Switch Theme:

Celestine and the reserves rule  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Preacher of the Emperor






Manchester, UK

MY copy of the WH codex states that if Celestine loses her final wound, she is placed in reserve and will re-enter play on the next WH turn on a d6 roll of a 4+, then the turn after on a 3+ etc...

Thing is, it then says 'as per the normal reserves rules'.

I admit to not being familiar with the reserve rules in editions before fifth - The last time i played was second edition.

The current 'normal reserves rules' state that units in reserve automatically enter play on the fifth turn. Due to the wording in the codex being somewhat ambiguous, does this mean that if Celestine is killed on turn 4, then passes her leadership test, she will automatically re-enter play on turn 5?

In a recent friendly game, i played it as having to roll for her to re-enter play. In a tournament i would probably argue that it would be automatic. Is this a fair conclusion to draw?

1500pts

Gwar! wrote:Debate it all you want, I just report what the rules actually say. It's up to others to tie their panties in a Knot. I stopped caring long ago.

 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Sorry, it isn't automatic - "as per the normal reserves rule" means you would follow the normal decreasing steps for reserves, e.g. 4+, 3+.....so you would have to go 4 turns before it would be automatic.
   
Made in gb
Preacher of the Emperor






Manchester, UK

Which i think would be fine if the WH codex stated that Celestine is put into reserve and treated as if she was put there on turn one.

The normal reserves rules only give a table for the actual game turns. i.e. they haven't been written with putting something into reserve during the game in mind.

From page 94:

'Depending on the turn in question, a certain result will mean that the unit has arrived...... And so on until turn 5, when any units left will arrive automatically.'


1500pts

Gwar! wrote:Debate it all you want, I just report what the rules actually say. It's up to others to tie their panties in a Knot. I stopped caring long ago.

 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







nosferatu1001 wrote:Sorry, it isn't automatic - "as per the normal reserves rule" means you would follow the normal decreasing steps for reserves, e.g. 4+, 3+.....so you would have to go 4 turns before it would be automatic.
nosferatu1001 is Wrong. You follow the Reserve rules, and if it is Turn 5, reserves arrive Automatically.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/06/28 23:58:02


Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in gb
Preacher of the Emperor






Manchester, UK

Gwar! is 100% corr.... Black hole! AAArrrggggh......

1500pts

Gwar! wrote:Debate it all you want, I just report what the rules actually say. It's up to others to tie their panties in a Knot. I stopped caring long ago.

 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: