Switch Theme:

Using HQ Leadership?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Stalwart Veteran Guard Sergeant






The other day I was talking with a few guys at my FLGS and someone said that any unit within 18' (maybe it was 12') of an HQ could use the HQ's leadership for taking morale checks.

I am pretty unsure about this rule and I can find it no where in the rulebook. Have any of you guys heard of this? Is it true?

A soldier will fight long and hard for a bit of colored ribbon

W/D/L
44 1 3 
   
Made in gb
Proud Phantom Titan







Some IC have special rules that allow this but not all. Only way to know for sure is to ask to see the rule in the codex.


appended for the post below ... Commissars have this ability (with in 6") and Yarrik gets it within 12" as mention in the OP

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/06/18 15:50:31


 
   
Made in us
Enginseer with a Wrench





Salt Lake City, UT

House rule.

Certain HQ units (i.e. Sicarius) have rules that allow your army to use their Ld, but what you stated above is not an official rule that I have ever seen or heard of.
   
Made in us
Heroic Senior Officer





Woodbridge, VA

You can't find it cause it's not there. Certain codexes do have variations of that ability, but there's no overarching "everybody can do it" rule along these lines in 40K.
Now perchance were these guys Fantasy players? They do have that sort of rule................

Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD 
   
Made in us
Stalwart Veteran Guard Sergeant






I knew that certain HQs, especially Imp Guard, could allow nearby units to use their LD for various reasons. However, these guys were pushing that HQs in general, as in every HQ selection in every army, could lend their LD to other units within 12' / 18'. This came up after a discussion over the effectiveness of Psyker Battle Squads.

House rule.


I checked with the Tourny OP and he stated that no such House rule was in effect.

Now perchance were these guys Fantasy players? They do have that sort of rule................


I am positive that we were talking about 40k, but I know these guys do play a great deal of Fantasy. It is possible that they simply got the rules confused, assuming a similar rule exists for Fantasy.

A soldier will fight long and hard for a bit of colored ribbon

W/D/L
44 1 3 
   
Made in us
Heroic Senior Officer





Woodbridge, VA

As for the IG, only one HQ does that now, the Commissar Lord.

Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD 
   
Made in us
Enginseer with a Wrench





Salt Lake City, UT

Manstein wrote:
House rule.


I checked with the Tourny OP and he stated that no such House rule was in effect.

I was just referring to the rule as, by definition, a house rule. If the TO was presenting it as an actual rule to you, he is still presenting a house rule as what you described in your OP is not a rule in Warhammer 40k.
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut







In WHFB, units within 12" of the army's general can use the general's leadership. As everyone else has said, apart from some special characters, there's no corresponding rule in 40K.
   
Made in us
Stalwart Veteran Guard Sergeant






Kaloran, I understand ya. I was just stating that I checked to see if it was a house rule.

But yea, it sounds a lot like he just got a Fantasy rule confused with 40k. Thanks for the help guys!

A soldier will fight long and hard for a bit of colored ribbon

W/D/L
44 1 3 
   
Made in au
Lone Wolf Sentinel Pilot






they cannot do it unless specified in their entries

Many started armies including: / , , ....and Bretonnia 
   
Made in gb
Lord of the Fleet






Doesn't happen in 40K. Guard used to do this but not any more.
   
Made in ca
Focused Fire Warrior




Special character with Tau has a piece of wargear that gives this ability.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2009/06/20 03:07:07


 
   
Made in au
Lone Wolf Sentinel Pilot






colonel584 wrote:they cannot do it unless specified in their entries

i think that finished the argument

Many started armies including: / , , ....and Bretonnia 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: