Switch Theme:

Harlies require the entire unit to be within Veil of Tears roll?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in fi
Been Around the Block




Any enemy unit wishing to target the Shadowseer or the unit she is with [must roll for VoT]...If the models are not within spotting range, they may not fire that turn.


RAW would seem to dictate that all models need to be within the 2D6x2 inches.

   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





I disagree.

If any portion of the unit is withing the spotting distance, the unit is within spotting distance. Granted, that means that it's quite possible that not all of the members of the unit can shoot the harlies (if those members aren't within the spotting distance), but the ones that are can certainly shoot them.

There you go using your ?common sense? again.
-Mannahnin 
   
Made in fi
Been Around the Block




That's how it's going to get played, but the wording of "unit wishing to target" and "if the models aren't within spotting range, they may not fire" does IMO mean that if some are outside, no one can fire.
   
Made in us
Bounding Ultramarine Assault Trooper




You choose a unit that wishes to fire at the Harlies, then roll. Any model of that unit that is within the range can fire on the harlies. 
At least that's how I'd interpret the use of "unit" and "model" in the rules.
   
Made in au
Land Raider Pilot on Cruise Control




Australia

To me it seems to be slightly better than the way I thought it would have been played. I thought that if the unit successfully spotted by rolling at least the distance between the two closest models in LOS of each other, then the whole unit can fire at the whole unit of harlies. But the way it's written, it appears that the unit rolls for spotting, and any model in the unit that can spot the closest harlie can shoot, and kill any harlie in range, if they are too far away they can't shoot.

109/20/22 w/d/l
Tournament: 25/5/5 
   
Made in au
Fresh-Faced New User



The USSR aka the place with the bombs

I play that you roll for spoting then any harlie with in the distance of the enamy unit fireing at the can be killed.

ie if there are 10 maires fireing at them 12" away and the roll for VoT is 14" and there are 3 harlies with in 14" then those 3 can be killed. Even if there are 5 unsave wounds
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut






The rule is crystal clear. You roll for spotting distance and that's how far each model in the firing unit can be from the harlies in order to fire.

Again, If an individual model is in range of any harlies, it may shoot.

Then, when it shoots, casualties are pulled anywhere from withing the range of the gun.

Veil of Tears does nothing to change the range of the gun shooting. It only affects if the unit may be selected as a target and if the gun is fired in the first place.

So if a unit of marines with bolters that stood still rolls 14", and all of the marines are within 14" of one of the harlies, then they all shoot and casualties are pulled out to 24", as that is the range of the bolters.


"I've still got a job, so the rules must be good enough" - Design team motto.  
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: