Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/03/08 02:05:15
Subject: Ork Deffrolla on Skimmers
|
 |
Grovelin' Grot Rigger
|
So the Ork FAQ successfully answered that the Deffrolla inflicts D6 STR 10 hits on a vehicle that is rammed but what if the vehicle is a skimmer that rolls the 3+ necessary to avoid the ram. Does it still suffer the Deffrolla hits or does it avoid those as well.
Thanks
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/03/08 02:11:05
Subject: Re:Ork Deffrolla on Skimmers
|
 |
Honored Helliarch on Hypex
|
I would say If it misses then it misses. Heheh although it would be funny to see the ork truck back up and ram forward D6 times hehe. I think the 3+ thing for the Skimmers is it jumping out of the way.
|
I do what the voices in my wifes head say...
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/03/08 02:28:42
Subject: Ork Deffrolla on Skimmers
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
pod_zycie wrote:So the Ork FAQ successfully answered that the Deffrolla inflicts D6 STR 10 hits on a vehicle that is rammed but what if the vehicle is a skimmer that rolls the 3+ necessary to avoid the ram. Does it still suffer the Deffrolla hits or does it avoid those as well.
Thanks
Yes. No. Maybe.
That is as good as you will get RaW. Decide how it works pre game.
|
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/03/08 02:35:09
Subject: Ork Deffrolla on Skimmers
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Yes, if 'any tank-shock made by' means any. No, if 'made by means sucessful'. Maybe if you like having one ball on the left side of the fence and one on the right
(I'm in the no camp personally, "neither vehiclesuffers any damage, and the ramming tank stops in it's tracks (literally!), its crew confused and disappointed."
|
"I already told you son, that milk isn't for developing bones. It's for developing character." - C&H |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/03/08 02:55:35
Subject: Re:Ork Deffrolla on Skimmers
|
 |
Grovelin' Grot Rigger
|
Yeah it is rather ambiguous, but if you think about it, the skimmer doesn't get to avoid anything else that, "logically", skimming out of the way would entail such as a wrecking ball hit or a boarding plank so I don't know... it all gets a bit fuzzy.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/03/08 03:17:27
Subject: Ork Deffrolla on Skimmers
|
 |
Ship's Officer
|
I'm in the "No it doesn't" camp, given the nature of the fluff behind the rule, however, you could always do the following:
Avoids vehicle on a 3+; if successful, it avoids the deff rolla as well on a 2+ or 3+ (whatever you decide is fair) to represent the skimmer potentially failing to avoid the huge rolla-thing even if it gets out of the way (of the vehicle) in time.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/03/08 03:52:28
Subject: Re:Ork Deffrolla on Skimmers
|
 |
Furious Fire Dragon
|
Looking at the Ork Codex (p55) entry no Deff Rolla, The rules for Ramming (BRB p69) and Ramming a Skimmer (BRB p71)
"Any tank shock made by a Battlewagon with a Deff Rolla causes D6 S10 hits on the victim unit"
"On a 3+ the skimmer avoids the tank, neither vehicle suffers any damage, and the ramming tank stops in its tracks (literally!), its crew confused and dissapointed"
I think that the order of events would be this:
1. Pivot
2. initiage movement in the direction of target vehicle
3. stop at base to base
4. skimmer pilot chooses to try and evade on a 3+
5. on a 1-2 the ram/tank shock takes place normally
a. perform Deff Rolla damage calculations
b. perform Ram damage to both vehicles
6. on a 3+ the ram/tank shock is negated with neither vehicle taking damage, which I would infer means the tank shock didn't take place.
7. on my logic (not the rulebook specifically) that would mean that the conditions for causing D6 S10 wounds aren't met either.
|
Zain~
http://ynnead-rising.blogspot.com/
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/03/08 03:59:48
Subject: Ork Deffrolla on Skimmers
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Yes, if you tank shock a unit and it gets out of the way successfully the unit still takes D6 strength 10 hits.
|
Your Grandmaster is the only good leprechaun that remains, all the others turned to whiskey. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/03/08 04:06:05
Subject: Ork Deffrolla on Skimmers
|
 |
Furious Fire Dragon
|
orkcommander wrote:Yes, if you tank shock a unit and it gets out of the way successfully the unit still takes D6 strength 10 hits.
Is that expounded upon somewhere in the Codex or Rulebook? or is the effect chain different than I posted above? IE. takes the hits before the tank shock is stopped?
|
Zain~
http://ynnead-rising.blogspot.com/
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/03/08 04:11:37
Subject: Ork Deffrolla on Skimmers
|
 |
Nasty Nob on a Boar
|
orkcommander wrote:Yes, if you tank shock a unit and it gets out of the way successfully the unit still takes D6 strength 10 hits.
|
No madam, 40,000 is the year that this game is set in. Not how much it costs. Though you may have a point. - GW Fulchester
The Gatling Guns have flamethrowers on them because this is 40k - DOW III
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/03/08 04:18:43
Subject: Ork Deffrolla on Skimmers
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
On a 3+ the skimmer avoids the tank, neither vehicle suffers any damage, and the ramming tank stops in its tracks (literally!), its crew confused and dissapointed"
ork faq
Does a unit that successfully stops a Deff
Rolla-equipped Battlewagon’s Tank Shock suffer
any hits?
A. Yes, it does. In fact, it suffers 2D6 S10 hits!
I was wrong it takes 2D6 strength hits. Thanks for clearing that up for me.
|
Your Grandmaster is the only good leprechaun that remains, all the others turned to whiskey. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/03/08 04:33:14
Subject: Ork Deffrolla on Skimmers
|
 |
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus
|
orkcommander wrote:On a 3+ the skimmer avoids the tank, neither vehicle suffers any damage, and the ramming tank stops in its tracks (literally!), its crew confused and dissapointed"
ork faq
Does a unit that successfully stops a Deff
Rolla-equipped Battlewagon’s Tank Shock suffer
any hits?
A. Yes, it does. In fact, it suffers 2D6 S10 hits!
I was wrong it takes 2D6 strength hits. Thanks for clearing that up for me.
Oh great, more people trying to apply RAW to that FAQ answer in an abusive way, atleast I think this is someone new...
That answer in the FAQ as I'm sure almost everyone (excluding pika_power) would agree, is a poorly worded attempt to say that if a Death or Glory stops a tank (stun, immobilise, or destroy), they still take 2d6 hits because they were still tank shocked despite having stopped the tank.
You could maybe cite that as an argument for the fact that a skimmer still takes 1d6 hits, but the Deffrolla does not inflict 2d6 hits except in the case of death or glory, and trying to exploit that poorly written FAQ in game will not net you many friends, let alone leave you open to the opponents merciless rules lawyering to beat you, with you unable to do much but grin and bear it because you are just as bad as him.
|
Interceptor Drones can disembark at any point during the Sun Shark's move (even though models cannot normally disembark from Zooming Flyers).
-Jeremy Vetock, only man at Games Workshop who understands Zooming Flyers |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/03/08 04:37:05
Subject: Re:Ork Deffrolla on Skimmers
|
 |
Furious Fire Dragon
|
Yea. I see that Orkcommander's post is indicative of that style of thought. I doubt that's what they intended. I, too, believe they were poorly adressing DoG.
There will be many people that argue otherwise so I hope they... Jebus... FAQ the FAQ?
|
Zain~
http://ynnead-rising.blogspot.com/
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/03/08 04:46:03
Subject: Ork Deffrolla on Skimmers
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Drunkspleen said:
"You could maybe cite that as an argument for the fact that a skimmer still takes 1d6 hits"
That what I meant by my first post. My sarcastic humor on my second post didn't translate well.
|
Your Grandmaster is the only good leprechaun that remains, all the others turned to whiskey. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/03/08 04:56:47
Subject: Re:Ork Deffrolla on Skimmers
|
 |
Furious Fire Dragon
|
If it makes you feel better your avatar made me laugh.
I don't think Deff Rollas are funny though. They are decidedly unfunny to me as an Eldar player.
|
Zain~
http://ynnead-rising.blogspot.com/
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/03/08 05:26:01
Subject: Ork Deffrolla on Skimmers
|
 |
Nasty Nob on a Boar
|
Would def rolla's be redundant on def dreads? (red ones of course).
|
No madam, 40,000 is the year that this game is set in. Not how much it costs. Though you may have a point. - GW Fulchester
The Gatling Guns have flamethrowers on them because this is 40k - DOW III
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/03/08 07:09:35
Subject: Ork Deffrolla on Skimmers
|
 |
Mutilatin' Mad Dok
New Zealand
|
Drunkspleen wrote:orkcommander wrote:On a 3+ the skimmer avoids the tank, neither vehicle suffers any damage, and the ramming tank stops in its tracks (literally!), its crew confused and dissapointed" ork faq Does a unit that successfully stops a Deff Rolla-equipped Battlewagon’s Tank Shock suffer any hits? A. Yes, it does. In fact, it suffers 2D6 S10 hits! I was wrong it takes 2D6 strength hits. Thanks for clearing that up for me. Oh great, more people trying to apply RAW to that FAQ answer in an abusive way, atleast I think this is someone new... That answer in the FAQ as I'm sure almost everyone (excluding pika_power) would agree, is a poorly worded attempt to say that if a Death or Glory stops a tank (stun, immobilise, or destroy), they still take 2d6 hits because they were still tank shocked despite having stopped the tank. Oh no, I agree with that much. I wanted to see whether it could be used for some rules abuse. Unfortunately there were some problems, so I had to drop that line of thought. Even so, this is the second time in a couple of weeks that it's been misinterpreted. Either it's poorly written, or there's more to it. Probably the former.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/03/08 07:10:14
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/03/09 19:52:16
Subject: Re:Ork Deffrolla on Skimmers
|
 |
Grovelin' Grot Rigger
|
I see that my question is not that outlandish.....
I suppose it just comes down to agreeing on what is going to happen before you start the game then?
Clearly neither side of the argument can claim a definitive answer.
|
|
 |
 |
|