| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/01/25 14:58:08
Subject: Stupid idea, please bear with me, does this tyranid rule work this way?
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
Hey all, been here since RT, but didn't play since nobody else did so gave up on it. Came back but still no one to play so quit again. Back now and sticking with it. I was looking through the new Tyranid codex and a stupid idea came to me. Why is it stupid? Because I didn't think of it at first, but now that I have been reading lots of rules on YMDC and other forums about rules and how people read the rules that it can go both ways. So here is my stupid idea.
Can a brood of 3 Carnifex take a Mycetic spore? I say yes. All in the rules for the Carnifex under Dedicated Transport, says that if the brood consists of a single Carnifex it can take a Mycetic spore. If the brood starts out with 3 of them and 2 die, it now consits of a single carnifex. So therefore that carnifex can take a mycetic spore now. No where in the rules say that a Mycetic spore has to be full, so it can be empty just like SM drop pods can be empty (if it does say that a MS has to have something inside it please referecne the page please) and then be dropped podded into play when it's empty.
I really don't think this can be, but after reading how people debate the rules, I would like to see what you guys think of this rule. Since everyone likes to say it this way, or that way, I am interested to read what you guys think.
Remember I am going by the wording, "if a brood consists of a single carnifex" no where does it state that it has to be at the begining of the game. Basically I am a newbie starting all over again after years and years of absence. So I can't go by RAI, only what I read and this is what I have read.
|
Agies Grimm:The "Learn to play, bro" mentality is mostly just a way for someone to try to shame you by implying that their metaphorical nerd-wiener is bigger than yours. Which, ironically, I think nerds do even more vehemently than jocks.
Everything is made up and the points don't matter. 40K or Who's Line is it Anyway?
Auticus wrote: Or in summation: its ok to exploit shoddy points because those are rules and gamers exist to find rules loopholes (they are still "legal"), but if the same force can be composed without structure, it emotionally feels "wrong". |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/01/25 15:05:19
Subject: Stupid idea, please bear with me, does this tyranid rule work this way?
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
Errm... You do realise it doesn't say you can magically add things to your army during the middle of the game, so you can't?
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/01/25 15:05:37
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/01/25 15:05:58
Subject: Stupid idea, please bear with me, does this tyranid rule work this way?
|
 |
Eternally-Stimulated Slaanesh Dreadnought
|
I don't have the nid dex so my interp is based 100% on your words above.
If the dex says "if the brood consists of a single Fex it can take a Mycetic Spore" then the only time you may purchase a dedicated transport is if the Carnifex is alone at the beginning of the game.
Long story short, if you are just getting back into the hobby, don't be like the loud minority of players who post a lot on this forum. Read the rules and don't look to bend them. You squad a carni then no spore. Very simple.
|
I have a love /hate relationship with anything green. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/01/25 15:08:35
Subject: Stupid idea, please bear with me, does this tyranid rule work this way?
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
I was thinking of the basis that you buy the spore at the begining of the game, so it dosn't magicaly add things, but it can't come into play until there is only a single Carnifex in that brood.
I thought it could work in the way how SM buy transports but they can be empty.
|
Agies Grimm:The "Learn to play, bro" mentality is mostly just a way for someone to try to shame you by implying that their metaphorical nerd-wiener is bigger than yours. Which, ironically, I think nerds do even more vehemently than jocks.
Everything is made up and the points don't matter. 40K or Who's Line is it Anyway?
Auticus wrote: Or in summation: its ok to exploit shoddy points because those are rules and gamers exist to find rules loopholes (they are still "legal"), but if the same force can be composed without structure, it emotionally feels "wrong". |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/01/25 15:10:07
Subject: Stupid idea, please bear with me, does this tyranid rule work this way?
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
How does that make sense? If the Brood Started as 3 Models, you CANNOT buy them a Spod, even an empty one.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/01/25 15:10:20
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/01/25 15:16:56
Subject: Stupid idea, please bear with me, does this tyranid rule work this way?
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
Gwar! wrote:How does that make sense? If the Brood Started as 3 Models, you CANNOT buy them a Spod, even an empty one.
Nowhere does it say I CANNOT by it. All it says if the brood consists of a single Carnifex. Turn 1 brood has 2 carnifex, turn 2 brood has 2 carnifex, turn 3 brood has one carnifex. Now that brood is able to take a dedicated transport vehicle. Yes I know the Carnifex can't go back into the dedicated transport vehicle but it should be able to have one now by going what is read. I am going by RAW, where else does this prevent me from doing it?
Mind you, I would never do this, I just thought it would be nice to have a debate. If you think it will get heated or fighting, get a mod to lock this, but it was an idea I thought that could be playable by getting more MC if you want to have alots of MC on the board. This I might do for a fun game. I know the points would be better spent else where, but for a fun game, I thought why not and try it. So that is why I am asking. I just don't want it to get into heated debates. Also this is a good way for me to learn the rules that I might have missed else where since we have to cross refrence almost all the rules. So I am trying to see what rules I might have missed when I tried to cross reference this.
So where does it say it can't be done? SM can do this.
|
Agies Grimm:The "Learn to play, bro" mentality is mostly just a way for someone to try to shame you by implying that their metaphorical nerd-wiener is bigger than yours. Which, ironically, I think nerds do even more vehemently than jocks.
Everything is made up and the points don't matter. 40K or Who's Line is it Anyway?
Auticus wrote: Or in summation: its ok to exploit shoddy points because those are rules and gamers exist to find rules loopholes (they are still "legal"), but if the same force can be composed without structure, it emotionally feels "wrong". |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/01/25 15:18:19
Subject: Stupid idea, please bear with me, does this tyranid rule work this way?
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
Davor wrote:Gwar! wrote:How does that make sense? If the Brood Started as 3 Models, you CANNOT buy them a Spod, even an empty one.
Nowhere does it say I CANNOT by it.
No. "It Doesn't say I can't" is NOT how 40k works. It has to say you CAN. It doesn't say I can't launch ICMBs at your Dog if I start losing does it?
|
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2010/01/25 15:19:16
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/01/25 15:20:57
Subject: Stupid idea, please bear with me, does this tyranid rule work this way?
|
 |
Martial Arts Fiday
|
|
"Holy Sh*&, you've opened my eyes and changed my mind about this topic, thanks Dakka OT!"
-Nobody Ever
Proverbs 18:2
"CHEESE!" is the battlecry of the ill-prepared.
warboss wrote:
GW didn't mean to hit your wallet and I know they love you, baby. I'm sure they won't do it again so it's ok to purchase and make up. 
Albatross wrote:I think SlaveToDorkness just became my new hero.
EmilCrane wrote:Finecast is the new Matt Ward.
Don't mess with the Blade and Bolter! |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/01/25 15:21:42
Subject: Stupid idea, please bear with me, does this tyranid rule work this way?
|
 |
Loyal Necron Lychguard
|
It says it can't be done because only a brood of one Carnifex can buy a transport pod.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/01/25 15:31:34
Subject: Stupid idea, please bear with me, does this tyranid rule work this way?
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
MasterSlowPoke wrote:It says it can't be done because only a brood of one Carnifex can buy a transport pod.
Dang it, how did I miss that? LMFAO  . Oh well this will teach me, not toe read the rules when I am so tired in the middle of the nite. At least I knew what I was thinking wasn't right, but since I couldn't see why it wasn't right, I was thinking it was right then. As Gwar mentioned as well, just because it dosn't say I can't, dosn't mean I can.
Thanks guys, I was just reading it the wrong way. Now back to YMDA and confusing myself about all the other tyranids rules now.
|
Agies Grimm:The "Learn to play, bro" mentality is mostly just a way for someone to try to shame you by implying that their metaphorical nerd-wiener is bigger than yours. Which, ironically, I think nerds do even more vehemently than jocks.
Everything is made up and the points don't matter. 40K or Who's Line is it Anyway?
Auticus wrote: Or in summation: its ok to exploit shoddy points because those are rules and gamers exist to find rules loopholes (they are still "legal"), but if the same force can be composed without structure, it emotionally feels "wrong". |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/01/25 16:20:45
Subject: Re:Stupid idea, please bear with me, does this tyranid rule work this way?
|
 |
Grisly Ghost Ark Driver
|
The next generation of 40k players is looking :drumroll: Grim.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/01/25 17:19:41
Subject: Stupid idea, please bear with me, does this tyranid rule work this way?
|
 |
Wolf Guard Bodyguard in Terminator Armor
|
No biggie Davor.
Just think of it this way,
When you choose to buy the Spod when making your army list, how many Carnifex are in the brood? If it is more then one, you cannot buy it.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/01/25 17:21:19
Subject: Re:Stupid idea, please bear with me, does this tyranid rule work this way?
|
 |
Loyal Necron Lychguard
|
Kurgash wrote:The next generation of 40k players is looking :drumroll: Grim.
He's the first generation, actually.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/01/25 17:37:27
Subject: Re:Stupid idea, please bear with me, does this tyranid rule work this way?
|
 |
Grisly Ghost Ark Driver
|
MasterSlowPoke wrote:Kurgash wrote:The next generation of 40k players is looking :drumroll: Grim.
He's the first generation, actually.
Oh crap. Missed the part of him being back from RT =0. My apologies.
|
|
|
 |
 |
|
|