Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/04/12 22:16:26
Subject: assalting from vehicles
|
 |
Sure Space Wolves Land Raider Pilot
Dallas Texas
|
Can Blood angel Assalt marines charge after they have disembarked from there vehicle? Sorry. new to 5th edition game and need some Solid clarification.
|
"STRIKE WITH ALL YOUR MIGHT!!!!"
2,000 points and Growing
3,000 Points and Waiting |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/04/12 22:23:59
Subject: assalting from vehicles
|
 |
Ancient Chaos Terminator
|
Only vehicles with the assault vehicle rule/or open topped rule can have units disembark and asault in the same turn IIRC. So for Blood Angles only Land Raiders and Stormravens allow this.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/04/12 22:25:15
"I have traveled trough the Realm of Death and brought back novelty pencils"
Oh, somewhere in this favored land the sun is shining bright;
the band is playing somewhere and somewhere hearts are light,and somewhere men are laughing, and somewhere children shout but there is no joy in Mudville — mighty Casey has struck out. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/04/12 22:27:17
Subject: assalting from vehicles
|
 |
Sure Space Wolves Land Raider Pilot
Dallas Texas
|
Nicorex wrote:Only vehicles with the assault vehicle rule/or open topped rule can have units disembark and asault in the same turn IIRC. So for Blood Angles only Land Raiders and Stormravens allow this.
Thank you sir what i needed to know. I appreciate it.
|
"STRIKE WITH ALL YOUR MIGHT!!!!"
2,000 points and Growing
3,000 Points and Waiting |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/04/12 22:32:42
Subject: assalting from vehicles
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Addenda to the above: IF the vehicle has not *yet* moved then ANY unit can assault in the same turn as disembarking.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/04/12 23:02:59
Subject: assalting from vehicles
|
 |
Anti-Armour Swiss Guard
|
Addenda#2:
If the land raider (BA) has deepstruck - they can't assault that turn (don't know if the blooodbloodbloodraven can deepstrike).
|
I'm OVER 50 (and so far over everyone's BS, too).
Old enough to know better, young enough to not give a ****.
That is not dead which can eternal lie ...
... and yet, with strange aeons, even death may die.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/04/12 23:21:32
Subject: assalting from vehicles
|
 |
Monster-Slaying Daemonhunter
Grand Rapids Metro
|
chromedog wrote:Addenda#2:
If the land raider (BA) has deepstruck - they can't assault that turn (don't know if the blooodbloodbloodraven can deepstrike).
Unless there happen to be Jump pack Vanguard in that deepstriking vehicle.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/04/12 23:22:07
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/04/12 23:48:49
Subject: assalting from vehicles
|
 |
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus
|
ductvader wrote:chromedog wrote:Addenda#2: If the land raider (BA) has deepstruck - they can't assault that turn (don't know if the blooodbloodbloodraven can deepstrike). Unless there happen to be Jump pack Vanguard in that deepstriking vehicle.
Both the Stormraven and the Land Raider would actually prevent the Vanguard from doing it, because both of them do not grant the Assault Vehicle rule on the turn the vehicle deep strikes.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/04/12 23:50:09
Interceptor Drones can disembark at any point during the Sun Shark's move (even though models cannot normally disembark from Zooming Flyers).
-Jeremy Vetock, only man at Games Workshop who understands Zooming Flyers |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/04/13 01:13:40
Subject: assalting from vehicles
|
 |
Monster-Slaying Daemonhunter
Grand Rapids Metro
|
but they count as deepstriking if they disembark and then heroic intervention takes care of the rest
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/04/13 01:53:47
Subject: assalting from vehicles
|
 |
Painlord Titan Princeps of Slaanesh
|
Actually Heroic Intervetion only takes care of the assault after deep striking part, they are still bound by the fact they disembarked from a vehicle without the "Assault Vehicle" rule that is not "Open Topped"
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/04/13 02:03:06
Subject: assalting from vehicles
|
 |
Monster-Slaying Daemonhunter
Grand Rapids Metro
|
But I thought they counting as deepstriking if disembarked from the vehicle that turn
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/04/13 02:48:55
Subject: Re:assalting from vehicles
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
If there are multiple prohibitions against assault, then there need to be multiple rules allowing the assault.
Deep striking is a prohibition against assaulting. Disembarking from a non-open topped, non-assault vehicle is a prohibition against assaulting.
Heroic intervention only gets rid of one of those.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/04/13 03:32:20
Subject: assalting from vehicles
|
 |
Monster-Slaying Daemonhunter
Grand Rapids Metro
|
That doesn't follow any ruling I have ever read about.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/04/13 03:54:33
Subject: assalting from vehicles
|
 |
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus
|
How about the GW ruling that a model with fleet cannot disembark from a closed topped vehicle, run and then assault, citing the fact that they can assault after running to ignore the fact they disembarked, it's the exact same ruling pretty much. It's absolutely clear cut with the Land Raider because it says "Note that a unit that Deep Strikes within a Land Raider cannot assault in the turn it arrives" so there's no room for interpretation there. Meanwhile, with the Stormraven, the Skies of Blood rule which allows the models on board to deep strike doesn't function since when the Stormraven deep strikes it is only moving at cruising speed. And it's Assault Vehicle rule says "Models disembarking from a Stormraven can launch an assault on the turn they do so (providing the Stormraven did not deep strike)" The part of the rule in brackets makes the whole rule provide no functionality on the turn the Stormraven deep strikes(arguable the whole game thanks to bad wording, but I think RAI is clear enough), which means there is no difference between disembarking from the storm raven or disembarking from a rhino (other than the fact the embarked unit on the stormraven also performed a Deep Strike). Even though the models count as having performed a deep strike (or rather, are considered to be a deep striking unit) they are still performing a disembark from a non open topped, non assault vehicle, transport, and thus without a special rule allowing the transported unit to assault from such a vehicle, they cannot.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/04/13 03:55:38
Interceptor Drones can disembark at any point during the Sun Shark's move (even though models cannot normally disembark from Zooming Flyers).
-Jeremy Vetock, only man at Games Workshop who understands Zooming Flyers |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/04/13 06:43:19
Subject: assalting from vehicles
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
ductvader wrote:That doesn't follow any ruling I have ever read about.
Your suggestion means having "Fleet" allows you to assault from a Falcon thast moved.
Being allowed to assault after running (Fleet) does NOT allow you to assault after geting out of a close topped, non-Assault ramp vehicle - there are 2 restrictions on assaulting, and you've only been given permission to remove ONE of the restrictions.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/04/13 07:40:07
Subject: assalting from vehicles
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
ductvader wrote:chromedog wrote:Addenda#2:
If the land raider (BA) has deepstruck - they can't assault that turn (don't know if the blooodbloodbloodraven can deepstrike).
Unless there happen to be Jump pack Vanguard in that deepstriking vehicle.
uhhhh can a unit with jump packs be inside a vehicle?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/04/13 08:22:13
Subject: assalting from vehicles
|
 |
Frenzied Berserker Terminator
|
visavismeyou wrote:ductvader wrote:chromedog wrote:Addenda#2:
If the land raider (BA) has deepstruck - they can't assault that turn (don't know if the blooodbloodbloodraven can deepstrike).
Unless there happen to be Jump pack Vanguard in that deepstriking vehicle.
uhhhh can a unit with jump packs be inside a vehicle?
If that vehicle happens to be a Stormraven...yes.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/04/13 08:36:35
Subject: assalting from vehicles
|
 |
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus
|
Cheexsta wrote:If that vehicle happens to be a Stormraven...yes.
Or a superheavy I believe.
|
Interceptor Drones can disembark at any point during the Sun Shark's move (even though models cannot normally disembark from Zooming Flyers).
-Jeremy Vetock, only man at Games Workshop who understands Zooming Flyers |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/04/13 12:35:59
Subject: assalting from vehicles
|
 |
Heroic Senior Officer
|
ductvader wrote:but they count as deepstriking if they disembark and then heroic intervention takes care of the rest
Course, IIRC, heroic Intervention only works when they deep strike using their Jump Packs.................
|
Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/04/13 12:49:25
Subject: assalting from vehicles
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
don_mondo wrote:ductvader wrote:but they count as deepstriking if they disembark and then heroic intervention takes care of the rest
Course, IIRC, heroic Intervention only works when they deep strike using their Jump Packs.................
Actually, Heroic Intervention works ONLY (and I quote) “arrive from reserve”. So even if you Use Skies of Blood from a Stormraven, it doesn't work.
|
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/04/13 18:17:28
Subject: assalting from vehicles
|
 |
Monster-Slaying Daemonhunter
Grand Rapids Metro
|
don_mondo wrote:ductvader wrote:but they count as deepstriking if they disembark and then heroic intervention takes care of the rest
Course, IIRC, heroic Intervention only works when they deep strike using their Jump Packs.................
Just says they need to have jump packs equipped to use it...doesn't say they had to deepstrike by jump pack.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/04/13 23:33:37
Subject: assalting from vehicles
|
 |
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus
|
ductvader wrote:don_mondo wrote:ductvader wrote:but they count as deepstriking if they disembark and then heroic intervention takes care of the rest
Course, IIRC, heroic Intervention only works when they deep strike using their Jump Packs.................
Just says they need to have jump packs equipped to use it...doesn't say they had to deepstrike by jump pack.
But as Gwar has pointed out, it only works on the turn that they arrive from reserve by deepstrike, which they can't possibly do in a Stormraven because on the turn it arrives by deepstrike they have to perform a stock standard disembark (because it only moved at cruising speed, not flat out) and lack the assault vehicle rule allowing them to assault after disembarking.
|
Interceptor Drones can disembark at any point during the Sun Shark's move (even though models cannot normally disembark from Zooming Flyers).
-Jeremy Vetock, only man at Games Workshop who understands Zooming Flyers |
|
 |
 |
|