Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/10/08 17:24:13
Subject: Spacehulk: Command points being used in Stealer turn
|
 |
Sneaky Kommando
|
My question is can command points be used in the stealer turn for any action? Move? Non-overwatch fire? Close door?
It does say CP's are used in either turn.....so...... If a stealer opens a door in my front 3 squares can i use a CP to then close it? Lure stealers up a corridor towards a non-overwatched termie and open fire or go on overwatch?
Pg 17, Involuntary conversion: "should this happen during the stealers turn, then the reviled genestealer may be activated so long as the blip has not taken an action this turn."
Stealer player moves a blip up behind a termie, Termie player uses 2 CP's to turn 180, forcing an involuntary conversion and stopping the stealer player in his tracks?
How sneeky or cheesey can you get?
Not sure if this is the right place for this question!
If its in the wrong place can the Mods please use a grot to shift it!
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/10/08 17:26:45
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/10/08 17:43:29
Subject: Spacehulk: Command points being used in Stealer turn
|
 |
5th God of Chaos! (Yea'rly!)
The Great State of Texas
|
Moving to more appropriate section
|
-"Wait a minute.....who is that Frazz is talking to in the gallery? Hmmm something is going on here.....Oh.... it seems there is some dispute over video taping of some sort......Frazz is really upset now..........wait a minute......whats he go there.......is it? Can it be?....Frazz has just unleashed his hidden weiner dog from his mini bag, while quoting shakespeares "Let slip the dogs the war!!" GG
-"Don't mind Frazzled. He's just Dakka's crazy old dude locked in the attic. He's harmless. Mostly."
-TBone the Magnificent 1999-2014, Long Live the King!
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/10/08 17:49:37
Subject: Spacehulk: Command points being used in Stealer turn
|
 |
The Hammer of Witches
A new day, a new time zone.
|
f74 wrote:Stealer player moves a blip up behind a termie, Termie player uses 2 CP's to turn 180, forcing an involuntary conversion and stopping the stealer player in his tracks?
That doesn't work. It takes two actions for a terminator to turn 180, so the genestealer moves, termi turns 90, genestealer moves again, termi completes the turn, and also, you don't get to take an action unless a genestealer takes an action within LoS of one of your terminators. So there's no way it could still be a blip in the first place.
Otherwise, yes, if the genestealer opens a door in front of you, you can use a CP to close it in reaction. You can use them to put a terminator on guard or overwatch. The genestealers take one action where a terminator can see them, you get to spend CPs and take one action in response.
|
"-Nonsense, the Inquisitor and his retinue are our hounoured guests, of course we should invite them to celebrate Four-armed Emperor-day with us..." Thought for the Day - Never use the powerfist hand to wipe. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/10/08 21:33:46
Subject: Spacehulk: Command points being used in Stealer turn
|
 |
Sneaky Kommando
|
Bookwrack wrote:f74 wrote:Stealer player moves a blip up behind a termie, Termie player uses 2 CP's to turn 180, forcing an involuntary conversion and stopping the stealer player in his tracks?
That doesn't work. It takes two actions for a terminator to turn 180, so the genestealer moves, termi turns 90, genestealer moves again, termi completes the turn, and also, you don't get to take an action unless a genestealer takes an action within LoS of one of your terminators. So there's no way it could still be a blip in the first place.
Otherwise, yes, if the genestealer opens a door in front of you, you can use a CP to close it in reaction. You can use them to put a terminator on guard or overwatch. The genestealers take one action where a terminator can see them, you get to spend CPs and take one action in response.
You don't get to take an action unless a genestealer takes an action within LoS of one of your terminators? Where does it say this?
Edit* Ah yes Page 11 missed it! your correct
But you can take an action that cost 2CPs
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2009/10/08 21:37:51
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/10/09 04:39:16
Subject: Spacehulk: Command points being used in Stealer turn
|
 |
Mekboy Hammerin' Somethin'
|
Yes you can. You can take any action with your CPs, even if it costs you 2 CPs to do the one action.
|
1500 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/10/09 15:15:07
Subject: Spacehulk: Command points being used in Stealer turn
|
 |
The Hammer of Witches
A new day, a new time zone.
|
Right, but a terminator turning 180 degrees is two actions.
|
"-Nonsense, the Inquisitor and his retinue are our hounoured guests, of course we should invite them to celebrate Four-armed Emperor-day with us..." Thought for the Day - Never use the powerfist hand to wipe. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/10/10 03:51:33
Subject: Spacehulk: Command points being used in Stealer turn
|
 |
Gimlet-Eyed Inquisitorial Acolyte
Around Montreal
|
You can only use a CP in the Stealer turn when one of your Marine -sees- a Stealer action, on a one-for-one basis.
In other words, Every action taken by a Stealer in line of sight of a Marine gives the Marine player the opportunity to use CP, as a Reaction to the Stealer's Action.
Any Stealer action taken out of line of sight of a Marine does -not- let the Marine player use any CP.
I don't have the rule with me, but that's what I remember and it's an important detail.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/10/10 03:53:43
Kill the Heretic! Burn the Witch! Purge the Unclean! Exterminate the Mutant! Eviscerate the Traitor! Pwn the Noobs! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/10/12 15:25:53
Subject: Re:Spacehulk: Command points being used in Stealer turn
|
 |
Sister Oh-So Repentia
|
I agree that the door tactic can be done, as long as the CP is used when one of your terminators saw a GS move. Could really mess up the GS player, when used wisely.
I expect it would work only once.
Piousman
|
War is not about who is right. It is about who is left. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/10/12 15:48:47
Subject: Re:Spacehulk: Command points being used in Stealer turn
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
The ruins of the Palace of Thorns
|
My flatmate and I have decided that only the terminator who has the 'stealer in LoS can spend Command Points in this way.
That would mean that he would not see the stealer open the door, only the door opening, so could not act until the stealer next acted, probably to move in the way of the door moving, ruling that out...
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/10/12 16:11:45
Subject: Re:Spacehulk: Command points being used in Stealer turn
|
 |
Norn Queen
|
That would mean that he would not see the stealer open the door, only the door opening, so could not act until the stealer next acted,
Interesting point.
However:
you don't get to take an action unless a genestealer takes an action within LoS of one of your terminators
going by this literally, the GS is taking an action within LOS of your termy - he is opening the door.
You cant see the GS but the action is within LOS.
Otherwise it should read something like:
you don't get to take an action unless a genestealer is within LOS of your terminators and takes an action.
No?
|
Dman137 wrote:
goobs is all you guys will ever be
By 1-irt: Still as long as Hissy keeps showing up this is one of the most entertaining threads ever.
"Feelin' goods, good enough". |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/10/12 17:15:34
Subject: Re:Spacehulk: Command points being used in Stealer turn
|
 |
Gimlet-Eyed Inquisitorial Acolyte
Around Montreal
|
Fifty wrote:My flatmate and I have decided that only the terminator who has the 'stealer in LoS can spend Command Points in this way.
I don't think that's what the rules say but that's one way to play it, I guess.
I wouldn'T do it that way however, bcause the Termies can easily communicate between themselves.
Termie 1 sees GS : "Incoming!"
Termie 2 spends point to turn toward the incoming GS.
|
Kill the Heretic! Burn the Witch! Purge the Unclean! Exterminate the Mutant! Eviscerate the Traitor! Pwn the Noobs! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/10/20 00:47:29
Subject: Spacehulk: Command points being used in Stealer turn
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
According to the official FAQ:
In the Genestealer's turn, you
have to wait until one of your Space Marines sees a
Genestealer do something. Then decide if you want to
spend any command points – you may do so to carry out
a single action with a single Space Marine anywhere on
the board (not just one that saw the Genestealer do
something). After spending any command points, check
for overwatch shots for Space Marines that didn’t have
command points spent upon them.
Also, about the closing the door thingy, it's possible if the genestealer is visible after he opened the door. You get to spend CP when a genestealer performs an action so that he ends up in LOS. if he opens a door diagonally, meaning he's not visible after the door is open, then you won't get to shoot and/or spend CP.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2009/10/20 00:49:29
|
|
 |
 |
|