Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/11/09 01:38:07
Subject: Drop Pod / Skimmer Mishap
|
 |
Discriminating Deathmark Assassin
|
I know that it is current convention that drop pods do not mishap from impassable terrain or models. I want to know where this comes from. The codex say it's moved to avoid the obstacle but I can't find any where that it states that you move it one inch away so would it not mean that they are moved off enemy models but still mishap? The language for skimmers states they are be moved the minimum distance to take the model off of models. If we are using the same logic that you have to end moves at least one inch away from models to avoid the mishap for DP doesn't the skimmer rules do the same for it?
|
ADD causes my posts to ramble from time to time. Please bear with me.
You're not a Time Lord stick with linear time.
Specific Vs General |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/11/09 01:46:44
Subject: Drop Pod / Skimmer Mishap
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
"by the minimum required to avoid the obstacle." C:SM pg 69
If it would mishap than it didn't avoid the obstacle.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/11/09 02:08:28
Subject: Re:Drop Pod / Skimmer Mishap
|
 |
Discriminating Deathmark Assassin
|
In this case the mishap would not be the model but the proximity to the obstacle. Since the DS rules separate models from being in proximity then they moved to a new obstacle not covered by the IGS wouldn't it?
|
ADD causes my posts to ramble from time to time. Please bear with me.
You're not a Time Lord stick with linear time.
Specific Vs General |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/11/09 06:47:13
Subject: Drop Pod / Skimmer Mishap
|
 |
Paladin of the Wall
|
The statement in the codex is "Should a drop pod scatter on top of impassable terrain...then reduce the scatter distance..."
If the drop pod doesn't scatter it can still mishap (ie bad placement)
|
From 3++
"Because your captain is smarter than Belial and all templar commanders ever, he doesn't discard his iron halo when you dress him up as a terminator. Remember this." |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/11/09 07:24:19
Subject: Drop Pod / Skimmer Mishap
|
 |
Cosmic Joe
|
I thought you couldn't place stuff where it mishaps on a hit.
|
Nosebiter wrote:Codex Space Marine is renamed as Codex Counts As Because I Dont Like To Loose And Gw Hates My Army. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/11/09 08:44:56
Subject: Drop Pod / Skimmer Mishap
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
No such rule exists.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/11/09 09:37:15
Subject: Drop Pod / Skimmer Mishap
|
 |
Confessor Of Sins
|
Aye, but many players think it does. Units can't normally enter impassable terrain and some see the placing of the DS marker (before rolling the scatter dice) as "entering" instead of the temporary marker it is.
As long as marine players don't try to increase scatter (many think the Drop Pod allows it) I'm happy with letting them gamble.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/11/09 09:50:07
Subject: Drop Pod / Skimmer Mishap
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Which in the days of premeasuring isnt so much a gamble as rank stupidity
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/11/09 13:45:07
Subject: Drop Pod / Skimmer Mishap
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
You can always scatter off the table. Guidance System doesn't help then.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/11/09 14:10:58
Subject: Drop Pod / Skimmer Mishap
|
 |
Cosmic Joe
|
Huh...
Was that a rule last ed, or was i just being stupid?
|
Nosebiter wrote:Codex Space Marine is renamed as Codex Counts As Because I Dont Like To Loose And Gw Hates My Army. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/11/09 14:51:13
Subject: Drop Pod / Skimmer Mishap
|
 |
Confessor Of Sins
|
No, but it was a very common misunderstanding. Players thought placing the marker before scatter was placing the model, and if it was (which it wasn't) then ofc you couldn't place it in an illegal spot.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/11/09 22:07:22
Subject: Re:Drop Pod / Skimmer Mishap
|
 |
Discriminating Deathmark Assassin
|
OK so if it is current convention that you move the DP an inch away from a model to avoid a mishap what if they land within an inch but not on top of a model. The IGS only mentions landing on the model or terrain does it mishap?
|
ADD causes my posts to ramble from time to time. Please bear with me.
You're not a Time Lord stick with linear time.
Specific Vs General |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/11/10 14:15:12
Subject: Drop Pod / Skimmer Mishap
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
If you land within 1" of an enemy model there is an obstruction - the 1" rule
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/11/10 21:47:56
Subject: Re:Drop Pod / Skimmer Mishap
|
 |
Discriminating Deathmark Assassin
|
I take it then that the entire IGS rule is a general hodgepodge RAI and not in fact applied RAW, as it is clearly applied with intent and not as it is written. Thank you. I assume that in 5th there were FAQs that tell us how the rule was to be applied but they no longer exist.
|
ADD causes my posts to ramble from time to time. Please bear with me.
You're not a Time Lord stick with linear time.
Specific Vs General |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/11/10 21:54:33
Subject: Drop Pod / Skimmer Mishap
|
 |
Dark Angels Librarian with Book of Secrets
|
The OP is under the misunderstanding that drop pods changed in 6e. It didn't. When it is deployed, just like any other model, it must be legally placed. Dropping it on top of an enemy unit is the same as impassable terrain, in other words, illegal. If it scatters onto impassable terrain, it moves far enough to not be on it.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/11/10 23:06:41
Subject: Drop Pod / Skimmer Mishap
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
No such rule exists Solo. You are not deploying the model until after you roll scatter; until then the model is simply a marker.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/11/11 00:54:00
Subject: Drop Pod / Skimmer Mishap
|
 |
Dark Angels Librarian with Book of Secrets
|
nosferatu1001 wrote:No such rule exists Solo. You are not deploying the model until after you roll scatter; until then the model is simply a marker.
Check page 36, first bullet marker "place one model..." then look on page 90 bolded text "models may not enter, cross, or move into impassable terrain..." The first model placed is not a dime put on the board, but the actual model. That is where the scatter distance ia determined. Since a deep strike is considered movement, you may not move a model in impassable terrain, like a building, or an enemy model. It would trigger an immediate mishap if it did not scatter.
Its called common sense and reasoning. Just because they don't give you the number 5, doesn't mean the 2 and 3 don't add up to it.
And to address the other question from the OP, skimmers do not automatically move off the difficult terrain when they deep strike. They suffer mishaps like any other vehicle, except a drop pod.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/11/11 01:06:15
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/11/11 02:00:54
Subject: Drop Pod / Skimmer Mishap
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
Aizuwakamatsu, Fukushima, Japan
|
SoloFalcon1138 wrote:nosferatu1001 wrote:No such rule exists Solo. You are not deploying the model until after you roll scatter; until then the model is simply a marker.
Check page 36, first bullet marker "place one model..." then look on page 90 bolded text "models may not enter, cross, or move into impassable terrain..." The first model placed is not a dime put on the board, but the actual model. That is where the scatter distance ia determined. Since a deep strike is considered movement, you may not move a model in impassable terrain, like a building, or an enemy model. It would trigger an immediate mishap if it did not scatter.
Its called common sense and reasoning. Just because they don't give you the number 5, doesn't mean the 2 and 3 don't add up to it.
And to address the other question from the OP, skimmers do not automatically move off the difficult terrain when they deep strike. They suffer mishaps like any other vehicle, except a drop pod.
There's a difference between it being against the rules and it being a stupid thing to do. The Deep Strike rules give you permission to place the first model "anywhere on the table." Being an automatic mishap doesn't make the initial deployment illegal. The mishap rules cover what to do if any of the models are unable to deploy, and that would include the first model once scatter has been resolved.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/11/11 02:25:09
Subject: Re:Drop Pod / Skimmer Mishap
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
To jump back a little here:
Gravmyr wrote:I take it then that the entire IGS rule is a general hodgepodge RAI and not in fact applied RAW, as it is clearly applied with intent and not as it is written. Thank you. I assume that in 5th there were FAQs that tell us how the rule was to be applied but they no longer exist.
Yes and no, you are completely right that by RAW there is no explicit statement that a DP will deviate more than 1" from an enemy model if it has scattered onto it, or indeed if it does NOT scatter ON TOP of it but rather just to within 1". However; IGS is played with an accepted RAI, (has been since the SM codex came out 4-5 years ago) and it is not a hodgepodge, it is the assumption that when IGS says "in order to avoid the obstacle" the word avoid should encompass a 1" bubble around all enemy models. The logic being that the preceding parenthetical tells us that IGS will trigger for friendly or enemy models, and there is no reason to reduce the scatter from landing on an enemy model if you are then forced to land within 1" of that model and mishap anyways.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/11/11 08:56:44
Subject: Drop Pod / Skimmer Mishap
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Solo - stop cutting quotes short. You are told you can place the model ANYWHERE on the table. You're wrong on this, no prohibition on initial placement of the model, which IS a marker, exists
If you are saying it is the actual marker, then by definition the scatter must be movement. Are you claiming scatter is movement?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/11/11 10:12:11
Subject: Drop Pod / Skimmer Mishap
|
 |
Dark Angels Librarian with Book of Secrets
|
No, but deep striking is counted as movement.
Just stop tryi g to break the game.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/11/11 10:14:24
Subject: Drop Pod / Skimmer Mishap
|
 |
Cosmic Joe
|
Ok i know i'm no rules guru, but even i know this game ain't all that hard to brake.
|
Nosebiter wrote:Codex Space Marine is renamed as Codex Counts As Because I Dont Like To Loose And Gw Hates My Army. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/11/11 10:31:52
Subject: Drop Pod / Skimmer Mishap
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Again - you have allowance to place the model that is a marker (as the rules tell you!) ANYWHERE on the table
Do you disagree with that? Why are you using a basic rule to overrule an advanced, much more specific rule? Additionally you have missed out on Mawlocs - their attack is useless in your interpretaiton.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/11/11 20:18:47
Subject: Drop Pod / Skimmer Mishap
|
 |
Dark Angels Librarian with Book of Secrets
|
Do the rules call the initially placed item a model or a marker?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/11/11 20:30:14
Subject: Drop Pod / Skimmer Mishap
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
So you're saying that scattering is movement, and as such is restricted to the movement rules.
Knowing that I can now not go within 1" of enemy models I suppose my scatter will stop and I will never mishap again. Huzzah
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/11/11 20:50:30
Subject: Drop Pod / Skimmer Mishap
|
 |
Dark Angels Librarian with Book of Secrets
|
Np, JD, you misunderstand me. Deep striking itself is considered movement.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/11/11 21:46:31
Subject: Drop Pod / Skimmer Mishap
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Yep, and the initial model placed is a marker of where you would like the unit to appear, and one that has permission to be placed ANYWHERE on the table.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/11/11 23:10:05
Subject: Drop Pod / Skimmer Mishap
|
 |
Dark Angels Librarian with Book of Secrets
|
Well, if its a marker, then could I use a dime?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/11/11 23:18:46
Subject: Drop Pod / Skimmer Mishap
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
Orange Highliters work great, sharpies not so much.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/11/12 01:16:11
Subject: Re:Drop Pod / Skimmer Mishap
|
 |
Discriminating Deathmark Assassin
|
Ok so it is accepted RAI use of IGS. Should this set a precedent for the skimmer rule to do the same as it's movement is being forced by scatter to land on models?
|
ADD causes my posts to ramble from time to time. Please bear with me.
You're not a Time Lord stick with linear time.
Specific Vs General |
|
 |
 |
|