Switch Theme:

genestealers and pods.......  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




Can I drop an empty pod down and have my stealers outflank?

The idea is i set my pod up with a stinger salvo for an extra 4 str6 hits to take out infantry/transports but i still want my stealers to take out stuff near the edge of the board
   
Made in ca
Fixture of Dakka




No where can I read that you can do this, no where did I read you can't do this. Sorry no hlep here. Dark Angels can do this though so not shure if that helps.

Agies Grimm:The "Learn to play, bro" mentality is mostly just a way for someone to try to shame you by implying that their metaphorical nerd-wiener is bigger than yours. Which, ironically, I think nerds do even more vehemently than jocks.

Everything is made up and the points don't matter. 40K or Who's Line is it Anyway?

Auticus wrote: Or in summation: its ok to exploit shoddy points because those are rules and gamers exist to find rules loopholes (they are still "legal"), but if the same force can be composed without structure, it emotionally feels "wrong".  
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







kitsunez wrote:Can I drop an empty pod down and have my stealers outflank?

The idea is i set my pod up with a stinger salvo for an extra 4 str6 hits to take out infantry/transports but i still want my stealers to take out stuff near the edge of the board
Do not have my new codex to hand, but IIRC, you cannot opt to not ride in your Spod (i.e. you buy it, you use it), as it is not a Transport Vehicle yadda yadda.

Will add to this once I get home.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/01/18 15:20:58


Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
Sinewy Scourge





Long Island, New York, USA

kitsunez wrote:Can I drop an empty pod down and have my stealers outflank?

The idea is i set my pod up with a stinger salvo for an extra 4 str6 hits to take out infantry/transports but i still want my stealers to take out stuff near the edge of the board


The Mycetic spore can only be purchased as an upgrade to another unit. It is listed as a MC, but under the steelers it is a dedicated transport.

Now the confusion begins because it's rules say that it always enters play using the deep strike rules. This is similar to the SM drop pod. However, the SM pod rules say that half the pods enter play the beginning of the first turn. The rest are then rolled for as normal, so they start the game in reserve (deep strike rules).

For the Mycetic spore, all the spores start the game in reserve and are rolled for to arrive normally as per deep strike reserves. Spores have to be purchased as upgrades to units, they can't be taken as separate choices. They are dedicated transports so they can only carry the unit they were selected with.

You would have to declare if the spores were carrying the unit (the stealers) or not. If they are, then they are rolled for and arrive together. If not, the the spore and the stealers would roll separately and arrive separately.

Since the stealers can infiltrate, then you could purchase the pod for them, declare them to be separate, deep strike the pod (when rolled for) and outflank the stealers (also when rolled for).


I have found again and again that in encounter actions, the day goes to the side that is the first to plaster its opponent with fire. The man who lies low and awaits developments usually comes off second best. - Erwin Rommel
"For having lived long, I have experienced many instances of being obliged, by better information or fuller consideration, to change opinions, even on important subjects, which I once thought right but found to be otherwise." - Benjamin Franklin
 
   
Made in us
Ork-Hunting Inquisitorial Xenokiller






Again, since they are not a transport vehicle, no rule exists that allows them to be deployed empty. So as of this moment, you buy it for a unit, that unit is stuck riding in it.



Quote: Gwar - What Inquisitor said.
 
   
Made in us
Sinewy Scourge





Long Island, New York, USA

InquisitorFabius wrote:Again, since they are not a transport vehicle, no rule exists that allows them to be deployed empty. So as of this moment, you buy it for a unit, that unit is stuck riding in it.


The nid rules show they can be taken as dedicated transports for venomthropes, zoanthropes, the doom, biovores, warriors, genestealers, etc. As such, they would follow the dedicated transport rules, with the exception that the must also use the deep strike rules.

I have found again and again that in encounter actions, the day goes to the side that is the first to plaster its opponent with fire. The man who lies low and awaits developments usually comes off second best. - Erwin Rommel
"For having lived long, I have experienced many instances of being obliged, by better information or fuller consideration, to change opinions, even on important subjects, which I once thought right but found to be otherwise." - Benjamin Franklin
 
   
Made in us
Ork-Hunting Inquisitorial Xenokiller






Guess what, dedicated transports rules are contained in a small section on page 67, nothing in that blurb states they may be used empty.



Quote: Gwar - What Inquisitor said.
 
   
Made in us
Sinewy Scourge





Long Island, New York, USA

InquisitorFabius wrote:Guess what, dedicated transports rules are contained in a small section on page 67, nothing in that blurb states they may be used empty.


And guess what, the spores enter play using deep strike rules, and those are in the reserve section on pages 94 and 95, and on page 94 the rules say that dedicated transports "...can only be deployed, and consequently can only be kept in reserve, either empty or transporting the unit it was selected with..."

I have found again and again that in encounter actions, the day goes to the side that is the first to plaster its opponent with fire. The man who lies low and awaits developments usually comes off second best. - Erwin Rommel
"For having lived long, I have experienced many instances of being obliged, by better information or fuller consideration, to change opinions, even on important subjects, which I once thought right but found to be otherwise." - Benjamin Franklin
 
   
Made in us
Combat Jumping Ragik






InquisitorFabius wrote:Guess what, dedicated transports rules are contained in a small section on page 67, nothing in that blurb states they may be used empty.


Can you please tell me where it says a Mycetic spore is a dedicated transport? Looked through my codex but can't find one. My codex says they are purchased as uprades . . .but they are always treated as separate, non-scoring units.

it walso says, on page 54, that "A Mycetic Spore CAN (emphasis mine) carry. . . " Thus to me it would seem:

1.) It CAN carry troops but doesn't say it MUST

2.) Is purchased as an upgrade on the FoC

3.) Is treated as a SEPERATE, non scoring unit & therefore may be deployed SEPARATELY from the unit that purchased it (i.e.) empty.

Trade rules: lower rep trades ships 1st. - I ship within 2 business days, if it will be longer I will contact you & explain. - I will NOT lie on customs forms, it's a felony, do not ask me to mark sales as "gifts". Free shipping applies to contiguous US states. 
   
Made in us
Sinewy Scourge





Long Island, New York, USA

Shas'O Dorian wrote:
InquisitorFabius wrote:Guess what, dedicated transports rules are contained in a small section on page 67, nothing in that blurb states they may be used empty.


Can you please tell me where it says a Mycetic spore is a dedicated transport? Looked through my codex but can't find one. My codex says they are purchased as uprades . . .but they are always treated as separate, non-scoring units.


Page 88, bottom, in the Venomthrope Brood entry, last bullet point, "Dedicated Transport - The brood may take a Mycetic Spore..." and also pages 89, 90, 91, 94 all under the "Dedicated Transport" bullet points.

I have found again and again that in encounter actions, the day goes to the side that is the first to plaster its opponent with fire. The man who lies low and awaits developments usually comes off second best. - Erwin Rommel
"For having lived long, I have experienced many instances of being obliged, by better information or fuller consideration, to change opinions, even on important subjects, which I once thought right but found to be otherwise." - Benjamin Franklin
 
   
Made in us
Ork-Hunting Inquisitorial Xenokiller






How about on every entry it is purchased for, being labeled Dedicated Transport.



Quote: Gwar - What Inquisitor said.
 
   
Made in us
Combat Jumping Ragik






InquisitorFabius wrote:How about on every entry it is purchased for, being labeled Dedicated Transport.


Ah I see, but altogether irrelevant for my argument. In the case of Codex > Rule book. Please answer my 3 points in the previous post.

Also there is the matter of
time wizard wrote:the spores enter play using deep strike rules, and those are in the reserve section on pages 94 and 95, and on page 94 the rules say that dedicated transports "...can only be deployed, and consequently can only be kept in reserve, either empty or transporting the unit it was selected with..."

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/01/18 17:10:31


Trade rules: lower rep trades ships 1st. - I ship within 2 business days, if it will be longer I will contact you & explain. - I will NOT lie on customs forms, it's a felony, do not ask me to mark sales as "gifts". Free shipping applies to contiguous US states. 
   
Made in us
Sinewy Scourge





Long Island, New York, USA

Shas'O Dorian wrote:
Can you please tell me where it says a Mycetic spore is a dedicated transport? Looked through my codex but can't find one. My codex says they are purchased as uprades . . .but they are always treated as separate, non-scoring units.

it walso says, on page 54, that "A Mycetic Spore CAN (emphasis mine) carry. . . " Thus to me it would seem:


So far, same as a dedicated transport

Shas'O Dorian wrote: 1.) It CAN carry troops but doesn't say it MUST


Same as a dedicated transport in the reserves rules page 94.

Shas'O Dorian wrote: 2.) Is purchased as an upgrade on the FoC


Same as the dedicated transport rules on the bottom of page 67.

Shas'O Dorian wrote: 3.) Is treated as a SEPERATE, non scoring unit & therefore may be deployed SEPARATELY from the unit that purchased it (i.e.) empty.


May be deployed empty or transporting the unit it was selected with like any other dedicated transport in the reserves rules page 94.

I have found again and again that in encounter actions, the day goes to the side that is the first to plaster its opponent with fire. The man who lies low and awaits developments usually comes off second best. - Erwin Rommel
"For having lived long, I have experienced many instances of being obliged, by better information or fuller consideration, to change opinions, even on important subjects, which I once thought right but found to be otherwise." - Benjamin Franklin
 
   
Made in us
Combat Jumping Ragik






Yes, time wizard in all points I was agreeing with you in that it can be deployed empty. Sorry if my wording was such that you took me as disagreeing with you.

Trade rules: lower rep trades ships 1st. - I ship within 2 business days, if it will be longer I will contact you & explain. - I will NOT lie on customs forms, it's a felony, do not ask me to mark sales as "gifts". Free shipping applies to contiguous US states. 
   
Made in us
Sinewy Scourge





Long Island, New York, USA

Shas'O Dorian wrote:Yes, time wizard in all points I was agreeing with you in that it can be deployed empty. Sorry if my wording was such that you took me as disagreeing with you.


Ah, sorry. I though you were looking for an answer to all 3 points in your post.

The only question I think that still remains is if the fact that the Mspore (and any unit selected with it) have to be placed in reserve at the start of the game.

The rules state that they always enter play using deep strike rules, but can they enter play during deployment using deep strike rules making them like uber-infiltrators? Or do they always have to start in reserve. Would have been nice if the codex spelled this out.

I have found again and again that in encounter actions, the day goes to the side that is the first to plaster its opponent with fire. The man who lies low and awaits developments usually comes off second best. - Erwin Rommel
"For having lived long, I have experienced many instances of being obliged, by better information or fuller consideration, to change opinions, even on important subjects, which I once thought right but found to be otherwise." - Benjamin Franklin
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: