| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/03/03 13:34:45
Subject: Wording on Tyranid rules
|
 |
Plaguelord Titan Princeps of Nurgle
Alabama
|
I don't know if this has been covered yet, but I didn't see it anywhere, so I wanted to see what YMDC thought.
"The Hive Tyrant recovers a single lost Wound for each wound inflicted using this power, up to its starting number of wounds."
Does this mean that, whether they save or not, he still recovers the wound? Because first, I roll to hit (although he hits automatically), I roll to wound - and this is where wounds are "inflicted" - and then the roll to save. It says nothing of removing models. It says nothing of models killed. It simply says "Wound inflicted". Inflicted simply means they take a wound, whether they save or not. I think RAI is that he gets the wound if the model is removed, but RAW is that he gets it regardless.
Thoughts?
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/03/03 16:18:00
WH40K
Death Guard 5100 pts.
Daemons 3000 pts.
DT:70+S++G+M-B-I--Pw40K90-D++A++/eWD?R++T(D)DM+
28 successful trades in the Dakka Swap Shop! Check out my latest auction here!
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/03/03 13:39:33
Subject: Wording on Hive Tyrant's "Leech Essence"
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
puma713 wrote:I don't know if this has been covered yet, but I didn't see it anywhere, so I wanted to see what YMDC thought.
"The Hive Tyrant recovers a single lost Wound for each wound inflicted using this power, up to its starting number of wounds."
Does this mean that, whether they save or not, he still recovers the wound? Because first, I roll to hit (although he hits automatically), I roll to wound - and this is where wounds are "inflicted" - and then the roll to save. It says nothing of removing models. It says nothing of models killed. It simply says "Wound inflicted". Inflicted simply means they take a wound, whether they save or not. I think RAI is that he gets the wound if the model is removed, but RAW is that he gets it regardless.
Thoughts?
No. Saved wounds are not ever inflicted.
|
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/03/03 13:42:52
Subject: Wording on Hive Tyrant's "Leech Essence"
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
You dont inflict "wounds" until a save has been failed, you have only inflicted "wounding hits"
An unsaved wound is a wound that ahs been inflicted.
(Oddly enough this is the opposite way to the similar spell from WHFB Death Magic, where even if they pass their ward or regen you still gain a wound)
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/03/03 13:48:02
Subject: Re:Wording on Hive Tyrant's "Leech Essence"
|
 |
Ferocious Blood Claw
London, ON
|
Interesting, I always thought that wounds were still wounds, just some were fatal, and others were "flesh wounds".
|
We are the wolf that stalks, The stars in the sky And swallows the star-fire
We hide amongst the night, when light is gone the Light is within us
We run the ruin of Fire, in the darkness Foes burn in our passing
~Battle Litany of the Spacewolves |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/03/03 16:19:59
Subject: Re:Wording on Tyranid rules
|
 |
Plaguelord Titan Princeps of Nurgle
Alabama
|
Changed the title of the thread because I had another wording query:
Mawloc
He has the ability to Burrow in the movement phase. Now, the wording is specific: "he can elect to re-burrow". This indicates that he arrived from Deep Strike in the first place.
So, if the Mawloc doesn't arrive from Deep strike (ie., you simple deploy him like a normal unit) is he allowed to burrow turn 1 for a definite deep strike turn 2? RAW would say no, because he didn't burrow in the first place. RAI, I believe yes.
|
WH40K
Death Guard 5100 pts.
Daemons 3000 pts.
DT:70+S++G+M-B-I--Pw40K90-D++A++/eWD?R++T(D)DM+
28 successful trades in the Dakka Swap Shop! Check out my latest auction here!
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/03/03 16:52:22
Subject: Wording on Tyranid rules
|
 |
Infiltrating Broodlord
|
In the Italian version of the Codex is simply written that, in any moment of it's movement fase (if not in enemy-base-contact) it can burrow and be removed from the table. It will can enter again the folloing turn by deep striking.
The only limitation is that obviously it can deep strike and burrow in the same turn.
|
Every molecule will be useful
6000+ pts NIDS
( ) 2000 pts growing to 4000... |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/03/03 16:54:32
Subject: Wording on Tyranid rules
|
 |
Plaguelord Titan Princeps of Nurgle
Alabama
|
Toban wrote:In the Italian version of the Codex is simply written that, in any moment of it's movement fase (if not in enemy-base-contact) it can burrow and be removed from the table. It will can enter again the folloing turn by deep striking.
The only limitation is that obviously it can deep strike and burrow in the same turn.
Interesting. Thanks for the translation!
|
WH40K
Death Guard 5100 pts.
Daemons 3000 pts.
DT:70+S++G+M-B-I--Pw40K90-D++A++/eWD?R++T(D)DM+
28 successful trades in the Dakka Swap Shop! Check out my latest auction here!
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/03/03 18:25:55
Subject: Wording on Tyranid rules
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
fase is actually spelt phase, before Gwar comes in and gets a headache.
That is a good point, I never thought of that. Since he didn't burrow in the first place how can he re-burrow then? Waiting for Gwar to clear this all up for us now. Lets just make shure our spelling is in proper order
|
Agies Grimm:The "Learn to play, bro" mentality is mostly just a way for someone to try to shame you by implying that their metaphorical nerd-wiener is bigger than yours. Which, ironically, I think nerds do even more vehemently than jocks.
Everything is made up and the points don't matter. 40K or Who's Line is it Anyway?
Auticus wrote: Or in summation: its ok to exploit shoddy points because those are rules and gamers exist to find rules loopholes (they are still "legal"), but if the same force can be composed without structure, it emotionally feels "wrong". |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/03/03 19:32:43
Subject: Wording on Tyranid rules
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Nothing states he has to have burrowed *that game* either, so if he ever burrows at any point ever, he can be said to have reburrowed.
Seriously, that is serious nitpicking that results in a mishap where you "go back into reserve" doesnt work for GoI librarians.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/03/03 19:59:07
Subject: Wording on Tyranid rules
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
Ah the english language and GW writing ablilities
But if you never have burrowed, how can you re-burrow then? He does have a point though. From a RAW perspective, I guess if you Run your Mawlock he can't burrow, since it's only allowed if you re-burrow.
They way I read it now, since it was brought to my attention, is you can't do an action unless you have done the action already and or before.
I hope Gwar is feeling ok, I thought he would have answered this part already
|
Agies Grimm:The "Learn to play, bro" mentality is mostly just a way for someone to try to shame you by implying that their metaphorical nerd-wiener is bigger than yours. Which, ironically, I think nerds do even more vehemently than jocks.
Everything is made up and the points don't matter. 40K or Who's Line is it Anyway?
Auticus wrote: Or in summation: its ok to exploit shoddy points because those are rules and gamers exist to find rules loopholes (they are still "legal"), but if the same force can be composed without structure, it emotionally feels "wrong". |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/03/04 00:12:42
Subject: Wording on Tyranid rules
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Well it's a good case of GW letting fluff writing leech in their rules writing, at no point is the Mawloc's deep strike called a burrow in the rules entry, so RAW it can never 're-burrow' but if we look at the title of the entry it's just 'burrow' so I'd say it's accurate that a 'Loc can burrow turn one to emerge turn two, after all if your second it means they get a whole round of shooting at them (yeah as fair a a round of shooting at BW's with 4+ saves)
RAW a 'Loc can burrow in any movment phases imo.
|
"I already told you son, that milk isn't for developing bones. It's for developing character." - C&H |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/03/04 00:43:22
Subject: Re:Wording on Tyranid rules
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Lol. I can't decide if the GW rulebooks make my English degree (not to mention the soon to be 3 others) cringe more than all of the attempts to interpret them that show up on the forums or not
Anyways, there is nothing in the rules for the mawloc that states it can only "re-burrow" if it first deploys via Terror from the Depths.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/03/04 03:28:51
Subject: Re:Wording on Tyranid rules
|
 |
Plaguelord Titan Princeps of Nurgle
Alabama
|
Waaaaghmaster wrote:Lol. I can't decide if the GW rulebooks make my English degree (not to mention the soon to be 3 others) cringe more than all of the attempts to interpret them that show up on the forums or not
Anyways, there is nothing in the rules for the mawloc that states it can only "re-burrow" if it first deploys via Terror from the Depths.
So, if something hasn't been counted, can it be re-counted?
"re-
a prefix, occurring originally in loanwords from Latin, used with the meaning “again” or “again and again” to indicate repetition, or with the meaning “back” or “backward” to indicate withdrawal or backward motion: regenerate; refurbish; retype; retrace; revert." ( http://dictionary.reference.com/browse/re-)
Not to mention the fact that suggesting you can do something again after you haven't done it in the first place is a logical fallacy. I would have thought with all your degrees, you would have gathered that.
Edit:
To be clear, I agree with everyone here, that it can burrow on turn 1 and re-emerge on turn 2 (I'll be fielding one in an upcoming Team Tourney) and that GW needs to reword much of their rules-writing. I was just pointing out that there are many tricky passages in the Tyranid codex and that this could be another one (Tervigon shooting at its friendly units, Tyranids not carrying close combat weapons, Malantai affecting embarked units, Tyrant being able to leave his retinue, even though he's not an IC, etc.).
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/03/04 03:40:13
WH40K
Death Guard 5100 pts.
Daemons 3000 pts.
DT:70+S++G+M-B-I--Pw40K90-D++A++/eWD?R++T(D)DM+
28 successful trades in the Dakka Swap Shop! Check out my latest auction here!
|
|
|
 |
 |
|
|