Switch Theme:

Techmarines and servitors  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in fi
Bounding Assault Marine





Now every techmarine (and master of forge) in the army allows you to take one unit of servitors. Thunderfire Cannon has a techmarine operating it. Does the techmarine operating the Cannon allow you to take unit of servitors?
I know theres an old thread about the matter, but it didnt give me the answer. Or i just missed it..

Space Marines 6700pts Tyranids 5000pts Tau 2350pts Blood Angels 2850pts Orcs & Goblins 1350pts
 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







I would say yes off hand, but I'd have to check the wording before giving a 100% answer.

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
Sagitarius with a Big F'in Gun




I would say no. The option is given under the techmarine entry, and iirc it refers to techmarine units. Also, iirc, techmarine w/ thunderfire are classed as techmarine gunner, not techmarine. Please do check the wording, though, Gwar or someone else.
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







Page 138: "You may include one unit of Servitors for every Techmarine or Master of the Forge in your army."

Page 142: Under the Profile he is listed as a "Techmarine", the same as the IC Techmarine on Page 138

As such, I am gonna say yes, he does. However, he cannot join them until the Cannon Assplodes, (as he is already in a unit with the Cannon) So the Servitors will suffer from Mindlock.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/09/03 02:53:55


Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
Da Head Honcho Boss Grot





Minnesota

Seems legal, but not hugely beneficial from a gameplay standpoint.

Anuvver fing - when they do sumfing, they try to make it look like somfink else to confuse everybody. When one of them wants to lord it over the uvvers, 'e says "I'm very speshul so'z you gotta worship me", or "I know summink wot you lot don't know, so yer better lissen good". Da funny fing is, arf of 'em believe it and da over arf don't, so 'e 'as to hit 'em all anyway or run fer it.
 
   
Made in us
Committed Chaos Cult Marine






Orkeosaurus wrote:Seems legal, but not hugely beneficial from a gameplay standpoint.

QFT.

Check out my blog at:http://ironchaosbrute.blogspot.com.

Vivano crudelis exitus.

Da Boss wrote:No no, Richard Dawkins arresting the Pope is inherently hilarious. It could only be funnier if when it happens, His Holiness exclaims "Rats, it's the Fuzz! Let's cheese it!" and a high speed Popemobile chase ensues.
 
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

Gwar! wrote:As such, I am gonna say yes, he does. However, he cannot join them until the Cannon Assplodes, (as he is already in a unit with the Cannon) So the Servitors will suffer from Mindlock.


Nor can he join them afterwards since, unlike the solo Techmarine, he doesn't have the Independant Character rule.

 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







insaniak wrote:
Gwar! wrote:As such, I am gonna say yes, he does. However, he cannot join them until the Cannon Assplodes, (as he is already in a unit with the Cannon) So the Servitors will suffer from Mindlock.
Nor can he join them afterwards since, unlike the solo Techmarine, he doesn't have the Independant Character rule.
I am afraid I must Correct you there good sir. In the unit Entry for the Thunderfire Cannon on Page 73 of Codex: Counts as Salamanders, you will find the following:
Each Thunderfire Cannon is crewed by a single Techmarine (see page 71 for special rules). Note that the Techmarine does not benefit from the Independent Character and Blessing of the Omnissiah special rules unless his Thunderfire Cannon has been destroyed.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/09/03 12:59:22


Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch




There it is, proof that exercise rots your brain. I'm swearing off from now on.

 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: