Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2020/08/14 14:47:15
Subject: Vexilla teleport homer vs AL scrambled coordinates/other similar abilities
|
 |
Twisting Tzeentch Horror
|
Posted already in the custodes thread (that doesn't exist) but I'll ask here too: Got a very important question for a game I'm about to play.
Vexilla teleport homer vs alpha legion stratagem 'scrambled coordinates'
vexilla homer is used 'at the end of the phase, when you set up a teleporting ADEPTUS CUSTODES unit from reserve' obviously within 6" and 3" away from an enemy.
The AL strat is used 'simultaneously' (end of enemy movement phase, as a unit is set up) and disallows deep strike within 12".
which trumps in this interaction? And are similar abilities (like infiltrators) promote the same result?
Cheers.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2020/08/14 14:49:16
insaniak wrote:
You can choose to focus on the parts of a hobby that make you unhappy, or you can choose to focus on the parts that you enjoy. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2020/08/14 15:33:59
Subject: Vexilla teleport homer vs AL scrambled coordinates/other similar abilities
|
 |
Damsel of the Lady
|
As I said there, I think sequencing should control and since it is your turn you setup the models with your strat and then AL's prohibition doesn't go into effect until your models are already setup.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2020/08/14 15:43:22
Subject: Re:Vexilla teleport homer vs AL scrambled coordinates/other similar abilities
|
 |
Chalice-Wielding Sanguinary High Priest
|
I don't see anything covering the conflict, specifically. The trouble with following sequencing, is that everything else that uses it (deployment, Fight phase alternating units, the fight first / fight last distinction under Rare Rules) refers to very specific cases, and none of these relate to end-of-phase conflicts (Movement or otherwise).
I can see the argument for taking the Rare Rules cases as intent the controlling player should get to go first. The problem is that in this case, it would make Scrambled Coordinates utterly useless.
However, my final thought is that 'simultaneously' is used very purposely. It's supposed to be a "gotcha!" moment, so your opponent has already declared the deep strike, and you're immediately forcing an extra restriction on that deep strike - but they do still have to go ahead and deep strike them somewhere. You wouldn't want to use it before the deep strike was declared, for example.
|
"Hard pressed on my right. My centre is yielding. Impossible to manoeuvre. Situation excellent. I am attacking." - General Ferdinand Foch |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2020/08/14 17:39:06
Subject: Re:Vexilla teleport homer vs AL scrambled coordinates/other similar abilities
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Super Ready wrote:I don't see anything covering the conflict, specifically. The trouble with following sequencing, is that everything else that uses it (deployment, Fight phase alternating units, the fight first / fight last distinction under Rare Rules) refers to very specific cases, and none of these relate to end-of-phase conflicts (Movement or otherwise).
Sequencing is for resolving two (or more) effects that will occur simultaneously; it doesn't matter when in the turn it is. It would apply to end of phase conflicts just as much as for something during a phase.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2020/08/14 17:40:45
Subject: Vexilla teleport homer vs AL scrambled coordinates/other similar abilities
|
 |
Norn Queen
|
McMagnus Mindbullets wrote:Posted already in the custodes thread (that doesn't exist) but I'll ask here too: Got a very important question for a game I'm about to play. Vexilla teleport homer vs alpha legion stratagem 'scrambled coordinates' vexilla homer is used 'at the end of the phase, when you set up a teleporting ADEPTUS CUSTODES unit from reserve' obviously within 6" and 3" away from an enemy. The AL strat is used 'simultaneously' (end of enemy movement phase, as a unit is set up) and disallows deep strike within 12". which trumps in this interaction? And are similar abilities (like infiltrators) promote the same result? Cheers.
Neither trumps. You have to follow all the rules. You have to deploy within 6" of the VEXILUS PRAETOR, more than 3" from enemy models and more than 12" from enemy models. So be careful as that stratagem can cause your unit to be destroyed via the Teleport Homer rule.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2020/08/14 17:41:35
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2020/08/14 17:51:39
Subject: Re:Vexilla teleport homer vs AL scrambled coordinates/other similar abilities
|
 |
Nihilistic Necron Lord
|
Sequencing doesnt apply here. The custodes player declares to use the stratagem, then the AL player declares scrambled coordinates, before the custodes player sets up the unit. Its not happening at the same time.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2020/08/14 18:09:21
Subject: Vexilla teleport homer vs AL scrambled coordinates/other similar abilities
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Yeah, no sequencing here. The AL strat trumps the custodes one, there's no question about it. There's a specific thing in a FAQ somewhere about prohibitive rules trumping permissive ones.
Bacon is wrong about the AL stratagem destroying your models, however, as the Teleport Homer says you "can" deploy your units within 6" of the Vex, not that you have to. So if you get the AL stratagem used on you, you can deploy them somewhere else on the board entirely, and you don't lose the unit unless there is literally nowhere on the board they can deploy more than 12" from an AL unit.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2020/08/14 18:10:19
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2020/08/14 18:23:25
Subject: Vexilla teleport homer vs AL scrambled coordinates/other similar abilities
|
 |
Norn Queen
|
yukishiro1 wrote:Yeah, no sequencing here. The AL strat trumps the custodes one, there's no question about it. There's a specific thing in a FAQ somewhere about prohibitive rules trumping permissive ones.
Bacon is wrong about the AL stratagem destroying your models, however, as the Teleport Homer says you "can" deploy your units within 6" of the Vex, not that you have to. So if you get the AL stratagem used on you, you can deploy them somewhere else on the board entirely, and you don't lose the unit unless there is literally nowhere on the board they can deploy more than 12" from an AL unit.
True, you aren't forced to deploy the unit (because of GW's silly choice to use Can instead of May to indicate optional actions), but if you do try, it'll be destroyed.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2020/08/14 18:37:29
Subject: Vexilla teleport homer vs AL scrambled coordinates/other similar abilities
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
No, that's wrong too. You do have to deploy the unit because you declared you were deploying it. You don't have to deploy it within 6" of the Vex. If you want to use the stratagem then deploy your unit on the other side of the table simply because you feel like it, you're allowed to do so - there's be no point without the AL strat being used against you, but you could do it if you want. The stratagem just gives you the option to deploy them within 6" of the Vex and further than 3" from enemies, it doesn't require you to take that option. You can always go back to the normal option of anywhere 9" from enemies. The "models that cannot be set up this way are destroyed" is only triggered if you choose to utilize the option the stratagem gives you. You don't even declare the unit to use it on when you use the strat, so if you have two deep strikers, you can use one to get the person to use the AL stratagem, and then you can still use the Homer for your second unit, after you've deployed the first one somewhere else more than 12" from enemies.
|
This message was edited 4 times. Last update was at 2020/08/14 18:50:06
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2020/08/14 18:41:02
Subject: Vexilla teleport homer vs AL scrambled coordinates/other similar abilities
|
 |
Damsel of the Lady
|
BaconCatBug wrote: McMagnus Mindbullets wrote:Posted already in the custodes thread (that doesn't exist) but I'll ask here too: Got a very important question for a game I'm about to play.
Vexilla teleport homer vs alpha legion stratagem 'scrambled coordinates'
vexilla homer is used 'at the end of the phase, when you set up a teleporting ADEPTUS CUSTODES unit from reserve' obviously within 6" and 3" away from an enemy.
The AL strat is used 'simultaneously' (end of enemy movement phase, as a unit is set up) and disallows deep strike within 12".
which trumps in this interaction? And are similar abilities (like infiltrators) promote the same result?
Cheers.
Neither trumps. You have to follow all the rules. You have to deploy within 6" of the VEXILUS PRAETOR, more than 3" from enemy models and more than 12" from enemy models. So be careful as that stratagem can cause your unit to be destroyed via the Teleport Homer rule.
I may not remember it exactly, but I think the deploying them is part of resolving the Custodes strat. You would be right if the strat just gave you permission to setup different, but I think setting up is part of the strat. So if you resolve one strat first due to sequencing, you are on the board before the AL strat goes.
That said, I could be remembering the strat wrong, in which case you're right.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2020/08/14 18:43:57
Subject: Re:Vexilla teleport homer vs AL scrambled coordinates/other similar abilities
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
No, the strat is used at the end of the movement phase, not when you set up the models. It wouldn't matter either way, the AL strat would still trump, but here is the text:
Use this Stratagem at the end of your Movement phase.
When you set up a teleporting ADEPTUS CUSTODES unit
at the end of the phase, you can set it up wholly within 6"
of a friendly VEXILUS PRAETOR (other than one that was
set up in this turn) and more than 3" from enemy models.
Any models that cannot be set up this way are destroyed.
Meanwhile the AL strat:
Use this Stratagem in your opponent’s Movement
phase, when an enemy unit is set up on the battlefield
as reinforcements but before it is placed on the
battlefield. That unit must be set up more than 12"
away from ALPHA LEGION units from your army,
rather than 9".
The Custodes strat has to be used before setting up the unit, the AL one is used when they are set up.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2020/08/14 18:46:19
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2020/08/14 19:01:36
Subject: Re:Vexilla teleport homer vs AL scrambled coordinates/other similar abilities
|
 |
Damsel of the Lady
|
yukishiro1 wrote:No, the strat is used at the end of the movement phase, not when you set up the models. It wouldn't matter either way, the AL strat would still trump, but here is the text:
Use this Stratagem at the end of your Movement phase.
When you set up a teleporting ADEPTUS CUSTODES unit
at the end of the phase, you can set it up wholly within 6"
of a friendly VEXILUS PRAETOR (other than one that was
set up in this turn) and more than 3" from enemy models.
Any models that cannot be set up this way are destroyed.
Meanwhile the AL strat:
Use this Stratagem in your opponent’s Movement
phase, when an enemy unit is set up on the battlefield
as reinforcements but before it is placed on the
battlefield. That unit must be set up more than 12"
away from ALPHA LEGION units from your army,
rather than 9".
The Custodes strat has to be used before setting up the unit, the AL one is used when they are set up.
I do not think you are understanding me. My response isn't predicated on when the strat is used (both strats have to be simultaneous anyway otherwise we don't have this discussion to begin with).
If a strat says:
"Setup Unit X at Y coordinates" then you MUST setup the unit to resolve the strat. Under sequencing, you fully resolve that strat before moving onto the next item in the sequence. That's different than a strat that says "When doing X, you may setup unit at Y coordinates" because resolving the strat does not require setting up the model.
Looking at the language of Vexilla, it's the latter category though. It is "When doing X" not "Do X".
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2020/08/14 19:09:57
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2020/08/14 19:17:04
Subject: Re:Vexilla teleport homer vs AL scrambled coordinates/other similar abilities
|
 |
Chalice-Wielding Sanguinary High Priest
|
In that case, in a real world scenario it could go either way depending entirely on the timing of when the Stratagems are declared - not when they're applied. Custodes player starts by declaring that they're teleporting a unit in. That has to be declared before you start placing the unit, after all.
The Alpha Legion player could then choose to invoke their Stratagem at this point - if they do, the Custodes player hasn't yet declared they'll use their Stratagem, but can still do so if they want.
However - the Custodes player could declare that they'll use the Stratagem, and because they have to do that before placing models, the Alpha Legion player can still quickly butt in and invoke the Stratagem then, too. This way round, the Custodes player has already declared use of the Stratagem, so they have to pay the Command Point price for doing so. Sure enough, the Custodes Stratagem does say that you CAN set the unit up wholly within 6" of the Vexilus, so it's an option - but the Stratagem's already in play, and that last sentence is unambiguous. So if you actively choose NOT to deploy models within that 6", they ARE destroyed.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2020/08/14 19:17:47
"Hard pressed on my right. My centre is yielding. Impossible to manoeuvre. Situation excellent. I am attacking." - General Ferdinand Foch |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2020/08/14 19:36:38
Subject: Vexilla teleport homer vs AL scrambled coordinates/other similar abilities
|
 |
Confessor Of Sins
|
Going strictly by the RAW, the AC stratagem is not impacted by the AL stratagem because it doesn’t have a 9” deployment distance to change to 12”.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2020/08/14 19:40:00
Subject: Vexilla teleport homer vs AL scrambled coordinates/other similar abilities
|
 |
Norn Queen
|
alextroy wrote:Going strictly by the RAW, the AC stratagem is not impacted by the AL stratagem because it doesn’t have a 9” deployment distance to change to 12”.
That's... actually a good point! The Alpha Legion stratagem doesn't actually do anything to the Custard stratagem! Nice catch! This is why exact quotes are important. Psychic Awakening: Faith and Fury, Page 74 wrote:SCRAMBLED COORDINATES [...] Use this Stratagem in your opponent’s Movement phase, when an enemy unit is set up on the battlefield as reinforcements but before it is placed on the battlefield. That unit must be set up more than 12" away from ALPHA LEGION units from your army, rather than 9".
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2020/08/14 19:41:10
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2020/08/14 19:55:21
Subject: Re:Vexilla teleport homer vs AL scrambled coordinates/other similar abilities
|
 |
Chalice-Wielding Sanguinary High Priest
|
Hah! A very good catch... and one that wouldn't even be necessary, if the Stratagem just cut off those last few words, which aren't really needed anyway.
|
"Hard pressed on my right. My centre is yielding. Impossible to manoeuvre. Situation excellent. I am attacking." - General Ferdinand Foch |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 0010/08/14 19:59:12
Subject: Vexilla teleport homer vs AL scrambled coordinates/other similar abilities
|
 |
Twisting Tzeentch Horror
|
BaconCatBug wrote: alextroy wrote:Going strictly by the RAW, the AC stratagem is not impacted by the AL stratagem because it doesn’t have a 9” deployment distance to change to 12”.
That's... actually a good point! The Alpha Legion stratagem doesn't actually do anything to the Custard stratagem! Nice catch! This is why exact quotes are important.
Psychic Awakening: Faith and Fury, Page 74 wrote:SCRAMBLED COORDINATES
[...]
Use this Stratagem in your opponent’s Movement phase, when an enemy unit is set up on the battlefield as reinforcements but before it is placed on the battlefield. That unit must be set up more than 12" away from ALPHA LEGION units from your army, rather than 9".
I discussed this with my opponent before the battle, and this is the ruling we decided to go with.
It is a very tricky situation of the rules, but I think because of the fact the AL stratagem states 'rather than 9" ' the custodes stratagem wins out as nowhere in that stratagem does it mention 9".
I think this is how I personally play the situation, but perhaps some clarification by GW is needed. Some very good points from all sides though guys! Automatically Appended Next Post: And let me just add that this allowed me to kill his obliterators
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2020/08/14 20:07:49
insaniak wrote:
You can choose to focus on the parts of a hobby that make you unhappy, or you can choose to focus on the parts that you enjoy. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2020/08/14 20:27:55
Subject: Vexilla teleport homer vs AL scrambled coordinates/other similar abilities
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
alextroy wrote:Going strictly by the RAW, the AC stratagem is not impacted by the AL stratagem because it doesn’t have a 9” deployment distance to change to 12”.
It would still apply.
The bit about 9 inches is just the normal distance units need to be. That is all the context of that reference.
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2020/08/14 20:33:06
Subject: Vexilla teleport homer vs AL scrambled coordinates/other similar abilities
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
DeathReaper wrote: alextroy wrote:Going strictly by the RAW, the AC stratagem is not impacted by the AL stratagem because it doesn’t have a 9” deployment distance to change to 12”.
It would still apply.
The bit about 9 inches is just the normal distance units need to be. That is all the context of that reference.
For RAI, perhaps, but for strict RAW it is more than 12" instead of more than 9", so something that doesn't specify more than 9" would not be affected.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2020/08/14 21:14:25
Subject: Re:Vexilla teleport homer vs AL scrambled coordinates/other similar abilities
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
I don't think that's right. "Rather than 9" isn't a condition there. If it had said "when a unit is set up that must be set up more than 9" from enemy units, it must be set up more than 12" instead" that'd be true, but that's not what it says. It says when the unit is set up, it has to be set up more than 12" away, rather than the standard 9". The "rather than" in that sentence places no semantic condition on the first part of the sentence, it's merely explanatory.
There is a FAQ that also says that abilities that increase deep strike range "always" trump those that decrease it:
Q: If a unit has a rule that says enemy units cannot set up
within a certain distance of it (e.g. Omni-scramblers), but an
enemy unit has a rule that says it can set up within a certain
distance (e.g. Vexilla Teleport Homer and Lying in Wait),
which takes precedence?
A: The rule that says you cannot be set up within a
certain distance (in the example instance, Omniscramblers) always takes precedence.
https://www.warhammer-community.com/wp-content/uploads/2019/04/warhammer_40000_shadowspear_en-1.pdf
Note that this ruling is not limited to the specific ability, it covers any ability that increases the minimum distance. I get that the specific ability they mentioned doesn't have the "rather than 9 inches" language, but it shouldn't matter: the FAQ covers any ability that does this sort of thing, and specifies that it always trumps the thing that reduces the distance.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2020/08/14 21:16:05
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2020/08/14 21:19:46
Subject: Vexilla teleport homer vs AL scrambled coordinates/other similar abilities
|
 |
Norn Queen
|
DeathReaper wrote: alextroy wrote:Going strictly by the RAW, the AC stratagem is not impacted by the AL stratagem because it doesn’t have a 9” deployment distance to change to 12”.
It would still apply.
The bit about 9 inches is just the normal distance units need to be. That is all the context of that reference.
Again, you screaming about context doesn't change the rule. It literally says "rather than 9"". The Custodes rule doesn't have the term "9"" anywhere in the rule, so it can't be "rather than 9"". Automatically Appended Next Post: yukishiro1 wrote:I don't think that's right. "Rather than 9" isn't a condition there. If it had said "when a unit is set up that must be set up more than 9" from enemy units, it must be set up more than 12" instead" that'd be true, but that's not what it says. It says when the unit is set up, it has to be set up more than 12" away, rather than the standard 9". The "rather than" in that sentence places no semantic condition on the first part of the sentence, it's merely explanatory.
There is a FAQ that also says that abilities that increase deep strike range "always" trump those that decrease it:
Q: If a unit has a rule that says enemy units cannot set up
within a certain distance of it (e.g. Omni-scramblers), but an
enemy unit has a rule that says it can set up within a certain
distance (e.g. Vexilla Teleport Homer and Lying in Wait),
which takes precedence?
A: The rule that says you cannot be set up within a
certain distance (in the example instance, Omniscramblers) always takes precedence.
https://www.warhammer-community.com/wp-content/uploads/2019/04/warhammer_40000_shadowspear_en-1.pdf
Note that this ruling is not limited to the specific ability, it covers any ability that increases the minimum distance. I get that the specific ability they mentioned doesn't have the "rather than 9 inches" language, but it shouldn't matter: the FAQ covers any ability that does this sort of thing, and specifies that it always trumps the thing that reduces the distance.
it doesn't apply here because Omni-Scramblers is just a flat "cannot be set up within 12" while the AL stratagem is "rather than 9"", which doesn't affect the Custodes Stratagem.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2020/08/14 21:20:57
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2020/08/14 21:25:31
Subject: Re:Vexilla teleport homer vs AL scrambled coordinates/other similar abilities
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
yukishiro1 wrote:I don't think that's right. "Rather than 9" isn't a condition there. If it had said "when a unit is set up that must be set up more than 9" from enemy units, it must be set up more than 12" instead" that'd be true, but that's not what it says. It says when the unit is set up, it has to be set up more than 12" away, rather than the standard 9". The "rather than" in that sentence places no semantic condition on the first part of the sentence, it's merely explanatory.
There is a FAQ that also says that abilities that increase deep strike range "always" trump those that decrease it:
Q: If a unit has a rule that says enemy units cannot set up
within a certain distance of it (e.g. Omni-scramblers), but an
enemy unit has a rule that says it can set up within a certain
distance (e.g. Vexilla Teleport Homer and Lying in Wait),
which takes precedence?
A: The rule that says you cannot be set up within a
certain distance (in the example instance, Omniscramblers) always takes precedence.
https://www.warhammer-community.com/wp-content/uploads/2019/04/warhammer_40000_shadowspear_en-1.pdf
Note that this ruling is not limited to the specific ability, it covers any ability that increases the minimum distance. I get that the specific ability they mentioned doesn't have the "rather than 9 inches" language, but it shouldn't matter: the FAQ covers any ability that does this sort of thing, and specifies that it always trumps the thing that reduces the distance.
It would still come down to the Custodes using something at the end of the movement phase as they come in vs. the stratagem "simultanously" being used at the end of the movement phase. As they are simultaneous, sequencing would fall to the player whose turn it is (the Custodes' player), so can choose to have the Custodes deploy before the stratagem.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2020/08/14 21:27:52
Subject: Vexilla teleport homer vs AL scrambled coordinates/other similar abilities
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
BaconCatBug wrote: DeathReaper wrote: alextroy wrote:Going strictly by the RAW, the AC stratagem is not impacted by the AL stratagem because it doesn’t have a 9” deployment distance to change to 12”.
It would still apply.
The bit about 9 inches is just the normal distance units need to be. That is all the context of that reference.
Again, you screaming about context doesn't change the rule. It literally says "rather than 9"". The Custodes rule doesn't have the term "9"" anywhere in the rule, so it can't be "rather than 9"".
Automatically Appended Next Post:
yukishiro1 wrote:I don't think that's right. "Rather than 9" isn't a condition there. If it had said "when a unit is set up that must be set up more than 9" from enemy units, it must be set up more than 12" instead" that'd be true, but that's not what it says. It says when the unit is set up, it has to be set up more than 12" away, rather than the standard 9". The "rather than" in that sentence places no semantic condition on the first part of the sentence, it's merely explanatory.
There is a FAQ that also says that abilities that increase deep strike range "always" trump those that decrease it:
Q: If a unit has a rule that says enemy units cannot set up
within a certain distance of it (e.g. Omni-scramblers), but an
enemy unit has a rule that says it can set up within a certain
distance (e.g. Vexilla Teleport Homer and Lying in Wait),
which takes precedence?
A: The rule that says you cannot be set up within a
certain distance (in the example instance, Omniscramblers) always takes precedence.
https://www.warhammer-community.com/wp-content/uploads/2019/04/warhammer_40000_shadowspear_en-1.pdf
Note that this ruling is not limited to the specific ability, it covers any ability that increases the minimum distance. I get that the specific ability they mentioned doesn't have the "rather than 9 inches" language, but it shouldn't matter: the FAQ covers any ability that does this sort of thing, and specifies that it always trumps the thing that reduces the distance.
it doesn't apply here because Omni-Scramblers is just a flat "cannot be set up within 12" while the AL stratagem is "rather than 9"", which doesn't affect the Custodes Stratagem.
Omniscramblers is just an example, the FAQ by its own words covers any rule that increases the distance units can be set up at from the unit, which would cover the AL rule. And "rather than 9 inches" isn't a limitation on the stratagem in the first place, I'm only citing the FAQ to show that this specific question has been ruled on anyway in the past, so we don't even need to argue about the grammar of the sentence, or reference the fact that that's always how the strat has been ruled at major tournaments.
Presumably you won't agree the FAQ covers it, and won't care what tournaments have ruled, which means we'll just need to agree we don't agree.
Automatically Appended Next Post:
doctortom wrote:
It would still come down to the Custodes using something at the end of the movement phase as they come in vs. the stratagem "simultanously" being used at the end of the movement phase. As they are simultaneous, sequencing would fall to the player whose turn it is (the Custodes' player), so can choose to have the Custodes deploy before the stratagem.
No, please read the earlier part of the thread. This is just unambiguously wrong, no interpretation required. The Custodes strat is used BEFORE you set up a unit. You don't even choose the unit when you use it; you just declare you're using the strat and then you can use the benefit of it on any one of the units you then deploy via reinforcements. The AL strat, by contrast, is used when a particular unit is being set up. There's no possible way they resolve at the same time. The custodes strat fully resolves before any units are deployed, and the AL strat isn't triggered until the custodes player selects a unit to then be deployed.
|
This message was edited 5 times. Last update was at 2020/08/14 21:40:25
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2020/08/14 21:53:22
Subject: Re:Vexilla teleport homer vs AL scrambled coordinates/other similar abilities
|
 |
Twisting Tzeentch Horror
|
yukishiro1 wrote:I don't think that's right. "Rather than 9" isn't a condition there. If it had said "when a unit is set up that must be set up more than 9" from enemy units, it must be set up more than 12" instead" that'd be true, but that's not what it says. It says when the unit is set up, it has to be set up more than 12" away, rather than the standard 9". The "rather than" in that sentence places no semantic condition on the first part of the sentence, it's merely explanatory.
There is a FAQ that also says that abilities that increase deep strike range "always" trump those that decrease it:
Q: If a unit has a rule that says enemy units cannot set up
within a certain distance of it (e.g. Omni-scramblers), but an
enemy unit has a rule that says it can set up within a certain
distance (e.g. Vexilla Teleport Homer and Lying in Wait),
which takes precedence?
A: The rule that says you cannot be set up within a
certain distance (in the example instance, Omniscramblers) always takes precedence.
https://www.warhammer-community.com/wp-content/uploads/2019/04/warhammer_40000_shadowspear_en-1.pdf
Note that this ruling is not limited to the specific ability, it covers any ability that increases the minimum distance. I get that the specific ability they mentioned doesn't have the "rather than 9 inches" language, but it shouldn't matter: the FAQ covers any ability that does this sort of thing, and specifies that it always trumps the thing that reduces the distance.
aha! So there is indeed an FAQ covering this in an instance with a unit with such an ability.
However, simply playing devils advocate (and as a hopeful custodes player)- the ruling here seems to cover specific abilities which deny units being set up within a certain distance of them separately to the standard deepstrike across game 9"- the way I see it the AL stratagem, instead of providing hard area denial steadfastly, as omniscramblers do, the stratagem increases the distance of the normal 9" which the teleport homer completely ignores- it disregards the normal clause of deepstrike restrictions and allows units to be set up within 6" of the banner rather than in another fashion. I understand that this does not apply to units that have rules which hard deny of being set up, as that is an additional rule that happens to simply improve the normal distance. The way I understand the AL stratagem to work is the way you wrote it: "when a unit is set up that must be set up more than 9" from enemy units, it must be set up more than 12" instead"
But again, I'm reading into this as a hopeful custodes player.
I'm going to write an email to the rules team for clarification.
|
insaniak wrote:
You can choose to focus on the parts of a hobby that make you unhappy, or you can choose to focus on the parts that you enjoy. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2020/08/14 21:58:59
Subject: Vexilla teleport homer vs AL scrambled coordinates/other similar abilities
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Yeah, but that isn't what it says. The "rather than 9"" at the end isn't a condition on what comes before. I mean I agree that if that is what it said you'd be right, I just don't think it says that. I think the "rather than 9"" is just explanatory, not limiting. Not because I think that's what intended (though I think it what is intended as well), but simply because that's how the grammar of the sentence works.
I agree, however, that unlike the argument about the order of resolution, it's not something you can definitely prove one way or the other - it comes down to a subjective call as to how the clause is being used, and there's no clear, always-right answer to that in the English language. So you'd have to say it's ambiguous. I think the 90% answer is that the AL strat works and stops it, but I can see the argument going the other way, and I don't think there's any way to definitively prove it one way or the other without a further FAQ.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2020/08/14 22:00:13
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2020/08/14 21:59:24
Subject: Vexilla teleport homer vs AL scrambled coordinates/other similar abilities
|
 |
Norn Queen
|
As I have already stated, the FAQ does not apply to this instance.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2020/08/14 22:02:29
Subject: Vexilla teleport homer vs AL scrambled coordinates/other similar abilities
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Right, and as I've already stated, I disagree; it does apply. There is no limitation in it to only strats that don't have a "rather than 9"" on the end, it applies to any strat that increases the minimum range.
We could keep stating what we've already stated, but it's probably not useful. Anyone reading the thread will just have to read each of our positions and choose the one they think is more convincing.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2020/08/14 23:08:54
Subject: Vexilla teleport homer vs AL scrambled coordinates/other similar abilities
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
BaconCatBug wrote: DeathReaper wrote: alextroy wrote:Going strictly by the RAW, the AC stratagem is not impacted by the AL stratagem because it doesn’t have a 9” deployment distance to change to 12”.
It would still apply.
The bit about 9 inches is just the normal distance units need to be. That is all the context of that reference.
Again, you screaming about context doesn't change the rule. It literally says "rather than 9"". The Custodes rule doesn't have the term "9"" anywhere in the rule, so it can't be "rather than 9"".
I am not screaming about it. Stop being rude.
I am simply applying context. The normal rules say 9", so they included that bit at the end as a reminder.
It does not mean they have to be set up 9" to be affected. It is simply reminding you of the normal setup procedure.
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2020/08/14 23:15:25
Subject: Vexilla teleport homer vs AL scrambled coordinates/other similar abilities
|
 |
Norn Queen
|
DeathReaper wrote: BaconCatBug wrote: DeathReaper wrote: alextroy wrote:Going strictly by the RAW, the AC stratagem is not impacted by the AL stratagem because it doesn’t have a 9” deployment distance to change to 12”.
It would still apply. The bit about 9 inches is just the normal distance units need to be. That is all the context of that reference.
Again, you screaming about context doesn't change the rule. It literally says "rather than 9"". The Custodes rule doesn't have the term "9"" anywhere in the rule, so it can't be "rather than 9"".
I am not screaming about it. Stop being rude. I am simply applying context. The normal rules say 9", so they included that bit at the end as a reminder. It does not mean they have to be set up 9" to be affected. It is simply reminding you of the normal setup procedure.
The "normal rules" don't say anything of the sort. A lot of specific rules have a 9" bubble, but the Custodes stratagem does not. Thus the AL stratagem doesn't affect it. You're free to house rule it to work with the Custodes stratagem, but RaW it does not. As my signature states, My YMDC answers are from a "What the rules, as written (or modified by Special Snowflake FAQ) in the rulebooks, actually say" perspective, not a "What I wish the rules said" perspective. Even GW agrees with me, send an email to 40kfaq@gwplc.com for a confirmation reply "4. Apply The Rules As Written. If you still don’t have a satisfactory answer, use the rule just as it is written if you possibly can, even if you are not completely happy with the effect the rule has."
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2020/08/14 23:16:32
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2020/08/14 23:30:19
Subject: Vexilla teleport homer vs AL scrambled coordinates/other similar abilities
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
BaconCatBug wrote:The "normal rules" don't say anything of the sort. A lot of specific rules have a 9" bubble, but the Custodes stratagem does not. Thus the AL stratagem doesn't affect it.
This is of course false. 90+% of units that have a deep strike type of ability have to be set up more thna 9 inches away, thus the overwhelming majority = the normal in this case. P.S. I am allpying the rule as written.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2020/08/14 23:32:45
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
|