Switch Theme:

Rules Conflicts after trip to GW  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Maddening Mutant Boss of Chaos





Pennsylvania

Hey Dakka,

My friends and I just had a couple games at GW and the employee there brought up many things we disagreed on. Individually we each agreed or disagreed with the reasoning on each issue, but ultimately it stalled our games terribly. Here's what came up:

1. In Kill Teams, may a model with a weapon with multiple shots (i.e. Heavy 3 or Assault 2) allocate each shot to separate models?

2. A Kustom Force Field allows vehicles to count as obscured targets. Is this a 4+ cover as in the rulebook, or a 5+ cover as in the KFF entry?

3. When a blast is centered directly on a vehicle, what facing is used to resolve the shot? Also, what facing is used if the blast is Barrage?

4. When a unit is embarked in a transport, must they fire at the same target as the vehicle transporting it?

5. Does disembarking from a Wreck/Explosion result count as Movement?

6. May a unit disembark from a Wreck on top of the wrecked vehicle model?

7. If 5 & 6 are true; does that unit, disembarking unto a Wreck (which counts as both difficult and dangerous terrain), make Dangerous Terran checks immediately?

I apologize if any of this is in the Search, but I couldn't find anything. Thanks.

Renegade Guardsmen 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







Smashotron wrote:Hey Dakka,

My friends and I just had a couple games at GW and the employee there brought up many things we disagreed on. Individually we each agreed or disagreed with the reasoning on each issue, but ultimately it stalled our games terribly. Here's what came up:

1. In Kill Teams, may a model with a weapon with multiple shots (i.e. Heavy 3 or Assault 2) allocate each shot to separate models?

2. A Kustom Force Field allows vehicles to count as obscured targets. Is this a 4+ cover as in the rulebook, or a 5+ cover as in the KFF entry?

3. When a blast is centered directly on a vehicle, what facing is used to resolve the shot? Also, what facing is used if the blast is Barrage?

4. When a unit is embarked in a transport, must they fire at the same target as the vehicle transporting it?

5. Does disembarking from a Wreck/Explosion result count as Movement?

6. May a unit disembark from a Wreck on top of the wrecked vehicle model?

7. If 5 & 6 are true; does that unit, disembarking unto a Wreck (which counts as both difficult and dangerous terrain), make Dangerous Terran checks immediately?

I apologize if any of this is in the Search, but I couldn't find anything. Thanks.
1) Yes
2) It counts as obscured, with no save given, so follows the BRB rules for obscured.
3) The one facing the firer. The barrage question is covered in the "Shooting at vehicles" section of the rulebook.
4) No
5) Yes
6) No
7) See #6

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/03/27 02:19:14


Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
Mutilatin' Mad Dok






Columbia, SC

1, No idea-- haven't read BM book yet.
2. RAW, it is a 4+ save as the vehicle counts as obscured from a piece of wargear. The RAI may be for it to be a 5+ save like the infantry. Most people play it as a 4+ for vehicles.
3. Whichever facing the shot came from for direct. Hits side armour for barrage.
4. Nope. They are treated as a separate unit firing, so they may target a different unit.
5. No-ish. Some (INAT) have ruled that the disembark is done as if moving, so you couldn't disembark through a wall (but within 2") or on the other side of an enemy model. RAW, they can pop out wherever so long as it is not within 1" of an enemy. Our group uses common sense... but, that's not a rule.
6. No- they disembark, then the vehicle becomes a wreck.
7. xxxx




 
   
Made in us
Maddening Mutant Boss of Chaos





Pennsylvania

1. I accept this, though I disagree how what is written is read as.

2. It was said that the KFF confers a 5+ to "units" and as vehicles are units, it specifies a 5+ to vehicles, despite the BRB.

3. It was played as Rear armor for the game. Effectively turning a Thunderfire cannon into a Leman Russ squadron(s) killer (4 shots glancing Rear and causing Dangerous Terrain to the unit).

4. Thanks. Couldn't find the ruling to support the claim though, complicating Chimera shooting.

5, 6, 7. Thanks.

Renegade Guardsmen 
   
Made in us
Sneaky Kommando





Southern Ohio, USA

Smashotron:

There was a big debate about the KFF a few months ago. Basically, what you said is true and false at the same time. The KFF rule reads (paraphrasing as I don't actually have the book handy):

All units within 6" of the KFF are granted a 5+ cover save. Vehicles count as obscured.

Most players read the vehicles count as obscured part as a seperate entity to the 5+ cover save bit. If they wanted the obscured status to grant a 5+ save, it would say something like, "Vehicles count as obscured and get a 5+ save."

However, others say that the 5+ save mentioned in the previous sentence is enough to override the rule in the BRB about the obscured status granting a 4+ save.

MeanGreenStompa wrote:The idea of Land Raider rarity is a lie, there are millions of them, they reproduce like tribbles. Ask the Blood Angels, they have so many they even throw them out of thunderhawks moving at high speed to try and reduce the numbers.


DR:80+SGM-B+I--Pw40k09#+D++A+/hWD350R++T(M)DM+

My Army
Orks 2500+ pts 
   
Made in us
Maddening Mutant Boss of Chaos





Pennsylvania

I agree with the separation of sentences. A unit gains 5+. Vehicles are obscured. Obscured grants a 4+.

For everyone in our group it was that simple. There wasn't even a KFF in any of our games, but the topic was brought up my the employee.

We just wanted to know the general consensus.

Renegade Guardsmen 
   
Made in us
Sneaky Kommando





Southern Ohio, USA

Ah, I understand your post better now. I was reading it as you thought that the 5+ was conferred to the vehicle, obviously the employee thought this.

In case your curious, here is a link to the old thread (it was back in November): http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/263628.page

MeanGreenStompa wrote:The idea of Land Raider rarity is a lie, there are millions of them, they reproduce like tribbles. Ask the Blood Angels, they have so many they even throw them out of thunderhawks moving at high speed to try and reduce the numbers.


DR:80+SGM-B+I--Pw40k09#+D++A+/hWD350R++T(M)DM+

My Army
Orks 2500+ pts 
   
Made in us
Perturbed Blood Angel Tactical Marine






It's been a while since I looked at the KFF vehicle debate, but as I recall, the final logic that solved that issue is that vehicles are granted BOTH a 5++ and a 4++ because of the wording of the rules. You can only ever use one, and no one would take the 5++ because that would be dumb.

So vehicles get a 4++ save is just an easier way to say it.

Hi, I'm Mike Leon. You may remember me from such totally metal action adventure novels as KILL KILL KILL and RATED R 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







Mike Leon wrote:It's been a while since I looked at the KFF vehicle debate, but as I recall, the final logic that solved that issue is that vehicles are granted BOTH a 5++ and a 4++ because of the wording of the rules. You can only ever use one, and no one would take the 5++ because that would be dumb.

So vehicles get a 4++ save is just an easier way to say it.
You actually cannot take the 5+ because the 5+ only works against wounds

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
Growlin' Guntrukk Driver with Killacannon






Gwar! wrote:You actually cannot take the 5+ because the 5+ only works against wounds

If you're obscured you can take it against hits. You just can't because you have a better save to take.
   
Made in us
Monstrous Master Moulder




Sacramento, CA

3. Really shouldn't have been in dispute, the rulebook spells it out quite clearly.

Agitator noster fulminis percussus est 
   
Made in au
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus






Gwar! wrote:
Mike Leon wrote:It's been a while since I looked at the KFF vehicle debate, but as I recall, the final logic that solved that issue is that vehicles are granted BOTH a 5++ and a 4++ because of the wording of the rules. You can only ever use one, and no one would take the 5++ because that would be dumb.

So vehicles get a 4++ save is just an easier way to say it.
You actually cannot take the 5+ because the 5+ only works against wounds
the 5++ works fine against vehicle damage results, as long as the vehicles also qualify as obscured

Interceptor Drones can disembark at any point during the Sun Shark's move (even though models cannot normally disembark from Zooming Flyers).


-Jeremy Vetock, only man at Games Workshop who understands Zooming Flyers 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







Drunkspleen wrote:
Gwar! wrote:
Mike Leon wrote:It's been a while since I looked at the KFF vehicle debate, but as I recall, the final logic that solved that issue is that vehicles are granted BOTH a 5++ and a 4++ because of the wording of the rules. You can only ever use one, and no one would take the 5++ because that would be dumb.

So vehicles get a 4++ save is just an easier way to say it.
You actually cannot take the 5+ because the 5+ only works against wounds
the 5++ works fine against vehicle damage results, as long as the vehicles also qualify as obscured
At which point they would have a 4+ save, and you always use the best save. Unless of course the effect that granted Obscured specified that it gave only a 5+ save, making the KFF's save meaningless

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: