Switch Theme:

Independent Char or MC Dual Charging question.  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Hardened Veteran Guardsman





Gainesville, Florida

I had a player this last weekend Multi charge 2 Units of troops by saying if he moved to the closest model in one unit his base was large enough to also contact the 2nd unit thus assault it as well. Is this legal or possible for a single unit to charge 2 units? I have read the assault rules and I know you can both dual charge units, and you may not make base contact with a model from a unit you arn't assaulting. So I am unsure which takes precedence and what is possible in assaults in 5th ed. Thanks

Jtw1n
Vostroyan XCIX "The Heirs Apparent" 
   
Made in gb
Veteran Wolf Guard Squad Leader






if every model in the squad you are charging, that is in range, has a model in BTB, then i think they may assault another squad
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

jtw1n wrote:I had a player this last weekend Multi charge 2 Units of troops by saying if he moved to the closest model in one unit his base was large enough to also contact the 2nd unit thus assault it as well. Is this legal or possible for a single unit to charge 2 units?


It's possible and legal for a unit of more than one model.
It's not possible for a lone IC, or any other single-model unit, for that matter.


For starters, it would require a very precise placement of the enemy models, since you have to move into contact with your original declared unit by the shortest route possible.

But it's prevented anyway by the 'Assaulting Multiple Enemy Units' rules section on page 34. You move the first model in the unit into contact with the enemy unit against which you declared the charge. Then you can move successive models onto other nearby units if possible.


 
   
Made in us
Hardened Veteran Guardsman





Gainesville, Florida

Thank you for the help. That answers my questions.

Jtw1n
Vostroyan XCIX "The Heirs Apparent" 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: