Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/03/06 16:26:59
Subject: IC joining a swarm
|
 |
Bounding Assault Marine
|
I was playing with friend earlier today and he had a Necron lord joined up in scarab unit. Using scarabs as "meat"shield.
Now, i couldnt find any reason so far why independent character can't join a swarm unit. But the question is does the IC also take double wounds 'cause scarabs have vulnerable to blast/templates rule?
|
Space Marines 6700pts Tyranids 5000pts Tau 2350pts Blood Angels 2850pts Orcs & Goblins 1350pts
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/03/06 16:30:29
Subject: IC joining a swarm
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
Thunder555 wrote:I was playing with friend earlier today and he had a Necron lord joined up in scarab unit. Using scarabs as "meat"shield. Now, i couldnt find any reason so far why independent character can't join a swarm unit. But the question is does the IC also take double wounds 'cause scarabs have vulnerable to blast/templates rule?
No, only the models who have Vulnerable to Blasts/Templates take double wounds. So, for example: A Necron Lord with 5 Scarabs are fired on by a Salvo of Frag Missiles and take a total of 9 Hits, of which 8 wound. The Defending Player allocates 1 wound to the Lord and the remaining 7 to the Scarabs. After saves, the Lord has Failed his one and the Scarabs have failed 4. The Necron Lord thus takes a single wound (as he his not VtB/T) while the Scarabs now take a total of 8 Wounds, as per VtB/T.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/03/06 16:34:09
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/03/06 16:33:25
Subject: IC joining a swarm
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
No, as when you allocate wounds you allocate to the IC as it is a seperate group. You then wound the IC and, if it fails any you find out that the IC does NOT have VtB, and so doesnt take double wounds.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/03/06 16:41:03
Subject: IC joining a swarm
|
 |
Raging Ravener
Orlando, FL, USA
|
It's doubly hilarious when the Lord has Lightning Field. I managed to make a Destroyer Lord + Scarab swarm take out a squad of kitted out Bloodcrushers during an RTT last Halloween thanks to LF abuse.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/03/07 01:42:41
Subject: IC joining a swarm
|
 |
Bounding Assault Marine
|
Gwar! wrote:So, for example:
A Necron Lord with 5 Scarabs are fired on by a Salvo of Frag Missiles and take a total of 9 Hits, of which 8 wound. The Defending Player allocates 1 wound to the Lord and the remaining 7 to the Scarabs. After saves, the Lord has Failed his one and the Scarabs have failed 4. The Necron Lord thus takes a single wound (as he his not VtB/T) while the Scarabs now take a total of 8 Wounds, as per VtB/T.
So the Necron Lord wouldn't be affected by scarabs "stealth" rule either?
|
Space Marines 6700pts Tyranids 5000pts Tau 2350pts Blood Angels 2850pts Orcs & Goblins 1350pts
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/03/07 02:08:34
Subject: IC joining a swarm
|
 |
Plaguelord Titan Princeps of Nurgle
Alabama
|
Thunder555 wrote:Gwar! wrote:So, for example:
A Necron Lord with 5 Scarabs are fired on by a Salvo of Frag Missiles and take a total of 9 Hits, of which 8 wound. The Defending Player allocates 1 wound to the Lord and the remaining 7 to the Scarabs. After saves, the Lord has Failed his one and the Scarabs have failed 4. The Necron Lord thus takes a single wound (as he his not VtB/T) while the Scarabs now take a total of 8 Wounds, as per VtB/T.
So the Necron Lord wouldn't be affected by scarabs "stealth" rule either?
Nope. Stealth is not conferred to ICs joining units with Stealth unless otherwise specified.
|
WH40K
Death Guard 5100 pts.
Daemons 3000 pts.
DT:70+S++G+M-B-I--Pw40K90-D++A++/eWD?R++T(D)DM+
28 successful trades in the Dakka Swap Shop! Check out my latest auction here!
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/03/07 10:31:34
Subject: IC joining a swarm
|
 |
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus
|
Gwar! wrote:Thunder555 wrote:I was playing with friend earlier today and he had a Necron lord joined up in scarab unit. Using scarabs as "meat"shield.
Now, i couldnt find any reason so far why independent character can't join a swarm unit. But the question is does the IC also take double wounds 'cause scarabs have vulnerable to blast/templates rule?
No, only the models who have Vulnerable to Blasts/Templates take double wounds.
So, for example:
A Necron Lord with 5 Scarabs are fired on by a Salvo of Frag Missiles and take a total of 9 Hits, of which 8 wound. The Defending Player allocates 1 wound to the Lord and the remaining 7 to the Scarabs. After saves, the Lord has Failed his one and the Scarabs have failed 4. The Necron Lord thus takes a single wound (as he his not VtB/T) while the Scarabs now take a total of 8 Wounds, as per VtB/T.
The only exception to this of course, is if the Necron player is attempting to claim that scarabs benefit from the stealth USR and the Small Target rule in the Codex for a combined total of +2 to cover saves. In this case, the scarabs would similarly suffer from both the Vulnerable to Blasts/Templates USR as well as the Vulnerable to Blasts rule in the Necron Codex.
Because the VtB rule from the codex says that template, ordnance, and blast weapons "inflict two wounds instead of one" then you have twice as many wounds to assign, before taking saves, that is, for each successful "to wound" roll, two wounds must be assigned. Automatically Appended Next Post: puma713 wrote:Nope. Stealth is not conferred to ICs joining units with Stealth unless otherwise specified.
Many people would argue that stealth applies to the whole unit because of the wording on it, and it's not something lost by the scarabs when an IC joins who doesn't have it.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/03/07 10:32:55
Interceptor Drones can disembark at any point during the Sun Shark's move (even though models cannot normally disembark from Zooming Flyers).
-Jeremy Vetock, only man at Games Workshop who understands Zooming Flyers |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/03/07 12:26:40
Subject: IC joining a swarm
|
 |
Raging Ravener
Orlando, FL, USA
|
Scarabs do not lose Stealth when an IC joins them, as according to the rules on page 74 (which clearly state WHICH USRs are lost when an IC joins the unit). Therefore, the unit will have Stealth until the scarabs die. That's all that matters.
Otherwise, you'd have Fearless units with characters breaking from them one at a time, which doesn't make any damn sense according to the rules OR theme.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/03/07 12:28:41
Subject: IC joining a swarm
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
Broken Loose wrote:Scarabs do not lose Stealth when an IC joins them, as according to the rules on page 74 (which clearly state WHICH USRs are lost when an IC joins the unit). Therefore, the unit will have Stealth until the scarabs die. That's all that matters. Otherwise, you'd have Fearless units with characters breaking from them one at a time, which doesn't make any damn sense according to the rules OR theme.
Scarabs don't have Stealth, they have "Small Target". Unless you are playing with house rules...
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/03/07 12:43:59
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/03/07 13:24:25
Subject: IC joining a swarm
|
 |
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus
|
Gwar! wrote:Broken Loose wrote:Scarabs do not lose Stealth when an IC joins them, as according to the rules on page 74 (which clearly state WHICH USRs are lost when an IC joins the unit). Therefore, the unit will have Stealth until the scarabs die. That's all that matters.
Otherwise, you'd have Fearless units with characters breaking from them one at a time, which doesn't make any damn sense according to the rules OR theme.
Scarabs don't have Stealth, they have "Small Target".
Unless you are playing with house rules...
I see what you did there.
Because I'm sure you are aware that the FAQ replaces the scarabs "swarms" rule with the USR of the same name.
|
Interceptor Drones can disembark at any point during the Sun Shark's move (even though models cannot normally disembark from Zooming Flyers).
-Jeremy Vetock, only man at Games Workshop who understands Zooming Flyers |
|
 |
 |
|