Switch Theme:

New Eldar Dex new questions (hurra!)  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in de
Rampaging Carnifex






Franconia

So after the Eldar Codex lying around in our shop for watching and drawing stupid beards on the harlie pics the first unanserable question poped up.
Can an Autarch use the troop abilities given by an exarch?
The reason: The Rulebook has that pages with special abilities which the troop gets or lose when join a character or the other way round.
With the eldar codex comes up a whole new bunch of special abilities and here comes the critical piont. The entry in the striking scorpion section forbids the Autarch to use their Infiltation ability.
The conclusion would be that he can use the ability from other troops. The entry in the rulebook for characters says that a independent character loses all his special abilities or the squad he has joined with comment to page 74-75 to watch them up.

Do we have a case of overuling the base rules here? (what should not happen)

I know when it is closing time. - Rascal Mod

"Some people measure common sense with a ruler others with a potato."- Making Money Terry Pratchett
"what's with all the hate go paint something you lazy bastards" - NAVARRO
"You don't need pants for the victory dance." -BAWTRM
 
   
Made in us
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Los Angeles, CA

Posted By Symbio Joe on 10/16/2006 2:28 AM
The entry in the striking scorpion section forbids the Autarch to use their Infiltation ability.
The conclusion would be that he can use the ability from other troops. The entry in the rulebook for characters says that a independent character loses all his special abilities or the squad he has joined with comment to page 74-75 to watch them up.

Do we have a case of overuling the base rules here? (what should not happen)



Aarrrrrrgggggggghhhhhhhhh. How many times do we have to go over this basic fact? What you have stated is a very basic fallacy.

The fact that the Infiltration section forbids the Auturch from using their Infiltration ability in no way suggest that the basic rules for characters and USRs is now suddenly invalid.

You've got it backwards: If there is a basic overiding rule, another rule must specifically contradict (overide) the existing rule for the basic rule to no longer be in effect.

Why did the designers put a rendundant clarifier in the Infiltration rule? Who knows and who cares. Perhaps they just wanted to make that point EXTRA clear.

What is abundantly clear to those who understand logical arguments is that the re-statement of a basic rule that is already in effect in no way invalidates through assumption other basic rules that aren't re-stated.

 

I am honestly amazed that this same argument comes up over and over and over again in different flavors. Its enough to make me add a "rule #2" to my signature.

 


I play (click on icons to see pics): DQ:70+S++G(FAQ)M++B-I++Pw40k92/f-D+++A+++/areWD104R+T(D)DM+++
yakface's 40K rule #1: Although the rules allow you to use modeling to your advantage, how badly do you need to win your toy soldier games?
yakface's 40K rule #2: Friends don't let friends start a MEQ army.
yakface's 40K rule #3: Codex does not ALWAYS trump the rulebook, so please don't say that!
Waaagh Dakka: click the banner to learn more! 
   
Made in de
Rampaging Carnifex






Franconia

Me sorry, me only post here when thinks it is agood question. Me stupid. Forgive me.

I know when it is closing time. - Rascal Mod

"Some people measure common sense with a ruler others with a potato."- Making Money Terry Pratchett
"what's with all the hate go paint something you lazy bastards" - NAVARRO
"You don't need pants for the victory dance." -BAWTRM
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: