Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/03/21 22:03:08
Subject: Demo Charges: Ordinance or Not?
|
 |
Drop Trooper with Demo Charge
Pennsylvannia
|
Ok, bit of a debate with a friend of mine over the application of the IG demo charge rules. In the old codex, when a demo charge is thrown you have to roll 2D6 because it counted as an ordinance weapon. However, with the new rules the weapon entry only says "Assault". So the debate is whether or not I need to roll for scatter. Afterall, if the range is only 6 and you can add another 12 inches and I digress... Any help and/or interpretations are appreciated!
|
Good to be back!
2500pts of Imperial's ready to fight
750-1000pts of Nids WIP |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/03/22 00:43:35
Subject: Re:Demo Charges: Ordinance or Not?
|
 |
Monstrous Master Moulder
Sacramento, CA
|
Blast weapons always scatter. The demo charge is still a blast, so it scatters. In the new codex the demo charge is no longer ordnance, but that only really matters for the purposes of damaging vehicles.
|
Agitator noster fulminis percussus est |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/03/22 02:03:09
Subject: Demo Charges: Ordinance or Not?
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
The Odessey wrote:Ok, bit of a debate with a friend of mine over the application of the IG demo charge rules. In the old codex, when a demo charge is thrown you have to roll 2D6 because it counted as an ordinance weapon. However, with the new rules the weapon entry only says "Assault". So the debate is whether or not I need to roll for scatter. Afterall, if the range is only 6 and you can add another 12 inches and I digress... Any help and/or interpretations are appreciated!
It's Assault 1, Large Blast. it is not ordnance but it rolls to scatter like any other Blast Weapon.
|
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/03/22 02:39:48
Subject: Demo Charges: Ordinance or Not?
|
 |
The New Miss Macross!
|
nope, not ordnance. just uses the same template.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/03/22 06:05:30
Subject: Demo Charges: Ordinance or Not?
|
 |
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus
|
warboss wrote:nope, not ordnance. just uses the same template. Technically it's a marker, not a template. Everyone in this thread is correct otherwhise.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/03/22 06:05:40
Interceptor Drones can disembark at any point during the Sun Shark's move (even though models cannot normally disembark from Zooming Flyers).
-Jeremy Vetock, only man at Games Workshop who understands Zooming Flyers |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/03/22 06:06:10
Subject: Demo Charges: Ordinance or Not?
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
Drunkspleen wrote:warboss wrote:nope, not ordnance. just uses the same template. Technically it's a marker, not a template. Everyone in this thread is correct otherwhise.
It's technically a "Large Blast Marker". No such thing as a "Marker".
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/03/22 06:06:15
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/03/22 15:15:36
Subject: Demo Charges: Ordinance or Not?
|
 |
The New Miss Macross!
|
oh, double snap!
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/03/23 00:31:13
Subject: Demo Charges: Ordinance or Not?
|
 |
Drop Trooper with Demo Charge
Pennsylvannia
|
Ok, ok. Semantics aside. Does this mean I use, 1 or 2D6?
|
Good to be back!
2500pts of Imperial's ready to fight
750-1000pts of Nids WIP |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/03/23 00:33:17
Subject: Demo Charges: Ordinance or Not?
|
 |
Sneaky Kommando
|
Unless the demo charge rule states otherwise (like the ork bigbomm) you always roll 2d6 to scatter.
|
MeanGreenStompa wrote:The idea of Land Raider rarity is a lie, there are millions of them, they reproduce like tribbles. Ask the Blood Angels, they have so many they even throw them out of thunderhawks moving at high speed to try and reduce the numbers.
DR:80+SGM-B+I--Pw40k09#+D++A+/hWD350R++T(M)DM+
My Army
Orks 2500+ pts |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/03/23 00:33:51
Subject: Demo Charges: Ordinance or Not?
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
The Odessey wrote:Ok, ok. Semantics aside. Does this mean I use, 1 or 2D6?
Read the rules for Blast Weapons. Those are the rules you follow. It is THAT simple.
|
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/03/23 00:36:47
Subject: Demo Charges: Ordinance or Not?
|
 |
Drop Trooper with Demo Charge
Pennsylvannia
|
Right, thanks for the help.
|
Good to be back!
2500pts of Imperial's ready to fight
750-1000pts of Nids WIP |
|
 |
 |
|