| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/05/15 05:53:56
Subject: Yet Another Lizard Special Char Question...
|
 |
Courageous Skink Brave
|
Tetto'eko rides a palanquin that "operates the same as a Mage-Priest's except that Tetto'eko may be placed in the second rank of a unit of Skinks rather then Temple Guard..."
The question is: can he still be placed in the second rank of a unit of Temple Guard? That is, does "rather" mean he can choose to hide with Skinks instead of Temple Guard, or that he has the ability to hide with Skinks instead of the ability to hide with Temple Guard.
The fluff actually ends with "...the Temple Guard bowing low as he goes about his duties," so I'm inclined to the former, but it could be read either way.
(My FLGS is having a special character event...)
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/05/15 05:58:48
Subject: Yet Another Lizard Special Char Question...
|
 |
Avatar of the Bloody-Handed God
|
On page 69, i would say no. because of the word "rather"
then Temple Guard.
You could also interpret bowing low (as he goes about his duties ) surely it means they didnt follow him either.
So imo no
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/05/15 06:01:09
Paused
◙▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬
◂◂ ► ▐ ▌ ◼ ▸▸
ʳʷ ᵖˡᵃʸ ᵖᵃᵘˢᵉ ˢᵗᵒᵖ ᶠᶠ |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/05/15 13:28:17
Subject: Yet Another Lizard Special Char Question...
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
It states "may" which means that he CAN be placed there, unlike a Slaan which MUST go in a unit of TG.
The "rather" indicates that, as he doesnt have the Guardian rule, he can go in Skinks RATHER [instead of] than TG. He is not given permission by having the palanquin itself, as the rules for the 2nd rank are within the Guardian rule.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/05/15 13:34:09
Subject: Yet Another Lizard Special Char Question...
|
 |
Avatar of the Bloody-Handed God
|
nosferatu1001 wrote:It states "may" which means that he CAN be placed there, unlike a Slaan which MUST go in a unit of TG.
The "rather" indicates that, as he doesnt have the Guardian rule, he can go in Skinks RATHER [instead of] than TG. He is not given permission by having the palanquin itself, as the rules for the 2nd rank are within the Guardian rule.
Wouldnt the "may" possibly mean he can choose to be not in any skink unit , alone?
|
Paused
◙▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬
◂◂ ► ▐ ▌ ◼ ▸▸
ʳʷ ᵖˡᵃʸ ᵖᵃᵘˢᵉ ˢᵗᵒᵖ ᶠᶠ |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/05/15 16:23:50
Subject: Yet Another Lizard Special Char Question...
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Yes, he can choose to be in a skink unit or not - which is what i said. I was comparing to a normal slaan which must go in a TG unit (by their rule if memory serves, not his) whereas skink have no such requirement when this special char is on the table.
I was trying to show the "may" was to give the choice [may go in unit | may stay out of unit] not [may go in 2nd rank of TG | may go in 2nd rank of skink unit]
The "rather" indicates this is instead of the TG unit, however the "rather" is more like a reminder - without the "Guardian" special rule, which contains the palanquin LOS as well as placement in the TG unit, they could not go in the 2nd rank of a TG unit as they have no rule telling them they can do so.
|
|
|
 |
 |
|
|