Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/01/22 07:34:33
Subject: Flamer and multiple units hit
|
 |
Sister Vastly Superior
|
Hi,
I've been looking through my book on how template works, but have not been able to find the page where this might be explained.
Let's say I shoot a flamer on a unit, I understand that the template has to cover has many models has possible, but what happens if this cause collateral damage on one or two more units? This happened to me against Imperial guard where my opponent had many troops close to each other.
Do you resolve wounds on each squads separately and assigns wounds to each troops individually? Is it safe to assume you can only charge the original target as well? I would assume this would work somewhat like a scattering blast market hitting multiple targets, but it's still not clear.
Thanks.
|
18 / 3 / 6 since 6th ed. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/01/22 07:44:28
Subject: Flamer and multiple units hit
|
 |
Boosting Black Templar Biker
Fenton Michigan
|
Well I would assume that if you target lets say group A with a flamer and your shots, and your flamer goes over to another group, you would resolve wounds against each group as you would normally, but if you had to assault it would still be limited to the original group you fired at.
|
This is good.... isn't it?
-Big Boss |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/01/22 10:16:53
Subject: Flamer and multiple units hit
|
 |
The Hammer of Witches
A new day, a new time zone.
|
If you managed to hit two units with one template then wounds would be worked out separately from the hits inflicted on each unit. Assaults would be made against the unit you originally targeted.
|
"-Nonsense, the Inquisitor and his retinue are our hounoured guests, of course we should invite them to celebrate Four-armed Emperor-day with us..." Thought for the Day - Never use the powerfist hand to wipe. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/01/22 10:36:47
Subject: Flamer and multiple units hit
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
Bookwrack is correct.
|
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/01/22 23:47:04
Subject: Flamer and multiple units hit
|
 |
Boosting Black Templar Biker
Fenton Michigan
|
thought I got it down but whateva
|
This is good.... isn't it?
-Big Boss |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/01/22 23:57:55
Subject: Flamer and multiple units hit
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Meanwhile the rule actually say that:
"Instead of rolling to hit, simply place the template so that its narrow end is touching the base of the model firing it and the rest of the template covers as many models in the target unit without touching any friendly models."
All references in the Template weapon rules refer to the single unit that may be the target of a shooting unit. That single target is the only unit affected by the weapon and the only target that the unit can charge.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/01/23 00:20:19
Subject: Flamer and multiple units hit
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
Nurglitch wrote:"Instead of rolling to hit, simply place the template so that its narrow end is touching the base of the model firing it and the rest of the template covers as many models in the target unit without touching any friendly models."
That deals with placing the template, not working out the hits.
The part that actually tells you how to determine which models are hit does not refer specifically to the unit being targeted. Any models at least partially under the template are hit. Since the rules don't restrict that to the target unit, it doesn't solely apply to the target unit. Any models under the template are hit, regardless of which unit they're from.
|
|
|
 |
 |
|