complain.


I've never known/seen anyone to complain personally. Again though alot of people don't play MC's on the Large oval bases. Beings nids took a minor dive

   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

nosferatu1001 wrote:
rigeld2 wrote:Pivoting doesn't have to cost movement. It should not also add movement. And it is.


It doesnt add movement, but it does alter the displacement of the front of the vehicle

Luckily vehicle movement only cares about the former.


Except movement and displacement are synonymous.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Theyre not in 40k. Otherwise you couldnt move 12" forwards, 12" back and be moving flat out - which we know to be true. This is further reinforced by the Assault rules and the Turboboost rules, which reinforce this concept.

Movement is a well defined term within 40k with a different meaning to the standard English definition, displacement is not.
   
Made in us
Stealthy Dark Angels Scout with Shotgun



NE Ohio

Aipoch wrote:
Also, I saw an opponent set up a raider on his maximum 12" pitched battle line towards me, but placed it sideways. In his first turn, he pivoted towards me, then moved twelve inches, disembarked, ran (6), and assaulted. The pivot of the raider gave him an extra +/- 3". Is that all legit, for a damn near 30" assault range??


completely legal by 40K rules...

As far as being in the spirit of the rules?

Nope.

It is an exploit of the current poorly written rules.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/10/14 07:10:48


 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




And by current you mean "part of the current rules [ii]since 1998[/i]" yes?

Its totally within the spirit of the rules, as the studio is well aware of this.
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka





Chicago

MasterSlowPoke wrote:
Aipoch wrote:So would that mean a raider, being open topped, can move it's full 12", have the unit inside disembark 2" to the front, run in their shooting phase (lets say they get a 6), and then assault 6", giving the unit inside a potential 26" assault range?


27", don't forget the width of a base.

Bases are 25mm, which is only 0.984...".

So, 26.984...". If you're 27" away, you're safe.

6000pts

DS:80S++G++M-B-I+Pw40k98-D++A++/areWD-R+T(D)DM+

What do Humans know of our pain? We have sung songs of lament since before your ancestors crawled on their bellies from the sea.

Join the fight against the zombie horde! 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





26" of movement, plus ~2" for pivot hijinks, plus 12" for a deployment zone...

You didn't want to actually use your deployment zone, did you?

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Pulsating Possessed Space Marine of Slaanesh





Florida, USA

Whoa, what's with this move forward 12" and then move back 12" and count as moving flat out? I thought the rules specified you must move over 12" and up to your maximum move away from your starting point to be considered moving flat out? And I also thought there was some stipulation on turning while moving flat out. Does it have to be done in a straight line or can you go any which way you please? Seem's kind of...uninspired I can have my model sit right where it is and give it a four up cover save just by saying it moved flat out...forward and back...

----Warhammer 40,000----
10,000  
   
Made in us
Loyal Necron Lychguard






Palm Beach, FL

Grakmar wrote:
MasterSlowPoke wrote:
Aipoch wrote:So would that mean a raider, being open topped, can move it's full 12", have the unit inside disembark 2" to the front, run in their shooting phase (lets say they get a 6), and then assault 6", giving the unit inside a potential 26" assault range?


27", don't forget the width of a base.

Bases are 25mm, which is only 0.984...".

So, 26.984...". If you're 27" away, you're safe.


Do you regularly measure distances with a device that is precise to the half millimeter?
   
Made in us
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw




Stephens City, VA

Aipoch wrote:Whoa, what's with this move forward 12" and then move back 12" and count as moving flat out? I thought the rules specified you must move over 12" and up to your maximum move away from your starting point to be considered moving flat out? And I also thought there was some stipulation on turning while moving flat out. Does it have to be done in a straight line or can you go any which way you please? Seem's kind of...uninspired I can have my model sit right where it is and give it a four up cover save just by saying it moved flat out...forward and back...



Yes you may stay in the same spot and Claim moving XX inches to gain a cover save from flat out.

However, When it comes to assaulting you'd have moved 0" and would be auto-hit.

   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Aipoch wrote:Whoa, what's with this move forward 12" and then move back 12" and count as moving flat out? I thought the rules specified you must move over 12" and up to your maximum move away from your starting point to be considered moving flat out? And I also thought there was some stipulation on turning while moving flat out. Does it have to be done in a straight line or can you go any which way you please? Seem's kind of...uninspired I can have my model sit right where it is and give it a four up cover save just by saying it moved flat out...forward and back...


No such rules exist. You are getting confused between Flat Out and Turboboost - turboboost requires you to be a certain distance away from your starting point, Flat Out does not.

There is NO requrement to move in a straight line for either TB or Flatout. None.
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





nosferatu1001 wrote:Theyre not in 40k. Otherwise you couldnt move 12" forwards, 12" back and be moving flat out - which we know to be true. This is further reinforced by the Assault rules and the Turboboost rules, which reinforce this concept.

Movement is a well defined term within 40k with a different meaning to the standard English definition, displacement is not.


Yep, flat out allows you to get a cover save, because you are moving at 'high speed' and 'are very difficult to hit'.

Unless of course you wind up in close combat with it. Abstracts. Meh.

Kind of funny how turbo-boosting and 'normal' vehicle movement doesn't work out that way.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2011/10/15 03:00:47


Sourclams wrote:He already had more necrons than anyone else. Now he wants to have more necrons than himself.


I play  
   
Made in us
Annoyed Blood Angel Devastator





My personal understanding of the rules presented on page 57 of the base rule book regarding vehicle movement is that a vehicle may only move forward or reverse not side to side. If this understanding is correct then that means that a vehicle may not move sideways then pivot to face the direction it moved in to gain inches to disembark. This is my understanding of the rules and the wording presented on page 57 regarding movement of vehicles.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2011/10/15 03:06:19


 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: